Newbery Honor Book * ALA Notable Children's Book

"Deeply felt. Presents a moral question with great care and sensitivity." —The New York Times

"A spellbinding story about rites of passage." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A realistic story with the intensity of a fable." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Thought-provoking." —School Library Journal (starred review)

In Palmer LaRue's hometown of Waymer, turning ten is the biggest event of a boy's life. But for Palmer, his tenth birthday is not something to look forward to, but something to dread. Then one day, a visitor appears on his windowsill, and Palmer knows that this, more than anything else, is a sign that his time is up. Somehow, he must learn how to stop being afraid and stand up for what he believes in.

Wringer is a powerful tour de force from Newbery Medal winner Jerry Spinelli.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on September 7, 2004 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060592826
ISBN-13: 9780060592820
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • marshallm
    marshallmFriday, December 11, 2015 at 11:37 am44 stars
    I loved this book in some spots were sad in others funy.
    • adri2005
      adri2005Thursday, November 19, 2015 at 6:16 am55 stars
      It made me stay on the edge of my seat
      • cortrourke
        cortrourkeTuesday, November 17, 2015 at 11:56 am33 stars
        good book
        • tankersisbeast
          tankersisbeastTuesday, November 17, 2015 at 6:49 am
          It's not what i expected but it's ok i guess
          • lacy321Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 5:39 pm
            does this book have any awards?
            • endra
              endraThursday, May 22, 2014 at 7:57 am33 stars
              Even if I hadn't read the book, I think the book might be a fantastic book to read. Also I think this book is my reading level so I might understand the words in this book.
              • Izzy Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 1:09 pm
                I am in school right now and I am in book club and a book that we are reading is wringer!!
                • ajwerth307
                  ajwerth307Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:03 pm44 stars
                  It tells a story of a plot and a problem with bullys and about a young boy that simply doesn't want to turn ten because of many many reasons like maybe most of all he has to be a wringer or maybe that he gets a huge punch on the arm!
                  • jed
                    jedMonday, June 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm11 star
                    It was an awful book about dead birds. It does say stuff about friendship but it is not worth reading.
                    • Lou LouFriday, March 1, 2013 at 10:39 am
                      I give it a 5

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...