Eddie Red Undercover: Mystery on Museum Mile Buy Book
Click to Rate

Eddie Red Undercover: Mystery on Museum Mile

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4n/a4.940625

Art, mystery, fun and friendship, combine in this illustrated middle grade series debut. Sixth grader Edmund Xavier Lonnrot, codename "Eddie Red," has a photographic memory and talent for drawing anything he sees. When the NYPD is stumped by a mastermind art thief, Eddie becomes their secret weapon to solve the case, drawing Eddie deeper into New York's famous Museum Mile and closer to a dangerous criminal group known as The Picasso Gang.


With page-turning adventure and fun characters, this first installment in the Eddie Red series is a must-read for any fan of puzzles and mystery. A Spring 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices selection

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on April 1, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544238338
ISBN-13: 9780544238336
38 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm890
    bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:11 pm
    Like 68 Rooms and Chasing Vermeer, Eddie Red is the next great art sleuth. When Eddie spots a suspect running from a scene and uses his photographic memory and drawing skills to sketch the suspect, the police hire him to consult on an art theft case.
    • happypug12
      happypug12Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 8:09 am33 stars
      Eddie Red: Undercover starts out classically, but to me it seemed slightly bland. You must read until the very last page or you will find this book miserably tedious, but the art was great. I recommend to those who are just beginning the adventure of mystery books, otherwise, you may want to choose another book, as this one was a bit basic, although the ending was satisfying.
      • inventor60
        inventor60Monday, September 7, 2015 at 10:03 am55 stars
        This book is about Edmund, or Eddie Red according to the secret agency, who helps track down the Picasso Group, who have been suspected to have stolen a painting. Eddie is chosen as a secret weapon, as he uses his skill to draw what sees, e.i. use his photographic memory , to track the thieves on museum mile in NY.
        • sushi321
          sushi321Monday, August 31, 2015 at 2:24 pm44 stars
          This book is really, really good!! I found really enjoyable and think its awesome!! Eddie Red is a detective who has a talent of photographic memory, and can easily draw criminals or anything he sees. There has been a crime in the museum, it is for Eddie Red to find the criminals.
          • fairie
            fairieSunday, August 2, 2015 at 4:34 pm33 stars
            This book is great for fans of mystery and magic. Eddie works for a spy agency and now he has to help them track down the greatly feared Picasso Gang. Using his photographic memory and amazing sketching abilities he must track them down and save the museum mile!
            • llpanda
              llpandaSaturday, August 1, 2015 at 5:45 pm33 stars
              This was a good book. Eddie is recruited by the police for his photographic memory to stop a heist. This book is good but sometimes there was not a lot of action.
              • kitkat1998
                kitkat1998Friday, July 17, 2015 at 9:18 am44 stars
                This is a very entertaining book about a kid detective. The setting is a bit cliche, but the characters are different and unique. This is definitely a book worth reading.
                • genius1326
                  genius1326Thursday, July 16, 2015 at 8:00 am55 stars
                  I like mystery books, and if you do too, than this is a great book for you! It is about a kid, named Eddie Red, who has a rare talent of photographic memory, and can easily draw criminals or anything he sees, a perfect kid for being a detective. But there has been a crime at a museum, and Eddie was used to find the crooks. It is a really good book, and it is exciting.
                  • redheadperson22
                    redheadperson22Thursday, July 9, 2015 at 2:32 pm33 stars
                    Warning! This review may contain spoilers. There's this 11 year-old boy named Edmund. He has a photographic memory and he's very good at drawing. One day, Edmund is out with his dad, when they hear something in an ally. Edmund's dad goes to check it out while Edmund hides under a bench. A man runs out of the ally, and soon Edmund's dad comes out too. They go to the police station and Edmund's dad tells them that two men were fighting in the ally and he tried to break it up. Eventually the police department hires Edmund to help them with a case. (Sorry for such a poor description, I'm working off my memory). What I thought of it: My favorite character was Eddie's friend Jonah. Their friendship was probably the most interesting thing in the book for me. Eddie was an ok main character. Though one thing about him kind of bothered me. Eddie was black, and the author made way too big a deal of that. I mean it was fine when they were mentioning it casually and in the dialog but was it really necessary to say that his last name came from when his ancestors were owned by white people back in the slave days I mean I'm black, and I have no idea were my last name came from. It kind of made sense because Eddie's parents seemed like they liked to research their family history and stuff, but it still seemed a but unnatural. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong about making remarks about him being black. But at some points, the way it was presented it seemed unnatural and forced. Also, I don't get why it was necessary for him to always be ogling over Jenny. She said like 4 lines in the entire book (which made sense I guess since she's supposed to be quiet), and was literally just someone for Eddie to swoon over. She was a completely pointless character. But maybe they'll give her a real purpose in the sequel. The writing was fine, really just your typical middle-grade-novel-with-a-male-protagonist writing. The ending was ok. The plot was ok, but very cliché. But the entire book was pretty cliché Overall, it wasn't bad, but it wasn't that great. I don't plan on reading the sequel.
                    • ian21tang
                      ian21tangMonday, June 29, 2015 at 2:19 pm55 stars
                      EDDIE RED UNDERCOVER: MYSTERY ON MUSEUM MILE is told through the eyes of 11-year-old Edmund Lonnrot, a short African-American sixth grader with two special skills -- he has a photographic memory and he's an exceptional artist. When the New York City police discover his talent, they enlist him as an afterschool and weekend undercover observer and sketch artist to help solve a baffling series of thefts in Manhattan museums. In return, "Eddie Red, as the lead detective dubs him, hopes to earn enough money to attend a prestigious private school his family could not otherwise afford. He works and clashes with a hard-boiled detective who doesn't really want Eddie on the case. Meanwhile, Eddie gets help from his brainy and obsessive friend Jonah as they try to crack the mystery together.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      monkey4511 wrote:

                      So cool! Amazing! Awesome! I lov...

                      agent74 wrote:

                      I chose to read this book becaus...
                      Night of the Living Dummy (Goose...

                      agent74 wrote:

                      I chose to read this book becaus...
                      No Way Out - And Other Scary Sho...

                      Ammartin wrote:

                      Amazing story! :D