Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
Click to Rate

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)

By Jeff Kinney
378 ratings654 reviews639 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8n/an/a5.518271
This is the winner of the Nickelodeon 2014 Kids Choice Awards for 'Favourite Book'. The Wimpy Kid is back! In the most hotly-anticipated children's book release of the year, the hilarious, globally-bestselling and award-winning Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, sees book 8 hit our shelves this November! Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice turn things around, or is Greg's life destined to be just another hard-luck story? It is perfect for readers of 8+ and also reluctant readers. You can also discover Greg on the big screen in any one of the three Wimpy Kid Movie box office smashes. Praise for Jeff Kinney: "The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Sun). "Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet". (Independent). "The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Big Issue). "Hilarious". (Telegraph). As well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, Poptropica. Jeff has been named one of Time magazine's most influential people in the world. His original Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted 'Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years' by UK readers. Jeff lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419711326
ISBN-13: 9781419711329
654 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • erica101
    erica1016/15/2014
    I have the whole series
    • bp736106/16/2014
      the book is really funny but it teaches you nothing
      • bp73610
        bp736106/16/2014
        it is really funny but it teaches you nothing
        • the-potato-man
          the-potato-man6/17/20143 stars
          It's funny but it is really the same thing every book, he gets in trouble and then he gets out, its not even really funny anymore.
          • nene123
            nene1236/17/20145 stars
            this book is funny in some parts so would say it would be a good book probably for older kids to read.
            • beachgirl10
              beachgirl106/18/20145 stars
              I loved this book because greg is believing in a lucky eight ball. He is believing that it can tell him exactly what to do when this family or friend said something and he would shake it and it would tell him what to said,and sometimes the lucky eight ball would said something that was not right for the qustion. I would recommend this book to people who like make-believe chapter book.
              • dogo0656
                dogo06566/21/20145 stars
                This book is about Greg and his magic eight ball. Greg uses his magic eight ball to help him on a test. It wasn't a good idea to do that, because his teacher notices it when he drops it on the floor. And also because it is useless.
                • 103sarah
                  103sarah6/26/2014
                  I think this book was okay but the others were better. I got a little bord of it after reading it one.
                  • wildchild999
                    wildchild9997/28/20145 stars
                    favorite one yet!
                    • pminces
                      pminces8/1/2014
                      I love how Jeff Kinney makes every book funnier.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Smile
                      The School for Good and Evil
                      If I Stay
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Walk Two Moons (Newbery Medal Book)
                      Frozen Junior Novelization (Disney Frozen)
                      Hello Baby

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      elvis416
                      elvis416 wrote:

                      This book is about a kid who has...
                      Dragon in the Family

                      hyper_monkey

                      I don't really know all that muc...
                      The Heroes of Olympus Book Five:...

                      hyper_monkey

                      I personally doubt that Rick wou...
                      The Heroes of Olympus Book Five:...

                      zane101
                      zane101 wrote:

                      i loved this book a lot . maybe ...
                      Saige (American Girl Today)