Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.913280

Award-winning author Sid Fleischman blends the broadly comic with the deeply compassionate in this memorable novel, winner of the Newbery Medal.

A Prince and a Pauper . . . Prince Brat and his whipping boy inadvertently trade places after becoming involved with dangerous outlaws. The two boys have nothing in common and even less reason to like each other. But when they find themselves taken hostage after running away, they are left with no choice but to trust each other. "A rollicking tale of adventure and mistaken identity . . . . Robust scenes and characters are vividly evoked."—Kirkus Reviews

This briskly told tale of high adventure, taut with suspense and rich with colorful characters, was named an ALA Notable Book. Sid Fleischman's celebrated novel features brief, action-packed chapters and includes black-and-white illustrations by Caldecott Honor artist Peter Sís. "An 18th century tale about the escapades of a resourceful orphan and a spoiled young prince. . . . Full of adventure, suspense, humor, and lively characters."—The New York Times

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Paperback, 96 pages
Published on April 15, 2003 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0060521228
ISBN-13: 9780060521226
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • riley_108
    riley_108Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:01 pm33 stars
    I gave this book a 3 star rating ,because the book was a little boring but, its about a boy and a prince escaping the tower together when two bad men kidnapped them both. Over all the book was i kinda disliked the book but it was interesting. I would recommend this book to some of my friends. These are some reasons you should read this book.
    • chello
      chelloTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 6:52 am11 star
      I read it during class, and by the time I finished the first chapter It was very boring and didn't want to read it anymore. But the characters can be likeable at sometimes.
      • fussyparasite08
        fussyparasite08Monday, July 4, 2016 at 6:25 am22 stars
        My mother asked me to read it. We are reading it together. Nearly finished. My favorite character in the book is Prince Brat. He is my favorite because he's funny, he brought his father's crown during his escape. It was cool that Jemmy felt bad for the Prince towards end because he wouldn't know how to survive in the wilderness. Hold-Your-Nose-Billy is a funny name and he stinks like garlic. Cutwater doesn't seem to smart.
        • hater7
          hater7Saturday, October 18, 2014 at 10:25 am55 stars
          I am reading this book in class. So far it's really good! I love to read books. This is one of my teachers favorite book. She kept them and saved the books for many, many, many, many, many years.
          • griffinally
            griffinallyThursday, January 23, 2014 at 9:26 am44 stars
            This book is about a boy who is ten years old an lives in a castle. He is a whipping boy who gets punished when a prince misbehaves. Then one day the prince and the whipping boy run away and get captured. Now there is a ransom. Will they die? I liked this book because the boys kind of became friends. My favorite part was when Cutwater and Hold-Your-Nose Billy got what they deserved in a gross cave. I would give this book 4 1/2 stars
            • headream100
              headream100Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at 11:34 pm
              It's a good book.
              • stellyelly1235
                stellyelly1235Wednesday, September 11, 2013 at 7:07 pm
                Good story
                • perenelle1
                  perenelle1Monday, July 16, 2012 at 7:33 pm
                  I like the happy ending! I felt so happy and merry at the end! My fav book in third grade!
                  • boulder
                    boulderTuesday, July 10, 2012 at 7:40 am22 stars
                    Its ok im happy we read it as a class. Thisis one of the only times i will say this but i liked the movie a little better.
                    • stellyelly1235
                      stellyelly1235Wednesday, September 11, 2013 at 7:16 pm
                      really I think the book is always better than the movie!