Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.57991
Even as a kid, everyone thought Jeff Kinney was talented. People loved his drawings, and when he went to college, his comic strip Igdoof was so popular that it spread to other universities! Still, Jeff faced challenges. His cartoons were rejected by syndicates that claimed his art was unprofessional. Then, an idea struck: Jeff would write a journal from the perspective of a child, illustrated with doodles just like a kid might do. And so, the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series was born--and it was a hit! In this biography, Jeff's brother, Patrick Kinney, provides a knowledgeable look at the life of this best-selling author/illustrator. From Jeff's childhood pranks to his job developing online games, kids will love the chance to learn more about the creator of the popular Wimpy Kid books.
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN-10: 0448486776
ISBN-13: 9780448486772
9 Book Reviews
  • gold3nglare
    gold3nglareThursday, January 7, 2021 at 10:18 am55 stars
    Jeff Kinney is so much like the goofy, self-centered, mischievous, yet loveable character he created, Greg Heffley. Jeff was made fun of by his older siblings, and felt like his little brother Patrick could get away with anything that he couldn't get away with when he was Patrick's age. But his childhood played a big role in who he is today.
    • holobook
      holobookFriday, December 18, 2020 at 7:29 am22 stars
      Great book. Good job,Patrick!
      • holobook
        holobookFriday, December 18, 2020 at 7:18 am22 stars
        I really like diary of a wimpy kid and decided to know more about the author. I love his books so much , most of my friends have it too . It is hilarious
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 10:21 am44 stars
          When Jeff was young he was the youngest of 3 kids . But Jeff was so happy when he found out how he would be a big brother and not the smallest one. Jeff and Patrick ( the little brother ) loved to hang out , tell jokes , and tell stories . All through out Jeff's life he tried very hard to be a cartoonist.he got to be in newspapers and worked very hard to try. You probably didn't know this but it took him like 8 years to write diary of a wimpy kid. Finally after so many years someone liked his work ( diary of a wimpy kid) and what do u know!? It became a huge hit!. I recommend this book to all ages and I rate this book 4/5 stars - Pizzagirl7 😉
          • lawalex
            lawalexTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 4:41 pm55 stars
            Like all the Who Was book, this entry to the series doesn't fail to disappoint! This biography of Jeff Kinny is a good read, and I was suprised about many things, such as Jeff’s friendship with the author of Big Nate.
            • you will neveMonday, May 14, 2018 at 7:57 am
              It was good.
              • mirsoftball8
                mirsoftball8Friday, October 20, 2017 at 6:30 pm44 stars
                This book is really good! It was my first 'who is' book and I really enjoyed it! Its about Jeff Kinney and how he grew up. Did you know that Jeff Kinney had 3 other siblings? Or that Jeff Kinney grew up in Fort Washington, Michigan? If you want to know WAY more answers to interesting questions like these, make sure to check out this book!
                • pikachu1228
                  pikachu1228Friday, June 10, 2016 at 6:06 pm
                  This is the first "Who is" book that I have read. Jeff Kinney is one go my favorite authors and I enjoyed this book which was written by his brother.
                  • jb_penguin12
                    jb_penguin12Sunday, October 25, 2015 at 3:57 pm
                    i want to read it so bad im waiting for my dad to get it