A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
67 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tenten
    tentenMonday, January 22, 2018 at 2:08 pm55 stars
    I hope it's cool :)
    • hovydofibe
      hovydofibeMonday, November 20, 2017 at 8:01 am44 stars
      I really liked this book!!!!! I liked this book because of its characters. It is a really good book.
      • TANAIYAH21Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:47 pm
        GOOOD BOOK
        • JANIYA21Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:47 pm
          GOOOD BOOK
          • TANAIYAHWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:45 pm
            I HOPE ITS A GOOD BOOK
            • bluenerd2345Wednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:31 pm
              AMAZING!!!!!!!!
              • maxdoom
                maxdoomWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:42 am55 stars
                this book is amazing
                • readingtwinsies
                  readingtwinsiesMonday, October 23, 2017 at 7:39 pm55 starsFeatured
                  This book is about a girl whose family life is falling apart. Her parents argue, her dad is in jail, and she lives with her aunt and uncle. This is really tough on her, especially because she is a kid. She wants a real family. One that will love her and care for her. Finally, after being treated like an infectious disease, she finds a friend and a dog. She instantly connects with the dog, because it too, has no real family. The girl makes a promise to herself that she will have the dog as a pet eventually. At the end, she is given a choice to go back, or stay in the city. She chooses to stay. After all, she finally has what she always wanted: a true family. This book is so good it gives me chills!
                  • 25pandareader
                    25pandareaderThursday, April 20, 2017 at 8:35 am
                    i loved this book she at first charlie was mad but she met a boy named howard and howard told her when she is mad to say pineapple because howards mom told his little brother to say gbhjhbrygv when he wants to color on the walls . charlies dad scrappy was in jail and her mom wouldnt get her feet on the ground to take care of her . so she had to live with her aunt but she did not know her aunt . and on her way home from school on the bus she saw a dog finghting with another dog and surely they were strays charlie loved making wishes she taught me alot of new ways to make wishes . one day she wanted that stray dog to be hers so she set up a trap to catch him. once they caught him she named him wishbone cause she loved to make wishes. at first the dog was frightend so they brought in the house and he sniffed everything annd then he fell asleep and the rug . so charlie wnt to bed.alot more happend but if you want to find out more read the book.i highly recamend it bye
                    • papertundra605
                      papertundra605Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at 6:22 pm55 stars
                      the book was so cool but she was so mad at the start but forward the end she got nice and happy and it was sad about the mom and dads story

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I really want to read this over ...
                      Cyber-Thief Showdown (Geronimo S...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      This book is awesome even though...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      aquamaria
                      aquamaria wrote:

                      I should ether I get this book t...
                      No Time To Lose (Geronimo Stilto...

                      Ashley wrote:

                      I love this comic book I already...
                      Dog Man: From the Creator of Cap...