Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.875178
For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic in a cynical world. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite...

Kendra and her brother Seth have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws give relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, an arcane evil is unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save her family, Fablehaven, and perhaps the world, Kendra must find the courage to do what she fears most.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
ISBN-13: 9781590385814
81 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • rrwwnn
    rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:30 pm
    This book was really good.It is about Kendra and Seth who find out that their grandpa is the caretaker of Fablehaven. Then, a mysterious evil is unleashed and Kendra and Seth must fight to save their family, Fablehaven ,and the world!I recommend.
    • booksdd
      booksddSaturday, September 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm55 stars
      Fablehaven is a story about Kendra and her brother Seth, and they have no idea that their Grandpa Sorenson is the ruler of the mythical forest: Fablehaven. Imps, fairies and trolls live at that place. But when someone breaks the rules, Kendra and her brother has to face the greatest challenge ever.
      • sr05885
        sr05885Thursday, September 8, 2016 at 10:28 am55 stars
        This book was really good.It is about Kendra and Seth who find out that their grandpa is the caretaker of Fablehaven.Then, a mysterious evil is unleashed and Kendra and Seth must fight to save their family,Fablehaven,and the world!I recommend.
        • coreycole
          coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:36 am33 stars
          this was hard for me to concentrate on. it was a good story but it just seemed to take so long for me. i might try to read it again next summer when my mom says my book tastes will mature i guess
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 7:13 am44 stars
            Fablehaven is a really captivating and descriptive book. It has a lot of mythical creatures and magic so anyone who likes fantasy and adventure combined will like this book.
            • strawberry1234
              strawberry1234Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 2:52 pm44 stars
              This book was gud i think it should be a little more detailed. but otherwise it was a really gud book. Read this book !!!!!!!!!!
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderWednesday, August 3, 2016 at 12:47 pm44 stars
                My teacher read it to my class and me last year. It is very good, I think this book is better then some of the others (it's the first book in the series!). I recommend it to kids or adults, especially ones you like action, fantasy, and adventure.
                • 21grifel
                  21grifelMonday, July 11, 2016 at 11:55 am55 stars
                  I loved this book because it was a great adventure with magical creatures and magic powers. I definitely recommend it to anyone who like adventure, mythical creatures, or magic.
                  • 21grifel
                    21grifelMonday, July 11, 2016 at 11:08 am55 stars
                    this book is about a sister and a brother who go to their grandparents over the summer, and learn the property is full of magical, dangerous creatures and magic. they go on an adventure through the mystery property, to help save their grandpa and the sanctuary from an evil witch. in the end everything is saved and goes back to normal, well for a magical sanctuary. I recommend this book to all people who like adventure, mystical creatures, and magic. I gave this boo five stars because I really enjoyed reading it and I think the author wrote the book very well, because it really made you feel like you were there in the book.
                    • zombiedude
                      zombiedudeTuesday, July 5, 2016 at 8:12 am33 stars
                      This is a ok book, not the best but still a good read over the summer. This book has what some readers want to read over the summer like action.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      snicker9 wrote:

                      12 year old Giacomo lives in a R...
                      Rebel Genius (Rebel Geniuses)

                      mimibell wrote:

                      When I was completing/reading th...
                      Fablehaven Book of Imagination


                      A very fun loving adventure book...
                      Curse of the Boggin (The Library...