Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fUrRyGaMeRTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 6:47 pm
    this book was amazing! it's really a heartwarming story. I highly suggest it to all readers.
    • nakobuje-157805874883
      nakobuje-157805874883Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:03 am55 stars
      In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is the writer lives in NC and so the writer talks about the places in NC that I know. Another reason why is it is about a girls life and how she cooperates with feelings. ***Spoiler Alert*** My favorite part is when the main character (the girl) gets a friend and finds the dog. You might like this book if you like an adventure. You should read this book because it is like a fun exciting book about the main characters life.
      • filicyfe-157667470775
        filicyfe-157667470775Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
        I hope you read this book I really think it was cute and some people red it in my class and they did not like it but to me it shows kindness and the last thing I thought about this book is that people always make mistakes and in this book people make mistakes. Well have a great day and keep reading.
        • sad_panda_10
          sad_panda_10Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 4:25 pm55 stars
          this is a sad book but happy it is a very nice book and will make you smile
          • thesunisastar1
            thesunisastar1Monday, September 9, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
            I think that is book is great you should read it. hdgdydcgyrfreefrfehfwehfkhgekhkr
            • waynajaha
              waynajahaMonday, September 9, 2019 at 5:57 am
              i have a this book i personal and its a good book
              • battyboo
                battybooSunday, September 1, 2019 at 12:46 pm55 stars
                This book is the best book about a dog. I think whoever likes dogs will love this book! Happy Reading!
                • lilylunapotter
                  lilylunapotterWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
                  This book is great! This girl goes to her aunts house and it is a big change for her. When she sees a dog she wants to keep it as a pet. She says she doesn’t like it there but she realized that she wants to stay here.
                  • zzayumi
                    zzayumiTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:57 am55 stars
                    This book is really good! It is about a girl named Charlie Reese, who is in fifth grade. She makes as many wishes every day, with the same wish.
                    • june1243
                      june1243Monday, April 29, 2019 at 6:49 pm33 stars
                      it was a great book and was so sweet the dog was so adorable and the girl was so into wish the dog a great book i recommend reading it