Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8n/a6.3118138

For fans of The Chronicles of Narnia comes the first book in the Wildwood Chronicles, the New York Times bestselling fantasy adventure series by Colin Meloy, lead singer of the Decemberists.

In Wildwood, Prue and her friend Curtis uncover a secret world in the midst of violent upheaval—a world full of warring creatures, peaceable mystics, and powerful figures with the darkest intentions. And what begins as a rescue mission becomes something much greater as the two friends find themselves entwined in a struggle for the very freedom of this wilderness. A wilderness the locals call Wildwood.

Wildwood captivates readers with the wonder and thrill of a secret world within the landscape of a modern city. It feels at once firmly steeped in the classics of children's literature and completely fresh at the same time.

Hardcover, 560 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006202468X
ISBN-13: 9780062024688
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cupcakefairy
    cupcakefairyMonday, December 17, 2018 at 7:04 pm
    I’ve heard from my friends that Wildwood is amazing, and that the author Colin Meloy has a really good sense of suspense and the storyline is great. I almost had to stop my friends from spoiling everything! I’m trying to locate it in the Public library. I hope it’s as good as my friends described it!
    • bookwormilg
      bookwormilgSunday, March 25, 2018 at 8:41 am44 stars
      This was a great book, though some parts were a tad boring. Other than that though, this book was amazing
      • jazzberry255
        jazzberry255Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 11:39 am55 stars
        I really liked this book, mostly because the plot was good and the characters were understandable
        • yumikothelewis
          yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:13 pm
          I really love this book
          • yumikothelewis
            yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:12 pm
            This is an amazing book and I will recommend it to every living soul I meet.
            • tilly_may
              tilly_mayWednesday, March 30, 2016 at 1:47 pm
              I LOVE this book, it is one of my all time favorites. It's funny, crazy serious, and I think that anyone who picks this book up, will love it. My favorite part was at the beginning when Prue's brother got taken away by crows.
              • memoose
                memooseSunday, March 6, 2016 at 6:07 pm55 stars
                You have to read it !
                • abcSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:07 pm
                  A must read book.
                  • kiwi100123
                    kiwi100123Monday, February 2, 2015 at 6:59 am55 stars
                    This book is about Prue McKeel, whose life is turned upside down when a murder of crows abduct her brother, Mac. She follows them into the Impassible Wilderness, aka Wildwood, where she finds magical animals including talking coyotes, who capture her friend Curtis. Curtis had mischievously followed her. They are brought to complete different sides of the wood; Prue to the Governor-Regent Lars in the North wood, Curtis to the Dowager Governess Alexandra. The funny thing is, the folks in the North Wood think that the evil Alexandra had been killed long ago. This story has a twist of danger and peril, along with the lesson of the true meaning of love and trust. It is the story of Prue McKeel and her friend Curtis as they go on the improbable mission of Wildwood. I recommend this book to advanced readers who are looking for a book of adventure of peril and friendship.
                    • cottoncandyfluf
                      cottoncandyflufFriday, September 5, 2014 at 3:28 am55 starsFeatured
                      Wildwood by Colin Meloy is the first book in the adventure and fantasy packed series, The Wildwood Chronicles. The novel tells the tale of Prue McKeel, a girl determined to rescue her baby brother Mac, who has been snatched away by a murder of crows. She and her friend Curtis Mehlberg venture into what was supposed to be the Impassable Wilderness, in order to save Mac. The two end up getting separated and on their journey they encounter entire civilisations of talking animals, magic and colonies of bandits. They discover that not all is well in Wildwood and must restore peace within the woods, find each other, and rescue Prue’s brother.