Wings of Fire Book Four: The Dark Secret

Book 4 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 6n/a5.566994
The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire saga soars to the mysterious land of the NightWings, where Starflight must face a terrible choice -- his tribe, or his friends?



In the shadows, trouble is brewing. . .



The mysterious NightWings keep everything hidden, from their home and their queen to their allegiance in the war. Now they've kidnapped their own dragonet of destiny, and Starflight is finally meeting the rest of his tribe -- whether he wants to or not.



The NightWings have also kidnapped several innocent RainWings, now trapped in the dark, barren, miserable place that is the NightWing kingdom. Starflight wants to help the RainWings, but he's busy saving his own scales and trying to find a way back to his friends. The fate of two kingdoms rests in his talons, and with no one to save him, Starflight will have to find a way to be brave . . . before it's too late.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on October 29, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545349214
ISBN-13: 9780545349215
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • constance25
    constance25Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 3:54 am44 stars
    After they find out that the RainWings are disappearing due to the NightWings experimenting with their power, venom. Starflight travels to the Night Kingdom, expecting a wonderful island with lot’s of dragons like him - dragons who love to draw, read scrolls, study history..... Instead he finds a lonely and harsh island with grumpy NightWings and terrified RainWings. He tries to reason with the NightWings to set the RainWings free, but he fails. He also wonders why no one ever communicates with the Queen in person. He later finds out that there is a secret tunnel that only the Queen’s daughter knows about, and visits her mother every day. The reason why the Queen won’t show herself to other dragons is because she was hit by frost breath from an IceWing. She had to stay in a pool of lava at all times. Starflight’s father had been the one who was taking care of Queen Battlewinner (Queen of the NightWings) and was designing a complex machine that the Queen could fit into and don’t need to stay in the pool of lava. Starflight and Fatespeaker (I will talk about her later) provoke Queen Battlewinner and she gets out of her pool of lava and dies. (I won’t tell the whole story since it is very long). Oh yeah, Fatespeaker. She is part of the fake dragonets of Destiny, because the real ones disappeared, some dragons replaced them with fake ones. Later we’ll find out that the prophecy wasn’t even real! :O
    • luna67Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 5:13 pm
      Wings of Fire is like amazing
      • looloo12
        looloo12Thursday, February 6, 2020 at 4:04 pm
        I love this book you guys would read or see this book!!!😄😃😁😁😋😋
        • kailyn6b
          kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:11 am55 stars
          This book is about how starlight go through to the night kingdom to try to reason (unsuccessfully) the night wings to let the rain wings go. They refuse and kidnaps him. He then escapes and plan an attack to bring back the rain wings. I loved this book and the layout was really good and I am so happy there are like 13 more of these books.
          • lpsbrooklyn10
            lpsbrooklyn10Monday, December 23, 2019 at 7:33 pm55 stars
            At first when you start reading this book, a lot of people think it's boring. But this book keeps you turning the page as you read it. With so many mysterious things going on, you can make a lot of predictions like, " Why does Queen Battlewinner hide herself? Will any of the dragons get replaced? What is the queen 's secret? " Find out as you read this amazing book!! You can buy some at Costo, a set of the first 8 books. But they might run out so get them quickly!!!!😉 Thank you for following me!!! Tell me what you think of this book when you read it!!!!😉 Bye!!
            • moonqueen
              moonqueenSaturday, December 21, 2019 at 7:25 am55 stars
              The book is amazing! Starflight is my favourite character. The Night Wings live on an island? I didn't expect it.. I had no idea that Starflight had a crush on Sunny. Its so cute. I completely loathe Morrowseer though Blister was actually a good choice. Anyway I loved this book.
              • bt21isawsome
                bt21isawsomeThursday, November 21, 2019 at 6:16 am55 stars
                I loved this book it is probably my favorite one. You finally get to see what the Nightwings are hiding. Starflight is definitely now one of my favorite characters.
                • turtleanimus777
                  turtleanimus777Monday, October 7, 2019 at 7:39 pm55 stars
                  This book shows young kids and adults alike that it's alright to be timid, and smarts can get you out of anything, regardless of your natural bulk or strength. Some may not agree with my point of view, but Starflight is one of my favorite characters in Wings Of Fire.
                  • dragonlovergirl
                    dragonlovergirlMonday, September 9, 2019 at 4:57 pm55 stars
                    BEST. SERIES. EVER.
                    • galaxylemon13
                      galaxylemon13Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 8:19 pm44 stars
                      I need this book so badly, and I can NOT wait to read it! I love all the other books so far, and all the comics. My friends all told me it was great! I would give it a 4 .