Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on January 8, 2019 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250306868
ISBN-13: 9781250306869
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nigokyzu-156909619474
    nigokyzu-156909619474Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:38 pm55 stars
    wish tree by Katherine Applegate is one of the best books i've read this year. i love how all the characters are loving, and kind to the wish tree, and the ending is one of favorite parts of the story, and how protective bongo is to red. my favorite characters are red, samar, and bongo. the sad part is when they start to want to cut red down. but just remeber its just a fairy tale anything can happen. because i didnt expect what happend in the story would happen. i love this book because how nice, sweet, and lovely this book is. i love how samar starts to like it there, and make friends, and how all the animals stand up for the wish tree. i recomend everyone to read this book because of all the kind, sweet and loyal characters. and thanks to the writer i have read another great and nice book this year.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprMonday, September 30, 2019 at 12:41 pm44 stars
      I decided to read this book again. The first time i read it was like OMG it is so good but now I'm like meh... so the pace was ok, the story good, but the main thing... was that there wasn't enough detail. Sorry, my opinion anyways I would rate this for ages 8+
      • 112Friday, September 6, 2019 at 9:49 pm
        This book is such a good book I read it in second grade and I loved it
        • ccswishingstar
          ccswishingstarFriday, June 28, 2019 at 2:33 pm55 stars
          Red is a northern red oak tree that is many rings old. Red is a neighbor wishtree, a tree where people would write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to the branches of Red. With Bongo, Red's crow friend, and all the other animals that made their homes in Red's hollows, Red watches over the neighborhood. A new family moves in and not everyone welcomes them. Red's wishtree experience was more important than ever. I love this book, and the animals' funny names!
          • adjfoewjfal;dkfThursday, June 20, 2019 at 8:34 am
            in me opinon i think book is very good so i give 4 star. no 5 star cuz owls in front are creep
            • BookwormWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:19 pm
              This book was great. My mom got it for me and, for me, it looked bad. I mean how many people want to read a book narrated by a tree. I am proud to say that i was wrong. This book completely proved me wrong. I love Katherine Applegate and should have known from the beginning that when i open this book, i will go into a completely different world where trees and animals think and speak and where crows get offended about being called murder. This book was amazing! -Bookworm
              • Aiden R.Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 12:15 pm
                Spoiler alert!!! The Wish tree By Katherine Applegate If you like trees than the wish tree is a good book to read. Wish Tree is about a tree named Red who makes a new neighbor feel welcome with the help of Red’s friends and grants her wish to have a friend. It is a book I could read many more times because it is very easy to read and a fun book it is easy to read because of the way she wrote it. What I learned from the book is that just because someone is a different color than you or is from a different place they can still be nice people, for example in the book the new neighbor is from a different country. This paragraph is about how the main character changes in the book. At the beginning of the book red was happy and did not care about the future because he was not worried about getting cut down. And towards the end red got sad and worried about the future because Red was going to get cut down so she talked to humus but trees are not aloud to. Red was afraid of losing the purpose of being a wish tree. This paragraph is about how the book is sad and funny. There is a scene where Bongo, Reds friend (who is a bird) poops on someone. I think katherine applegate wrote this scene to bring humor to the book. The book is really funny. But it is not all funny, there is some sad parts too, but I think she did that to brighten the scene. So that it is not all so sad for people that do not like sad books. Do not make fun of people!
                • kaput600
                  kaput600Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 8:59 am55 stars
                  I loved wishtree its about a girl that comes to visit a wishtree outside her house. She loved that tree and the tree loved her and the animals in the tree loved her too. But, one day some people want to cut the wishtree the girl and boy next door try to save the tree. Will they save their friend tree? Or will the be cut by some people? ? ? If you want to find out read the book WISHTREE. Please try to read this awesome and perfect book.
                  • uknown Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 12:52 pm
                    it is imazing
                    • gelseyTuesday, April 23, 2019 at 9:04 am
                      favorite book so far!!!!!