Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5n/a5.042116

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing on it as she takes the last bite. But when she is sent to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina to live with family she barely knows, it seems unlikely that her wish will ever come true. That is until she meets
Wishbone, a skinny stray dog who captures her heart, and Howard, a neighbor boy who proves surprising in lots of ways. Suddenly Charlie is in serious danger of discovering that what she thought she wanted may not be what she needs at all.

From award-winning author Barbara O'Connor comes a middle-grade novel about a girl who, with the help of a true-blue friend, a big-hearted aunt and uncle, and the dog of her dreams, unexpectedly learns the true meaning of family in the least likely of places.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 30, 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374302731
ISBN-13: 9780374302733
109 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • youtubluverlol
    youtubluverlolSunday, June 14, 2020 at 11:52 am55 stars
    I read this book because the cover showed a dog and I love dogs and I read it and it is much more than that I would recommend this book to anyone.10/10👍👍👍
    • howls
      howlsThursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:34 pm55 stars
      Every one should read this book💕👍
      • LilySiennaSunday, June 7, 2020 at 9:18 am
        I looks like a motivating , inspirational and inspiring book. I may read it .
        • ShupSunday, June 7, 2020 at 7:26 am
          Me love it too
          • emilyyadron
            emilyyadronFriday, March 13, 2020 at 8:31 am55 stars
            This book is about a girl who her dad is in jail and her mom is drunk. The girl had to go and try to make the beast of her life. I give this book 5 stars because it was vary entertaning.
            • fUrRyGaMeRTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 6:47 pm
              this book was amazing! it's really a heartwarming story. I highly suggest it to all readers.
              • nakobuje-157805874883
                nakobuje-157805874883Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:03 am55 stars
                In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is the writer lives in NC and so the writer talks about the places in NC that I know. Another reason why is it is about a girls life and how she cooperates with feelings. ***Spoiler Alert*** My favorite part is when the main character (the girl) gets a friend and finds the dog. You might like this book if you like an adventure. You should read this book because it is like a fun exciting book about the main characters life.
                • filicyfe-157667470775
                  filicyfe-157667470775Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
                  I hope you read this book I really think it was cute and some people red it in my class and they did not like it but to me it shows kindness and the last thing I thought about this book is that people always make mistakes and in this book people make mistakes. Well have a great day and keep reading.
                  • sad_panda_10
                    sad_panda_10Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 4:25 pm55 stars
                    this is a sad book but happy it is a very nice book and will make you smile
                    • thesunisastar1
                      thesunisastar1Monday, September 9, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
                      I think that is book is great you should read it. hdgdydcgyrfreefrfehfwehfkhgekhkr