Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.9206737

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won't approve of her feelings for her childhood friend--the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn't as weak as Levana believes her to be and she's been undermining her stepmother's wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that's been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer's national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

Hardcover, 832 pages
Published on November 10, 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312642989
ISBN-13: 9780312642983
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 1:47 pm55 stars
    this is the last book in the lunar chronicles series, and i really enjoyed it! it definitely lived up to the hype, and im so glad that everyone got the ending they deserved.
    • moonlightwolf
      moonlightwolfFriday, January 24, 2020 at 8:47 am55 stars
      I love this book and 13iamgroot I love your review.
      • 13iamgroot
        13iamgrootThursday, January 16, 2020 at 3:42 pm55 starsFeatured
        This book is an absolutely amazing conclusion to the lunar chronicles series! It is a pretty thick book and took me a long time to read it, but it was totally worth it. This book focuses mainly on Winter, Levana's beautiful step daughter, and is based on the fairy tale Snow White. Winter is rumored to be the fairest girl in all the land, which upsets Levana very much. This is why, previously, Levana forced Winter to scar herself on her cheek, but much to Levana's dismay, this seemed to accentuate Winter's beauty even more. Winter also refuses to use glamour to hide her scars or to manipulate anyone, after she realized very young that glamour could be used for more evil than good. This causes Winter to have hallucinations and go crazy once in a while, because she refuses to use her gift. And of course, there has to be a love interest, in this case it is the royal guard Jacin. If that name sounds familiar, you are correct, Jacin was present in the previous book, Cress, but is thought to have betrayed the Rampion crew. He came back to Luna and is now appointed as Winter's personal guard. Meanwhile, on the Rampion, Cinder, Wolf, Cress, Iko, and Captain Thorne, are formulating a plan to overthrow Levana, and rescue Scarlet from Luna. But in order to do this they have to get onto Luna, and this is where Kai comes in. He needs to find a way to move the wedding and coronation to Luna, instead of Earth, this proves to be the simple part, because there are much more hardships ahead. The book follows the journeys of everyone as they get separated, reunited, and reacquainted over and over again. Winter and Scarlet escape from the castle, faking Winters death, where they meet Cress after she had gotten separated from Cinder, Thorne, Wolf, and Iko when they made a big scene escaping from the docks. Their plan has to be modified many times over, but in the end they all live happily ever after, but after way more sacrifices and battles then the original fairy tales ever had. This series is by far my favorite of all time, I loved the author's creativity in mixing so many different genres, the classic fairy tale, futuristic technology, sci-fi battles, fantasy adventure, and a hint of romance. Every middle schooler should have a chance to read this series, because you won't regret it.
        • K23A8Monday, January 6, 2020 at 11:50 am
          This thrilling, exciting, adventurous book series ended with this last book Winter. Although a lot of people are saying that the ending was cliche, unbelievable, or boring, I honestly thought it was a tough ending to clinch, and Marissa Meyer did her best to end the series. That doesn't stop me from saying that the ending was a little disappointing. It was sort of like it was building up, building up, building up, as you hold your breath--and then... it was an ending, but it wasn't the amazing finale we were all expecting. Overall I think the series was amazing the only disappointment was the ending, but part of that might just be that we were sad that and amazing series like this was coming to a close.
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:58 am55 stars
            could not put this book down, its so amazing! the series comes to its end and everyone better be wishing for a happily ever after...
            • kkgautamm
              kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:43 am55 stars
              could not put this book down, its so amazing! the series comes to its end and everyone is wishing for a happily ever after...
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiWednesday, December 26, 2018 at 9:07 pm33 stars
                ** spoiler alert ** Hmm.. I don't know what to think about this one. I love the series, I love the author, and I love the characters. I loved how brave and fearless Cinder is. She was inspiring in a sense and entertaining. No.. wait, she was lovable. I really loved all the characters in the book but I had to address Cinder because the spotlight was mainly on her. The characters are what really kept the book from getting a two-star rating. Okay. Now the plot, story-line, and overall book. It was..long. Really long. Unnecessarily long. There were a lot of moments in the book when I felt like the author extended the book more than it was needed. I'm talking 400 extra pages for nothing I'm sure I am not the only one that complained about that. And can we just talk about the ending? It was sloppy. Really sloppy. It was nothing compared to Cinder, Scarlet, or Cress. It was way too simple. And knowing Levana and how she's cruel and evil and stuff didn't make me buy the ending. And can someone explain that Disney-moment-thing that happened. Cinder leaving Levana alone because Levana said (in a sense) 'sorry,' or something like that. Too cliche. And please, I don't fully understand the ending. Did Cinder beat her with her glamour or..? What about Scarlet and Wolf? Cress and Thorne? I know she gave us little snippets of an explanation but.. really? I don't know, but I am disappointed. The Lunar Chronicles will always be a series I will remember as a 'good' series. Winter was just the only black sheep.
                • bookstory14
                  bookstory14Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 starsFeatured
                  I really enjoyed the end, and it's my new favorite series, but I also thought it was a bit cliche. At first I thought these would be adventure books, but they turned out partially romance novels (which, don't get me wrong, I LOVE) but when everyone got paired and there were miraculous saves, (ex only Scarlet's pinky finger got chopped off, somehow Wolf overcame his memories and didn't immediately kill Scarlet-again, etc, etc) it got a bit boring, but I still love the happy ending!
                • queen_luna
                  queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:10 pm55 stars
                  This book was an incredible finish to the Lunar Chronicles. It had more exciting adventures with our beloved characters back and as lovable as ever. The friendship and romance will leave you melting, and the plot twists will have you gripping the book with white fingers. A truly magnificent final installment to the stunning Lunar Chronicles
                  • bookstory14
                    bookstory14Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 5:14 pm55 stars
                    Literally at the end I was like NOOO IT'S OVER THERE'S NO MORE!!! D': but apparently Marissa Meyer has written two graphic novels (the Wires and Nerve series) based off of Iko - and I can't WAIT to read them!!! :D
                  • septembergirl
                    septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:48 pm55 stars
                    I can't wait to read this book It's really long but still excited. #LunarChronicles!! Best book series ever!! Love them!
                    • I haz CupquakeWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 8:42 am
                      Amazing! Friendship and romance rules!