Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
Click to Rate

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)

Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8n/an/a5.518271
This is the winner of the Nickelodeon 2014 Kids Choice Awards for 'Favourite Book'. The Wimpy Kid is back! In the most hotly-anticipated children's book release of the year, the hilarious, globally-bestselling and award-winning Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, sees book 8 hit our shelves this November! Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice turn things around, or is Greg's life destined to be just another hard-luck story? It is perfect for readers of 8+ and also reluctant readers. You can also discover Greg on the big screen in any one of the three Wimpy Kid Movie box office smashes. Praise for Jeff Kinney: "The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Sun). "Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet". (Independent). "The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Big Issue). "Hilarious". (Telegraph). As well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, Poptropica. Jeff has been named one of Time magazine's most influential people in the world. His original Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted 'Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years' by UK readers. Jeff lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419711326
ISBN-13: 9781419711329
789 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • reece101
    reece101Sunday, April 26, 2015 at 2:08 pm
    all diary of the wimpy kid books are easy to read and I am in third grade!
    • sky_101
      sky_101Friday, April 10, 2015 at 1:30 pm
      i wanna buy this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i love dairy of a wimpy kid al.so my big bro who went to jv 3 times
      • elo100
        elo100Tuesday, April 7, 2015 at 4:41 pm55 stars
        also read the 9th
        • elo100
          elo100Tuesday, April 7, 2015 at 4:40 pm55 stars
          I think that dairy of a wimpy kid books are awesome and have loots of humor In it . I recommend them to people 7 to 11 read them!!
          • tardisblue
            tardisblueMonday, April 6, 2015 at 1:25 amFeatured
            This book is really good, however it is not my favourite of the Diary Wimpy Kid books. I found it really funny as well. I think his mum should have even more parts in the stories because I find her hilarious (she is a representative of a lot of mums :-) ). It also tells us to place friends over girlfriends/boyfriends because while your date may seem like "the one", usually they're not and your friends will be there to help you up after a breakup, so you should never push them away. This is why I think this book has a great moral to it. I'm in my second year of high school and I still love this book series, so I think it is aimed at a very wide audience, from a youngish age to an older teen. I think Jeff Kinney is an amazing author and I hope the series never ends!
            • toxictiger
              toxictigerSunday, April 5, 2015 at 8:55 amFeatured
              I likr this book very much. It is very funny, even though I think that Greg and Rowley, best friends, are seperated too much, and you can´t live the adventures like you did in the series before. I think Jeff Kinney is an amazing author, knows how to grab the audience. The book has a very enjoyable sense of humour, and it fits to everyone who reads this book. I like how Jeff Kinney talks as if he was Greg, in a children´s way. He always has new ideas, and this book makes it to a highlight. think this book fits to everyone, because it has things that the reader lives through in the everyday life. The book would be better, and every other book of these series to, if Rowley is not the only friend of Greg. I think Greg could 1 or 2 other ones, so you have a little variety. If you read this book you can´t close the book and want to know what is written on the next page. This inspires all of us to read more. I also think that Greg also could change his personality a little, because if he always has the same personality it gets a little boring. I think everybody knows why this book has received the Nickelodeon Kids Choice Award. But you should not only rate this book on the style of writing. It also has very nice illustrations by Jeff Kinney, that kind of awake this book to life.I hope you enjoy this book after you read it. I think this book is clearly an essential:-) Hafe fun!!!
              • charlieWednesday, March 11, 2015 at 12:14 pm
                i really like this book becuase it has very awesome details to this book and serious momments
                • GeorgeWednesday, March 11, 2015 at 12:08 pm
                  Funny
                  • beast modeFriday, March 6, 2015 at 8:20 am
                    this book is so funny I hope he makes more
                    • maFriday, March 6, 2015 at 7:38 am
                      i love it

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Sisters
                      Wonder
                      Smile
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Hooray for Hat!
                      Smile
                      Sisters
                      Sisters
                      Wonder

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      cheeze1234
                      cheeze1234 wrote:

                      I <3 this book so much😘
                      Because of Winn-Dixie

                      dork daries wrote:

                      i think that it is fun to read
                      Duck, Duck, Moose!

                      kikilol wrote:

                      good book more people should rea...
                      Sparky!