Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8n/a6.3118138

For fans of The Chronicles of Narnia comes the first book in the Wildwood Chronicles, the New York Times bestselling fantasy adventure series by Colin Meloy, lead singer of the Decemberists.

In Wildwood, Prue and her friend Curtis uncover a secret world in the midst of violent upheaval—a world full of warring creatures, peaceable mystics, and powerful figures with the darkest intentions. And what begins as a rescue mission becomes something much greater as the two friends find themselves entwined in a struggle for the very freedom of this wilderness. A wilderness the locals call Wildwood.

Wildwood captivates readers with the wonder and thrill of a secret world within the landscape of a modern city. It feels at once firmly steeped in the classics of children's literature and completely fresh at the same time.

Hardcover, 560 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006202468X
ISBN-13: 9780062024688
18 Book Reviews
  • jb9
    jb9Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 4:16 am
    I do not really remember much about this book but all I want to say is I have read this book
    • CoolblazekittySunday, October 18, 2020 at 6:41 am
      I've read the first book and it's sooooo amazing both the graphics and the word choices. This really leads you to the world of magic just like Harry Potter. I do wish that it was so popular. I would recommend this book for young readers who are willing to explore Literature because Wildwood is easy to read and very magical!
      • cupcakefairy
        cupcakefairyMonday, December 17, 2018 at 7:04 pm
        I’ve heard from my friends that Wildwood is amazing, and that the author Colin Meloy has a really good sense of suspense and the storyline is great. I almost had to stop my friends from spoiling everything! I’m trying to locate it in the Public library. I hope it’s as good as my friends described it!
        • bookwormilg
          bookwormilgSunday, March 25, 2018 at 8:41 am44 stars
          This was a great book, though some parts were a tad boring. Other than that though, this book was amazing
          • jazzberry255
            jazzberry255Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 11:39 am55 stars
            I really liked this book, mostly because the plot was good and the characters were understandable
            • yumikothelewis
              yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:13 pm
              I really love this book
              • yumikothelewis
                yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:12 pm
                This is an amazing book and I will recommend it to every living soul I meet.
                • tilly_may
                  tilly_mayWednesday, March 30, 2016 at 1:47 pm
                  I LOVE this book, it is one of my all time favorites. It's funny, crazy serious, and I think that anyone who picks this book up, will love it. My favorite part was at the beginning when Prue's brother got taken away by crows.
                  • memoose
                    memooseSunday, March 6, 2016 at 6:07 pm55 stars
                    You have to read it !
                    • abcSunday, February 28, 2016 at 12:07 pm
                      A must read book.