Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
75 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • savage_wonder
    savage_wonderTuesday, April 24, 2018 at 6:58 pm55 stars
    Spoiler Alert! This book is AWESOME! This book is very different from others because the girl in the story keeps mentioning ways to make wishes. In this book, Charlie's Mother can't take care of her so she goes to a different family to live with until her Mom becomes responsible enough to take her back in. From the day she goes to a new family, she kept making wishes. And her goal was to make a wish every day, and so far she didn't miss a wish. Also, her Dad taught her how to make the wishes. In the story, Charlie meets a boy and a stray dog. She falls in love with the dog and decides to name him Wishbone. She tries to play with him, but he keeps running away. But with the help of her "Parents", she was able to make a trap for Wishbone. This book kind of makes me sad, but is a great book to read. I recommend this book for 2nd-4th grade. And also.... anyone!
    • bookworm15Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 10:12 am
      <3 this book
      • Dapper girlWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 5:41 pm
        I loved this book!
        • hoerse4ev
          hoerse4evSaturday, March 10, 2018 at 2:16 pm55 stars
          It is amazing!!!!! I loved it so much and she is such a good author!!!! After I read it my friend read it and she loved it to!!!
          • qWERTYUIOP12345Friday, March 9, 2018 at 4:32 pm
            😍😘loVE THIS BOOK
            • catlover1527
              catlover1527Friday, March 9, 2018 at 8:53 am
              I've never read this book but it looks like a REALLY good book so I'm going to read it.
              • GavtonWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 9:40 am
                So there's this girl named Charley Reese and her family is not very good. so this social services lady comes and takes Charley to her aunt and uncle that she has never met. She makes wishes on everything and she even has a secret wish. Then she started to like living there. Then she gets a best friend and together they catch this dog. At the end she wants to stay with her aunt and uncle. It is a really good book I would recommend it to 3 graders thought 5th
                • awesomenessuper
                  awesomenessuperTuesday, March 6, 2018 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                  It is a very heart warming story and a very emotional one too. I recommend you to read it is really good at the ending.
                  • tenten
                    tentenMonday, January 22, 2018 at 2:08 pm55 stars
                    I hope it's cool :)
                    • hovydofibe
                      hovydofibeMonday, November 20, 2017 at 8:01 am44 stars
                      I really liked this book!!!!! I liked this book because of its characters. It is a really good book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilovemyths wrote:

                      i love rick riordans percy jacks...
                      The Serpent's Shadow (Kane Chron...

                      savage_wonder

                      This book is AMAZING! I love the...
                      Savvy

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! If there was a rating 1...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! KInda like Percy Jackso...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...