Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 1, 2012 by Bodley Head
ISBN-10: 0370332288
ISBN-13: 9780370332284
3675 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • KatieFriday, June 14, 2019 at 3:32 am
    If you are looking for a good summer read or you just feel like reading a book than I highly recommend Wonder. It focuses on a boy named Auggie who has a facial difference. I think that if anyone is mean or rude than this book could help them change.
    • kierabridgette
      kierabridgetteThursday, June 13, 2019 at 1:59 pm55 stars
      I think it is a good book. August is a kid born with a facial difference. The book makes you a better person and teaches a lesson. It is a good book because it is based off of a true story. Auggie was trying to be nice but people just bullied him, except for Summer she was really nice to Auggie and didn't care what he looked like. If you read this I think you will like and it is for anyone.
      • someoneThursday, June 13, 2019 at 1:56 am
        when I read what Jack said about Auggie I nearly cried
        • libesele-155992117833
          libesele-155992117833Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 11:25 am55 starsFeatured
          Agust is a very good boy. This book wants to make you a better person with kids because you dont know what they been for. This is my favorate book because its based on a tre story. The worst part was that Agust was very kind to a lot of kids and they just bulie him. It is not fair that Agust was bulied. Summer is my idol because some times no mater what other people said she hanged ot with him and did not care if peole bulied her of being with a kid that has a facial difrence. If you read this book you will be as amazied as I am.
          • cyrusmilo
            cyrusmiloMonday, June 10, 2019 at 9:59 pm55 stars
            This was a really great book. It really made me think about how different people are and to be more accepting of others. Everyone should read it.
            • PugMonday, June 10, 2019 at 7:17 pm
              I've watched the movie
              • aengman
                aengmanMonday, June 10, 2019 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                This was one of the best books ever ! i loved it so much ! auggie and me and 365 days of wonder was amazing to!! You need to read it to!!
                • selina
                  selinaMonday, June 10, 2019 at 1:20 pm55 stars
                  Auggie is such a lovable boy. Even though he looks different from everyone and even though he starts to go to school for the first time in 5th grade, he doesn't let that get him down. He really loves hanging out with his friends. I can connect with that on some level too. I love hanging out with my friends and even though many people don't like a lot of things I'm interested in I don't let that bring me down. I guess many people can connect with just like I do and that's why I loved this book.
                  • valentineSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 11:27 am
                    This book makes you want to help out the kids that have something we don't! And to be kind and sweet to anyone else too!
                    • valentineSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 7:43 am
                      This book tells you how do be kind to every girl and boy that have a thing that we don't.