Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grade 5n/a4.240443

Thirteen-year-old Olivia Hughes has always considered herself a lucky girl. She knows what she wants to do with her life—be an actress. And she’s already on her way. She just landed a national ad campaign that should get her noticed. But then her luck runs out. A little pimple turns into a full-blown case of acne, with serious side effects for her career, her relationships, and her self-esteem. Now all she wants to do is hide, but she can’t. She goes from being the girl at school who everyone wants to be to Zitface, a girl who is teased, dumped, and even fired. What do you do when you’ve lost control of everything in your life? Olivia has to find out the hard way. And maybe what she finds isn’t so bad after all. The book includes an author’s note about the psychological and medical issues involved for teens dealing with significant acne. The author is a licensed mental health counselor who has worked in California and Texas schools.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on April 1, 2011 by Skyscape
ISBN-10: 0761458301
ISBN-13: 9780761458302
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ikyra_marie
    ikyra_marieSunday, April 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm
    I love these kind of books.I have wanted to read this for a really long time.
    • ruthy9943
      ruthy9943Sunday, April 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm55 stars
      its an amazing book and I definitely recommend this
      • hculpep123
        hculpep123Thursday, September 13, 2012 at 12:23 pm
        i dont know iff i should read this boooooooooook. is it good????????????
        • playhard
          playhardWednesday, September 12, 2012 at 4:21 pm44 stars
          It was ok and Yes i would read it for a 2 time
          • jashi
            jashiSaturday, July 14, 2012 at 6:31 am
            Amazing!! I love this book so realistic and hilarious! The absolute best book i've read in the past year. Wonderful, this book is a must-read for any middle school aged girl.
            • vanapockii
              vanapockiiSunday, June 10, 2012 at 7:57 pm
              It's really amazing! I've been wanting this book since last year! When I heard about it from my friends, I fell INLOVE with it! Even when I didn't read a SINGLE page of it! It's the best! I really love this! This book can relate to alot of other kids or teens. Acne takes time, not medication! It's just part of life so don't try anything. Acne is like a person living on you, it's life is really easily to harm and get off, but sometimes, acne can be a very dangerous problem. So I recommend to read this from ages 11 and up. May be a little inappropriate! Other wise, I LOVE IT!
              • hailey1222
                hailey1222Saturday, May 19, 2012 at 10:18 pm
                It's a really god book for girl and there zits . I really recamend this book to all girls that are going thru that stage
                • zoeymay33
                  zoeymay33Monday, April 16, 2012 at 3:00 pm55 stars
                  OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK! It is AMAZING!!! It really helped me be confidant in my self and help me with my dream of acting and all of the other stuff in my life. I can really relate to her in so many ways that I can't put in words!!!