Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.53161

George O'Connor is a Greek mythology buff and a classic superhero comics fan, and he's out to remind us how much our pantheon of superheroes (Superman, Batman, the X-Men, etc) owes to mankind's ORIGINAL superheroes: the Greek pantheon.

In OLYMPIANS, O'Connor draws from primary documents to reconstruct and retell classic Greek myths. But these stories aren't sedate, scholarly works. They're action-packed, fast-paced, high-drama adventures, with monsters, romance, and not a few huge explosions. O'Connor's vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to undeniable life, in a perfect fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology.

Volume 1 of OLYMPIANS, ZEUS: King OF THE GODS, introduces readers to the ruler of the Olympian Pantheon, telling his story from his boyhood to his ascendance to supreme power. This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 80 pages
Published on January 5, 2010 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1596436255
ISBN-13: 9781596436251
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Wild fireMonday, April 10, 2017 at 1:21 pm
    I am into Greek mythology too and I am reading Percy Jackson book 1
    • DreamcatcherSaturday, January 14, 2017 at 2:46 pm
      I am into greek mythology and I am reading the Percy Jackson series.
      • ironlion101
        ironlion101Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at 3:24 pm44 stars
        I think Greek and Roman mythology is very interesting to read,but I don't believe tat's how the Earth was made
        • oreoshershey
          oreoshersheyTuesday, September 27, 2016 at 7:36 am
          I love this book my favorite book in the series is Aphrodite
          • adamaka6909
            adamaka6909Monday, September 26, 2016 at 4:18 pm55 stars
            I think this book is very good. I love Greek and roman mythology because it explains all most every thing I need to know. I love it!
            • iampearlsummer
              iampearlsummerMonday, September 5, 2016 at 12:08 pm
              I found this book in the library with my sister. She used to read a lot of Greek God/Goddess books. I liked this book series because it is a graphic novel. It is very fun and easy to understand for me.
              • memoiloveit
                memoiloveitTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 7:36 am33 stars
                Zeus: King of the Gods (Olympians) has amazing graphics that help add to the detailed story of Zeus since his childhood to becoming really powerful.
                • 400bella
                  400bellaSaturday, August 13, 2016 at 7:54 am44 stars
                  This book was realy good It is about the gods I do not like it as much as other books but it was still realy good
                  • strawberry1234
                    strawberry1234Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 6:59 am22 stars
                    i really did not like this book . But it was about zeus so i would give it 2 stars. I think this author could do a bet better
                    • penguin313
                      penguin313Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                      This book is a small comic telling a version of Greek myths about the creation of Earth, the Titans, and Zeus taking down the Titans.