Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on January 8, 2019 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250306868
ISBN-13: 9781250306869
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kaput600
    kaput600Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 8:59 am55 stars
    I loved wishtree its about a girl that comes to visit a wishtree outside her house. She loved that tree and the tree loved her and the animals in the tree loved her too. But, one day some people want to cut the wishtree the girl and boy next door try to save the tree. Will they save their friend tree? Or will the be cut by some people? ? ? If you want to find out read the book WISHTREE. Please try to read this awesome and perfect book.
    • uknown Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 12:52 pm
      it is imazing
      • gelseyTuesday, April 23, 2019 at 9:04 am
        favorite book so far!!!!!
        • saffron
          saffronSunday, January 6, 2019 at 2:05 pm55 stars
          This book is like the BEST BOOK EVER!! Katherine Applegate wrote it in such a way to pull you into a story and it can keep you up at night reading and make you miss the school bus, too! I keep on reading and re-reading it and I love it every single time. All of Katherines books are good. Though, I havent read the "Underneath" But people tell me it's a catch! -Saffron
          • HiWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 6:19 am
            I really liked it
            • cookieplayer
              cookieplayerTuesday, November 13, 2018 at 5:45 pm44 stars
              This a very sincere and very sweet!
              • Amazing!Monday, November 12, 2018 at 8:15 am
                Very meaningful book.
                • dolphin8
                  dolphin8Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 7:01 pm44 stars
                  i am almoste done with this book, but i want to review it for summer. this made my mom cry the tree is the main person in the story and its about it. it gets to heer wishes for lots of things if you like wishes and trees and animals it good is
                  • jwarne
                    jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:38 pm55 stars
                    This book made my mom cry. We read it together and it was really really beautiful. I thought about maybe making a wish tree in our yard, too.
                    • strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234Friday, July 27, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
                      So far this has been a great book. I like the detail and how the story is very flowing . I hope more new things come and I get to enjoy this book as much I hope I will