Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
115 Book Reviews
  • dolphinqueen18
    dolphinqueen18Monday, May 3, 2021 at 2:30 am44 stars
    Love it
    • angelinad
      angelinadMonday, March 22, 2021 at 12:00 pm44 stars
      Bravo Barbara O'Connor!
      • live1357
        live1357Wednesday, February 3, 2021 at 7:23 am55 stars
        I loved this book. I also have it on my battle of the books!!!!!!!
        • artsysunflower3
          artsysunflower3Tuesday, February 2, 2021 at 4:01 pm22 stars
          I really don't like it that much
          • jkbear
            jkbearThursday, November 19, 2020 at 11:37 am55 stars
            I really recommend this book to people. This is a great book
            • bsc
              bscWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 12:59 pm55 stars
              Such a good book! Charlie has to live with a foster home because her dad is in jail. She hardly knows them and doesn't have any interest in getting to know them better. But something Charlie does is makes wishes. She makes wishes on lots of things- from every eyelash, to every penny. Then she meets Wishbone. Wishbone is a skinny dog that she found. She finds out that she loves Wishbone and that she learns some things from Howard, who might be her friend.
              • youtubluverlol
                youtubluverlolSunday, June 14, 2020 at 11:52 am55 stars
                I read this book because the cover showed a dog and I love dogs and I read it and it is much more than that I would recommend this book to anyone.10/10👍👍👍
                • howls
                  howlsThursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:34 pm55 stars
                  Every one should read this book💕👍
                  • LilySiennaSunday, June 7, 2020 at 9:18 am
                    I looks like a motivating , inspirational and inspiring book. I may read it .
                    • ShupSunday, June 7, 2020 at 7:26 am
                      Me love it too