Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.537410

Newbery Honor Book * ALA Notable Children's Book

"Deeply felt. Presents a moral question with great care and sensitivity." β€”The New York Times

"A spellbinding story about rites of passage." β€”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A realistic story with the intensity of a fable." β€”The Horn Book (starred review)

"Thought-provoking." β€”School Library Journal (starred review)

In Palmer LaRue's hometown of Waymer, turning ten is the biggest event of a boy's life. But for Palmer, his tenth birthday is not something to look forward to, but something to dread. Then one day, a visitor appears on his windowsill, and Palmer knows that this, more than anything else, is a sign that his time is up. Somehow, he must learn how to stop being afraid and stand up for what he believes in.

Wringer is a powerful tour de force from Newbery Medal winner Jerry Spinelli.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on September 7, 2004 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060592826
ISBN-13: 9780060592820
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lilyhough
    lilyhoughThursday, March 7, 2019 at 1:26 pm55 stars
    I love it it’s spooky,mysterious,suspenseful and interesting I hope that other people like it as much as I do right nowπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘
    • marshallm
      marshallmFriday, December 11, 2015 at 11:37 am44 stars
      I loved this book in some spots were sad in others funy.
      • adri2005
        adri2005Thursday, November 19, 2015 at 6:16 am55 stars
        It made me stay on the edge of my seat
        • cortrourke
          cortrourkeTuesday, November 17, 2015 at 11:56 am33 stars
          good book
          • tankersisbeast
            tankersisbeastTuesday, November 17, 2015 at 6:49 am
            It's not what i expected but it's ok i guess
            • lacy321Thursday, January 8, 2015 at 5:39 pm
              does this book have any awards?
              • endra
                endraThursday, May 22, 2014 at 7:57 am33 stars
                Even if I hadn't read the book, I think the book might be a fantastic book to read. Also I think this book is my reading level so I might understand the words in this book.
                • Izzy Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 1:09 pm
                  I am in school right now and I am in book club and a book that we are reading is wringer!!
                  • ajwerth307
                    ajwerth307Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:03 pm44 stars
                    It tells a story of a plot and a problem with bullys and about a young boy that simply doesn't want to turn ten because of many many reasons like maybe most of all he has to be a wringer or maybe that he gets a huge punch on the arm!
                    • jed
                      jedMonday, June 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm11 star
                      It was an awful book about dead birds. It does say stuff about friendship but it is not worth reading.