Fablehaven

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.875178
For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic in a cynical world. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite...

Kendra and her brother Seth have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws give relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, an arcane evil is unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save her family, Fablehaven, and perhaps the world, Kendra must find the courage to do what she fears most.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
74 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • 21grifel
    21grifelMonday, July 11, 2016 at 11:55 am55 stars
    I loved this book because it was a great adventure with magical creatures and magic powers. I definitely recommend it to anyone who like adventure, mythical creatures, or magic.
    • 21grifel
      21grifelMonday, July 11, 2016 at 11:08 am55 stars
      this book is about a sister and a brother who go to their grandparents over the summer, and learn the property is full of magical, dangerous creatures and magic. they go on an adventure through the mystery property, to help save their grandpa and the sanctuary from an evil witch. in the end everything is saved and goes back to normal, well for a magical sanctuary. I recommend this book to all people who like adventure, mystical creatures, and magic. I gave this boo five stars because I really enjoyed reading it and I think the author wrote the book very well, because it really made you feel like you were there in the book.
      • zombiedude
        zombiedudeTuesday, July 5, 2016 at 8:12 am33 stars
        This is a ok book, not the best but still a good read over the summer. This book has what some readers want to read over the summer like action.
        • jsmyth
          jsmythSunday, July 3, 2016 at 2:21 pm55 stars
          I stumbled upon this book while seeking something to replace the gap left by Harry Potter. While the writing isn't as good, and Mull is just getting started here, I found myself swept up in the magic, and eager for more. I went into it not knowing anything about it at all, which is the way I like to approach new fantasy, so every experience is unexpected. The book is classic good and evil, where two children unite to save the world. Some scenes may be difficult for the very young, but overall, I found it enchanting and something I want to recommend. I give it five stars for multigenerational inclusion and family togetherness.
          • waterlily1255
            waterlily1255Sunday, June 26, 2016 at 1:53 pm33 stars
            The title says scary witch lady, the book says otherwise. The book says fun and a place of stories, no literally!! I DARE YOU TO READ THIS BOOK!!
            • booklover321
              booklover321Wednesday, June 22, 2016 at 8:10 am55 stars
              I think this book is awsome, I read the series twice in a year. I think this book is right next to Percy Jackson! If you guys liked these series, you should try reading Brendan Mulls other series called the "Five Kingdoms".
              • booklover321
                booklover321Wednesday, June 22, 2016 at 8:01 am55 stars
                This is a seriously awsome book. Its about two siblings named Seth and Kendra, they find out they have to go to their mysterious grand parents house while their parents go on a cruise. Seth and Kendra stay at their grandparents house for three months and while their staying, scary and unbelievable things happen to them. I recommend this book kids who enjoy fantasies and magic, because once you get into this you cant stop reading it.
                • awesomeguy2000
                  awesomeguy2000Wednesday, June 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm33 stars
                  This book was nice and descriptive, but i wasn't that interested in it because i read the fable haven series in a awkward order so i read the last book first and i wasn't really interested in this one, but it was fun reading the beginning.
                  • tezlaboss
                    tezlabossMonday, June 13, 2016 at 7:49 am
                    Fablehaven was great! The first book was kinda slow but when I reached the last book I could not put it down! 10 out of 10!
                    • aub112705
                      aub112705Sunday, June 12, 2016 at 7:43 am44 stars
                      Kendra and her brother are going to their grandparents house when her mother and father go on a cruise with the whole family exept the grand kids kendras other grandparents died they had gave all the money to Kendras parents to go on a cruise. But Kendra and her brother find weird stuff at their grandparents house find out what it is and read this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      maddy wrote:

                      I really love this book, R A Sp...
                      Friday Barnes, Girl Detective

                      trishawhitepriebe

                      Thank you for your kind words, e...
                      The Glass Castle (Thirteen)

                      swimmy20
                      swimmy20 wrote:

                      This was a good book. Some parts...
                      Unidentified Suburban Object

                      cutepenguins12

                      Before Mac was born her mom brou...
                      VIP: I'm With the Band