Fablehaven Buy Book
Click to Rate

Fablehaven

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4W4.875178
For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic in a cynical world. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite...

Kendra and her brother Seth have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws give relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, an arcane evil is unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save her family, Fablehaven, and perhaps the world, Kendra must find the courage to do what she fears most.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
49 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • cheetahluver
    cheetahluverSaturday, February 6, 2016 at 8:18 am55 stars
    Fablehaven is about two siblings- Kendra and Seth- who go to stay at their Grandpa Sorenson's house while their parents are away. At first Kendra is suspicious of Grandpa Sorenson, who she had never met. but soon appreciates the room she shares with Seth, the decorative house, the Asian lady, Lena, the caretaker, Dale, the large swimming pool and colorful insects and birds that flutter around. However, Seth is always looking for trouble, and enters the woods that surrounds the house, only a part of Grandpa's huge property, even though Grandpa forbade it, saying that the woods were full of ticks. Seth discovers many things, but Kendra finds out more when she drinks the 'bacteria filled' milk. Her eyes open, and the first thing she sees is fairies! She and Seth realize that Grandpa's property is actually filled with magical creatures, a haven to protect the hidden legends. Only their house is protected from the evil creatures. However, on the Midsummer's Eve, all boundaries are lost and they run wild. When the house is infiltrated by the beasts, all three adults are not to be found, and the house is a wreck. Now, Kendra and Seth must save them, and stop the evil creatures that run afoot, or else the magical and human world will be in peril.
    • cheetahluver
      cheetahluverFriday, February 5, 2016 at 6:41 pm55 stars
      Fablehaven is about two siblings- Kendra and Seth- who go to stay at their Grandpa Sorenson's house while their parents are away. At first Kendra is suspicious of Grandpa Sorenson, who she had never met. but soon appreciates the room she shares with Seth, the decorative house, the Asian lady, Lena, the caretaker, Dale, the large swimming pool and colorful insects and birds that flutter around. However, Seth is always looking for trouble, and enters the woods that surrounds the house, only a part of Grandpa's huge property, even though Grandpa forbade it, saying that the woods were full of ticks. Seth discovers many things, but Kendra finds out more when she drinks the 'bacteria filled' milk. Her eyes open, and the first thing she sees is fairies! She and Seth realize that Grandpa's property is actually filled with magical creatures, a haven to protect the hidden legends. Only their house is protected from the evil creatures. However, on the Midsummer's Eve, all boundaries are lost and they run wild. When the house is infiltrated by the beasts, all three adults are not to be found, and the house is a wreck. Now, Kendra and Seth must save them, and stop the evil creatures that run afoot, or else the magical and human world will be in peril.
      • stara
        staraWednesday, January 20, 2016 at 10:30 pm55 stars
        It is all about magical beings and will take you into a world of fiction, magic, fairies and awesomeness! -stara
        • nonstopreader
          nonstopreaderMonday, December 28, 2015 at 6:51 pm44 stars
          My.teacher read this to my class,great book! It keeps you on the edge of your seat!
          • doctor11
            doctor11Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 7:12 am
            This is the best book and series I have ever read, and I read at least 3 books at a time!!
            • teresac
              teresacSunday, September 6, 2015 at 9:17 pm55 stars
              Fablehaven is a perfect book for read, I like the characters, Kendra and Seth. They are different for each other, Kendra is a great student, her HW always finish on time, but Seth is a best friend, he's grade always is not can tall good, and he is the one that has a lot of friends. And my favourite part is Kendra and Seth go to woods, the woods s very beautiful, I like the boathouse, it seems perfect. Thank you Brandon Mull for writing this book.
              • iheartbook
                iheartbookWednesday, August 26, 2015 at 8:59 am55 stars
                Kendra and Seth are great characters. This books is funny and adventurous.
                • bookw
                  bookwSunday, July 26, 2015 at 7:03 am
                  I is quite creepy but otherwise interesting
                  • readwriter
                    readwriterWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 10:45 am55 stars
                    It is awesome and hard to put down.
                    • readwriter
                      readwriterWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 10:44 am55 stars
                      My friend told me about this book and it sounded really good, so I read it. It was one of the best books I've ever read. It was REALLY good. The characters were very well done, I was funny, descriptive, sad, everything I like in books. I definitely recommend this book for kids 12 and up. It might freak younger kids out.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      tynuviel
                      tynuviel wrote:

                      I've started to watch Doctor Who...
                      Art2-D2's Guide to Folding and D...

                      smishball123 wrote:

                      I love it you should read it
                      Sisters

                      origamiyoda180

                      BTW, The cats name is Stew Cat, ...
                      the cay

                      origamiyoda180

                      I love the Wimpy Kid series, but...
                      Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)