Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)
Click to Rate

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)

By Jeff Kinney
378 ratings652 reviews638 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8n/an/a5.518271
This is the winner of the Nickelodeon 2014 Kids Choice Awards for 'Favourite Book'. The Wimpy Kid is back! In the most hotly-anticipated children's book release of the year, the hilarious, globally-bestselling and award-winning Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, sees book 8 hit our shelves this November! Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice turn things around, or is Greg's life destined to be just another hard-luck story? It is perfect for readers of 8+ and also reluctant readers. You can also discover Greg on the big screen in any one of the three Wimpy Kid Movie box office smashes. Praise for Jeff Kinney: "The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Sun). "Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet". (Independent). "The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Big Issue). "Hilarious". (Telegraph). As well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, Poptropica. Jeff has been named one of Time magazine's most influential people in the world. His original Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted 'Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years' by UK readers. Jeff lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419711326
ISBN-13: 9781419711329
652 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • 103sarah
    103sarah6/26/2014
    I think this book was okay but the others were better. I got a little bord of it after reading it one.
    • dogo0656
      dogo06566/21/20145 stars
      This book is about Greg and his magic eight ball. Greg uses his magic eight ball to help him on a test. It wasn't a good idea to do that, because his teacher notices it when he drops it on the floor. And also because it is useless.
      • beachgirl10
        beachgirl106/18/20145 stars
        I loved this book because greg is believing in a lucky eight ball. He is believing that it can tell him exactly what to do when this family or friend said something and he would shake it and it would tell him what to said,and sometimes the lucky eight ball would said something that was not right for the qustion. I would recommend this book to people who like make-believe chapter book.
        • nene123
          nene1236/17/20145 stars
          this book is funny in some parts so would say it would be a good book probably for older kids to read.
          • the-potato-man
            the-potato-man6/17/20143 stars
            It's funny but it is really the same thing every book, he gets in trouble and then he gets out, its not even really funny anymore.
            • bp73610
              bp736106/16/2014
              it is really funny but it teaches you nothing
              • bp736106/16/2014
                the book is really funny but it teaches you nothing
                • erica101
                  erica1016/15/2014
                  I have the whole series
                  • rainbowunicorns
                    I think this book is great! It's funny and a good story too. I like how Gregory edits the school year photos (:
                    • nene123
                      nene1236/17/20145 stars
                      i remember the school years photos they were really funny. :)
                    • starburstgsad
                      starburstgsad6/12/20145 stars
                      this book is extremely funny and jocular and it also relates to real life in a dorky way i definitely recommend you to read this book and i assure that you would not regret it !!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Charlotte's Web
                      My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish
                      Out of My Mind
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Cabin Fever (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      jd043
                      jd043 wrote:

                      Lucy leaves her home to get a re...
                      Lockwood & Co. The Screaming Sta...

                      jd043
                      jd043 wrote:

                      As the great depression spikes,a...
                      Grapes of Wrath

                      pandaranda
                      pandaranda wrote:

                      I really want to read this book
                      Capture the Flag

                      jd043
                      jd043 wrote:

                      A boy lives in a bland world wit...
                      The Giver (Cascades)