Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.643045

After a slight misunderstanding involving a horrible governess, oatmeal, and a jar of tadpoles, siblings Tobias and Charlotte Eggars find themselves abandoned by their father at the gates of a creepy reform school. Evil mysteries are afoot at Witherwood, where the grounds are patrolled by vicious creatures after dark and kids are locked in their rooms. Charlotte and Tobias soon realize that they are in terrible danger―especially because the head of Witherwood has perfected the art of mind control.

If only their amnesiac father would recover and remember that he has two missing children. If only Tobias and Charlotte could solve the dark mystery and free the kids at Witherwood―and ultimately save themselves.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805098798
ISBN-13: 9780805098792
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • papergirlsfb
    papergirlsfbMonday, November 6, 2017 at 6:34 am55 stars
    If you have not read this book , you just HAVE to read it . Best book EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is definitely my absolute FAVORITE book .
    • mybooksandi
      mybooksandiSaturday, March 25, 2017 at 9:43 am55 starsFeatured
      Ahhhhhhhhhh! Okay, I am calm now. This book is plain AMAZING...Obert Skye has done it again!! Anyway, if you ever read the first book, WitherWood Reform School, you'd know my obsession. Anyway, Tobias and Charlotte are like the best duo ever. I stopped my fan-girling, let's get to the review. This book is about a reform school, which is basically a school only bad-spanked kids go to. What I love about the setting is that Obert Skye describes it with such detail, you would have your arm-hairs rising. The characters, Oh please help me, where should I start with the characters? Amazing, just plain amazing. Good book, deserves 500 stars😁
      • inventor60
        inventor60Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 8:43 pm
        With grave danger up ahead of them, Tobias and Charlotte don't thing about the consequences. With a rude nanny and tadpoles making the not so perfect match, the two wind up in front of a creepy school where their dad had left them due to their outrageous behavior. The children, seeing no problem in checking out the school, enter the grounds. After committing so many crime/mistakes they make their biggest mistake by entering, only to realize that they may be staying for quite some time. I found this book to be very interesting, it had a vivid plot line and a clear sequence of events. Overall, it was quite a cliff hanger!1
        • lolo2006
          lolo2006Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 5:04 pm55 stars
          I actually meet the author and he talked about his new book, Lost and Found. Cannot wait to read it!!
          • selina
            selinaWednesday, April 29, 2015 at 2:07 pm11 star
            Witherwood is about two children getting dropped off at a strange school and later on getting picked up again by their father who doesn’t remember anything. First the children- named Charlotte and Tobias Eggers- were eating their dinner with their nanny- named Martha Childress- who is very strict on manners. Since both Tobias and Charlotte hated Martha they decided to a trick where Tobias secretly put tadpoles in the gravy and then makes sure Martha chokes on it. Before Tobias did that Charlotte tricked Martha in thinking that it was already 10:00 at night. Really it was not 10:00, it was way before 10:00. Before Martha turned back around Tobias quickly dumped the tadpoles into the gravy. When Martha turned she yelled Charlotte for lying to her about the time. Suddenly Martha grabbed the gravy with tadpoles in it and dumped it onto her food. As soon as gulped down her food Martha choked on the tadpoles and the food. Martha fell out of her seat trying to let out herself but it was not working and Martha was choking herself more. When Mr. Eggers came home Martha was feeling well and told him what happened. When Martha left Mr. Eggers took Tobias and Charlotte to Witherwood Reform School. Tobias and Charlotte did not want to go but they had no choice; they had to go. Tobias and Charlotte realized that they could not get out of the school gates. But Tobias and Charlotte didn’t know that they were going to be treated HORRIBLELY because a teacher named Ms. Gulp who was very stingy. Ms. Gulp had all the items the children there needed nonetheless the kids had to earn those items. In order to earn those items they needed to work hard on the work assigned to them. In Witherwood the kids go to Marvin, who looks really ugly, puts a spell on the children using his voice, so the kids don’t remember where they came from and have no intention of leaving Witherwood. Tobias and Charlotte were the kids who weren’t effected by Marvin’s voice they’d a chance to get out of Witherwood. But Tobias and Charlotte had to be careful when they got out because the headmaster, named Orrin, might catch them. Alas! Tobias and Charlotte got caught by Orrin. A couple of days later Mr. Eggers, a man with amnesia, picked up Tobias and Charlotte. Since Mr. Eggers hit his head on the side of his car really, really, REALLY hard that he couldn’t remember or recognize his kids, Tobias and Charlotte. Tobias and Charlotte were happy they were being picked up by their dad from this weird school.
            • potterhead
              potterheadFriday, March 27, 2015 at 8:38 pm
              i met the author of this book at a convention you should really read his creature in the closet books
              • nancydrew963
                nancydrew963Tuesday, March 24, 2015 at 9:09 amFeatured
                Tobias and Charlotte were your typical pair of troublemakers, but landed themselves in bigger consequences than most! Putting tadpoles in the gravy dish seemed like a better and funnier idea in their minds rather than real life and got the two into a big mess. Tobias and Charlotte, as a punishment from their dad, were left in the middle of nowhere. The two decided to walk and stumbled upon Witherwood Reform School, which contained just as many secrets as it appeared to have. They learn that the school does not exactly give their students "free will" in a sense and have to figure their way out of the school when their dad gets amnesia then forgets about them. I didn't really like the book because of the way that the author decided to leave it and how painfully slow the plot moved. There was more suspense being built up than the book needed and, quite frankly, it was a bit boring. If the rest of the series has endings like the first, I don't think I'd be very interested in continuing reading.
                • sweetpicks
                  sweetpicksThursday, March 12, 2015 at 6:21 pm22 stars
                  Tobias and Charlotte Eggers are bother and sister who love to play planks. When his father finally has enough and sends them to Withrwood Reform School. When Tobias and Charlotte realize the school is mind controlling people and all that jazz. The book was okay. It was really slow to read and needed more depth.
                  • jess1018
                    jess1018Tuesday, March 10, 2015 at 5:02 pmFeatured
                    This book starts out with a brother and sister who, after rightfully pulling a trick on their cruel nanny, are dropped off on the side of the road by their father. Don't be fooled, their father realizes he didn't like when he was left there for 20 minutes as a child, so he turns back to only crash his car and get amnesia. What kids? The kids wonder upon this school, Witherwood to wait for their father. But, it utrns out this school is built on mid control and atop a mysterious mesa. What is on the third floor? What are all those mysterious creatures that come out at night? Where do all the older kids go? Why won't they let you leave? This book really kept me on my feet, however you don't really get any answers. It is only really a prequel to set you up for book 2. If you are ok with reading the second book also, I would DEFINETLY reccomend this book.
                    • inventor60
                      inventor60Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 8:44 pm
                      I agree!
                    • maranita
                      maranitaMonday, March 9, 2015 at 11:07 pm55 stars
                      Wow! This seems like a great book for kids. I found it interesting.