Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 6O5.58531
Born to a family of farmers, Lincoln stood out from an early age—literally! (He was six feet four inches tall.) As sixteenth President of the United States, he guided the nation through the Civil War and saw the abolition of slavery. But Lincoln was tragically shot one night at Ford’s Theater—the first President to be assassinated. Over 100 black-and-white illustrations and maps are included.
Hardcover, 104 pages
Published on November 20, 2008 by Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN-10: 0448478110
ISBN-13: 9780448478111
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jalen30214
    jalen30214Friday, October 18, 2019 at 5:53 am44 stars
    I think this book is good if you like to learn about Abraham Lincoln. It talks about his presidency, life, and struggles. The book also talks about him trying to stop the Civil War. The war eventually stops and the country is one again. I think you should read this book if you like Abraham Lincoln.
    • papasmurf
      papasmurfThursday, October 17, 2019 at 8:42 pm44 starsFeatured
      I gave this book a 4 because Abraham Lincoln was my favorite president and he was one of the best in my opinion. The books talks about Abraham Lincoln's presidency, life , and struggles. He lived during the Civil War, and had to try to stop it. He had 4 kids one died at age 4, and he was very sad. He didn't let it stop him from doing good in life. Finally he fought in the war to serve his country.
      • Earthen Vessel Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 11:20 pm
        I am an adult who wanted an overview of Abraham Lincoln's life before visiting his home in Springfield, Illinois, where he resided when he was elected U.S. President, as well as his tomb and the Abraham Lincoln Memorial Museum. Our 9-year-old son read this book and didn't put it down until finished, and then I found it to be more than a "kids book." It served as a resource beyond the overview I sought. Not only was I informed but engaged in the story of his life. (What quality basic storytelling!) It was also well-balanced, not trying to paint this great historic president as a a two-dimensional hero but detailing even his struggles both as an individual person and a politician who -- given the Civil War -- obviously wasn't popular with everyone. I asked my husband to also read the book, and he felt the same way. We both learned new facts about and gained new insights into Lincoln's life! I recommend this book for anyone at its reading level and BEYOND -- to parents and grandparents alike. It's nice for adults to have a very "easy read" that can be enriching!
        • tienaaaa
          tienaaaaWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 2:39 pm
          Abraham Lincoln was a really great man. I wish that I can be like him.
          • candyexpress
            candyexpressSaturday, April 4, 2015 at 3:01 pm
            Interesting and factual book about Lincoln, a good man.
            • ikyra_marie
              ikyra_marieSunday, March 9, 2014 at 3:14 pm
              really good book about the life and story of Abraham Lincoln.I love his hat lol
              • pompeiiluver
                pompeiiluverWednesday, February 12, 2014 at 5:36 pm
                amazing president and ended the civil war and was one of the most famous president next to washington,roosevelt,and Ronald reagan
                • neoncat
                  neoncatSaturday, February 1, 2014 at 6:18 pm55 stars
                  Abraham Lincoln is one of my favorite Presidents! I also recommend you want the movie Lincoln.
                  • ds57Friday, February 8, 2013 at 7:02 am
                    he is the sixteenth presedent and my best friend back then ya yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
                    • LolTuesday, February 5, 2013 at 10:15 am
                      He was a really good person