Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
57 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • themchic39
    themchic39Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 4:52 pm
    Looks like a good book.
    • profmimi
      profmimiFriday, January 20, 2017 at 12:45 pm
      WOAH YOU CAN READ THIS???
      • themchic39
        themchic39Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 4:53 pm
        Yeah I think so
      • bluegreen
        bluegreenMonday, January 16, 2017 at 3:09 pm
        I really wan to read this! It looks very interesting!
        • hiFriday, January 6, 2017 at 12:08 pm
          i duno
          • loverhaterSaturday, December 31, 2016 at 12:29 pm
            intreseting
            • neonbook
              neonbookSaturday, December 31, 2016 at 4:24 am55 stars
              Hmm sounds interesting ☺
              • lemonade05
                lemonade05Thursday, December 29, 2016 at 3:30 am55 stars
                Looks interesting ~
                • 1234Sunday, December 25, 2016 at 8:13 am
                  sounds good
                  • e06
                    e06Saturday, December 24, 2016 at 1:17 pm
                    it looks like a very interesting book, i love reading. i could read for ten hours. I would love to have this book!!!
                    • heroesofolympus
                      heroesofolympusTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:33 am55 stars
                      i bet ya that I could read more than you can!! ;-D (warning: friendly bet. please don't take this seriously!! even though it's true)
                    • DiamondDeluxeThursday, December 22, 2016 at 2:55 pm
                      Looks cool! I think it looks like a cool book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      bellaunicorns

                      This book is just.... AWESOME! I...
                      11 Birthdays

                      scigirlronni

                      I loved the Mallory series ever ...
                      Happy New Year, Mallory!

                      Cupcake wrote:

                      It is great book awesome and sad...
                      Ghosts