Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on August 29, 2017 by Square Fish
ISBN-10: 1250144051
ISBN-13: 9781250144058
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Girl in pinkThursday, February 21, 2019 at 7:44 pm
    This book is a really great and awesome book. I just finished the book tonight and I loved the book Wish. I think the book was a mixed emotion book combined with sadness and happiness. This book was so great, I gave it a 5 star. Barbara O'Connor did a really great job on making a action packed and cute book for all people to read. In my opinion, I think this book was one of my favorite books. In the beginning, it started out a bit confusing and alright, but at the end it turned out to be an interesting and fun book! I think everybody should read this awesome/ great book!
    • Hit or missFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:50 am
      I really like this book because its about a girl who is going through a hard time. Her dad is in jail her mom is in bed and does nothing she has to go live with her aunt. She really dosent like them but they are nice. She has one friend. She makes wishes every day.Read wosh to find out what happens next Peaceee 🕊!!
      • BookCriticMonday, February 11, 2019 at 7:37 pm
        I didn't really like this book...
        • StrangerMonday, February 11, 2019 at 6:14 pm
          THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • GirlMonday, February 11, 2019 at 5:46 pm
            I loved this book! This book would be good for anyone who likes adventure! A lot of times you can predict what is going to happen next in a book but not this book there are a lot of surprises! Its really hard to stop reading a chapter its a book that makes you want to keep reading!
            • SOMBODYMonday, February 11, 2019 at 8:57 am
              Wish was a amazing book and was easy to read. I enjoyed this book and was sad it was over cause I couldn't read it anymore.
              • dreamerSunday, January 20, 2019 at 1:07 pm
                amazing book!!!!!
                • LiliWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 10:13 am
                  Wish by Barbara O'Connor is a book that I think can make people realize how lucky they are. Charlemagne (Charlie) has to move to Colby, North Carolina, to go stay with some relatives she has never even heard of. Her dad is in jail, and her mom has not gotten her feet on the ground. Charlie has to go to school with boys and girls that she calls Hillbilly kids. None of her friends live with her in Colby. One thing she inherited from her dad was anger issues, and she thinks that everything in her life is going horribly. I love this book because it’s a little sad in some parts, but also really funny. I think 3rd- 6th grade girls would enjoy this book. But anyone who is fine with reading books that start out kind of bad, but get better, will like this book. Read Wish by Barbara O’Connor to realize how much a lonely, helpless dog can impact someone’s life.
                  • samiyahWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 3:48 pm
                    she is a very wonder full girl hope go meet her one day I. life but some wishes come true so make sure she keep wishing love u guys hope to meet her one day
                    • bluesky15
                      bluesky15Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 6:15 am55 stars
                      This book is amazing! The journey of a broken girl getting her confidence and happiness back from her family she's never met and a good- hearted boy to change her life. You have to read this book.

                      Our Apps and Plugins