Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.537410

Newbery Honor Book * ALA Notable Children's Book

"Deeply felt. Presents a moral question with great care and sensitivity." —The New York Times

"A spellbinding story about rites of passage." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A realistic story with the intensity of a fable." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Thought-provoking." —School Library Journal (starred review)

In Palmer LaRue's hometown of Waymer, turning ten is the biggest event of a boy's life. But for Palmer, his tenth birthday is not something to look forward to, but something to dread. Then one day, a visitor appears on his windowsill, and Palmer knows that this, more than anything else, is a sign that his time is up. Somehow, he must learn how to stop being afraid and stand up for what he believes in.

Wringer is a powerful tour de force from Newbery Medal winner Jerry Spinelli.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 1, 1997 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060249137
ISBN-13: 9780060249137
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • celabyky-158023958818
    celabyky-158023958818Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:09 am44 stars
    this book was amazing but the only bad thing is that it took too long to get to the climax but definitely was worth it, and there was MANY good parts and one of them was when 5palmer got the treatment
    • vetolypy-158023958673
      vetolypy-158023958673Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:09 am44 stars
      This book was great, At some parts, it would build suspense and at other times it wouldn't be that interesting. The bad parts of the book were the beginning because it wasn't really interesting and it took way too long to get to the climax.
      • lazereju-158023958562
        lazereju-158023958562Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:05 am
        I love how in this book there are sad times like when Palmer got a sock for his birthday, but other times when they had to use silly nicknames that part was funny to me.
        • teamschool
          teamschoolThursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:04 am44 stars
          it's about Palmer who has waited his whole life to get into Bean's group, which consists of rowdy boys. But when he is pushed to become a wringer, a person that wrings the pigeons in the annual pigeon contest, Palmer must keep his secret or he will be kicked out of the friend group. it could have been sped up a bit. It had some great details and described the characters so much! you could make good pictures in your head of what's going on!
          • bowynycy-158023958729
            bowynycy-158023958729Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 5:57 am
            This is a great book, I recommend to people who have free time, or you would like to pass on time. The way it kept you on your toes was amazing, pressured packed spots, sometimes it can make you sad while other times it can make you jump up and down
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 2:22 pm44 stars
              Palmer has waited his whole life to get into Bean's group, which consists of rowdy boys. But when he is pushed to become a wringer, a person that wrings the pigeons in the annual pigeon contest, Palmer must keep his secret or he will be kicked out of the group. I would recommend this for ages 9+ I liked how Palmer teamed up with Dorothy but the book's pace could have sped up a bit. Overall, pretty good, just could have been a little brushed up with.
              • BobaTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:25 pm
                Best book because I like scary story’s 😀😀😀
                • lilyhough
                  lilyhoughThursday, March 7, 2019 at 1:26 pm55 stars
                  I love it it’s spooky,mysterious,suspenseful and interesting I hope that other people like it as much as I do right now😊👍
                  • marshallm
                    marshallmFriday, December 11, 2015 at 11:37 am44 stars
                    I loved this book in some spots were sad in others funy.
                    • adri2005
                      adri2005Thursday, November 19, 2015 at 6:16 am55 stars
                      It made me stay on the edge of my seat