Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8) Buy Book
Click to Rate

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8n/an/a5.518271
This is the winner of the Nickelodeon 2014 Kids Choice Awards for 'Favourite Book'. The Wimpy Kid is back! In the most hotly-anticipated children's book release of the year, the hilarious, globally-bestselling and award-winning Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, sees book 8 hit our shelves this November! Greg Heffley's on a losing streak. His best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him, and finding new friends in middle school is proving to be a tough task. To change his fortunes, Greg decides to take a leap of faith and turn his decisions over to chance. Will a roll of the dice turn things around, or is Greg's life destined to be just another hard-luck story? It is perfect for readers of 8+ and also reluctant readers. You can also discover Greg on the big screen in any one of the three Wimpy Kid Movie box office smashes. Praise for Jeff Kinney: "The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Sun). "Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet". (Independent). "The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid". (Big Issue). "Hilarious". (Telegraph). As well as being the international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Jeff Kinney is also an online developer and designer. He is the creator of the children's virtual world, Poptropica. Jeff has been named one of Time magazine's most influential people in the world. His original Diary of a Wimpy Kid was voted 'Best Children's Book of the Last 10 Years' by UK readers. Jeff lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419711326
ISBN-13: 9781419711329
805 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • gmm_hogSaturday, July 25, 2015 at 10:24 am
    This book is sooooooo amazingly awesome.this book is really funny. I'd say this book is better than the 9th book. But the only thing is that it would be funnier with Rowley. Great book.
    • soccer315
      soccer315Friday, June 12, 2015 at 1:10 pm44 stars
      This book was so funny. It takes you into the perspective of Greg Heffely, a nerdy 8th grader just trying to get through middle school. The only thing I didn't like was that Greg and Rowley were separated too much. Not like in the series before where they did everything together. If you like realistic fiction books about middle school then this is definitely a must read.
      • soccer315
        soccer315Friday, June 12, 2015 at 1:06 pm44 stars
        This book was so funny. It takes you into the perspective of Greg Heffely, a nerdy 8th grader just trying to get through middle school. The only thing I didn't like was that Greg and Rowley were separated too much. Not like in the series before where they did everything together.
        • wimpy fanFriday, June 12, 2015 at 11:22 am
          This book is awesome there's 9 books so far.
          • wimpy fanFriday, June 12, 2015 at 11:14 am
            This book is awesome it is about a boy named Greg Heffley I recommend the whole series I read the whole series in 2nd to 3rd grade but the new one the long haul I hope its great
            • dragonslay
              dragonslayWednesday, June 3, 2015 at 11:24 am55 stars
              AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • Apple care poo Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 7:13 am
                I love all the books
                • CaveMonday, June 1, 2015 at 3:59 pm
                  I like this. I read this at 2015
                  • zztwinz100
                    zztwinz100Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 7:02 am
                    I have read all the diary of a wimpy kid books and loves them but my favorite one is hard luck!
                    • jer403870
                      jer403870Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 9:24 am
                      My friend last year had this book and it was so funny and such a good book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      inventor60
                      inventor60 wrote:

                      A new invention.... Something th...
                      The Discovery of America (Geroni...

                      inventor60
                      inventor60 wrote:

                      The story of a young girl with a...
                      Counting by 7s

                      happypug12
                      happypug12 wrote:

                      This is THE MOST original book I...
                      Story Thieves

                      atsu
                      atsu wrote:

                      Can you believe that kids who ha...
                      The Lost Hero