Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
97 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lilylunapotter
    lilylunapotterWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
    This book is great! This girl goes to her aunts house and it is a big change for her. When she sees a dog she wants to keep it as a pet. She says she doesn’t like it there but she realized that she wants to stay here.
    • zzayumi
      zzayumiTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 3:57 am55 stars
      This book is really good! It is about a girl named Charlie Reese, who is in fifth grade. She makes as many wishes every day, with the same wish.
      • june1243
        june1243Monday, April 29, 2019 at 6:49 pm33 stars
        it was a great book and was so sweet the dog was so adorable and the girl was so into wish the dog a great book i recommend reading it
        • BbSunday, April 7, 2019 at 3:01 pm
          Awesome book 👍👍👍👍👌
          • BbSunday, April 7, 2019 at 2:58 pm
            This book is so great I'm in the middle of it but it is amazing♥️♥️
            • madelyngrace
              madelyngraceSunday, March 24, 2019 at 11:50 am55 stars
              It's so good it became a SLAM book!
              • Girl in pinkThursday, February 21, 2019 at 7:44 pm
                This book is a really great and awesome book. I just finished the book tonight and I loved the book Wish. I think the book was a mixed emotion book combined with sadness and happiness. This book was so great, I gave it a 5 star. Barbara O'Connor did a really great job on making a action packed and cute book for all people to read. In my opinion, I think this book was one of my favorite books. In the beginning, it started out a bit confusing and alright, but at the end it turned out to be an interesting and fun book! I think everybody should read this awesome/ great book!
                • Hit or missFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:50 am
                  I really like this book because its about a girl who is going through a hard time. Her dad is in jail her mom is in bed and does nothing she has to go live with her aunt. She really dosent like them but they are nice. She has one friend. She makes wishes every day.Read wosh to find out what happens next Peaceee 🕊!!
                  • BookCriticMonday, February 11, 2019 at 7:37 pm
                    I didn't really like this book...
                    • StrangerMonday, February 11, 2019 at 6:14 pm
                      THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!