Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.975528

This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 376 pages
Published on March 8, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432838458
ISBN-13: 9781432838454
142 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:15 am44 stars
    This was a greAt but really sad book. It is about the true bound between 2 dogs and the dogs boy.....
    • dragonite36345
      dragonite36345Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:29 am55 stars
      Amazing, but it is also so sad. *sniffle*
      • prettychick
        prettychickSunday, September 27, 2020 at 2:48 pm55 stars
        This is a book about a ten year old buy who really wants two dogs, but not just any dogs, these special type of dogs. The book goes through of him spending two years to earn enough money to buy these two dogs he saw in a magazine ad. It is a really special book and I love it a lot because it is so heart warming. Try to read it if you can.
        • H_M_PFriday, September 25, 2020 at 10:39 am
          I cant wait to start reading it looks great!!!!
          • 96
            96Friday, September 25, 2020 at 9:42 am33 stars
            This book is really fun to read! Just wish the plot would make more sense through out the story
            • mercorn
              mercornFriday, September 25, 2020 at 7:14 am55 stars
              Where the red fern grows is a sad but good story it is about a boy and his dogs and all the fun times they had it is not a real story from life but i love it!!!
              • hockey_kid77
                hockey_kid77Monday, August 10, 2020 at 4:55 am55 stars
                I loved this book. The book is the author, Wilson Rawls own story with Billy Colman as the fictional character who wants nothing more than a pair of Redbone Coonhounds for hunting. After seeing a magazine ad for coonhounds, Billy spends the next two years working odd jobs to earn the $50 he needs to buy two puppies.
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 7:01 pm
                  Sad, but good, So emotional!
                  • riley_108
                    riley_108Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 8:45 pm44 stars
                    I gave this book a 4 star rating because it was a really good book I think it was a little emotional more twords the end of the book. You will have to read about it to find out why it it emotional. Its about a boy who had dreams about buying 2 puppies but his mom said that he had to save his own money so he could have enough money to buy them. He had to save up for 2 years! And when he gets the money he buys the dogs but something happens to one of the dogs! Read more about this book to find out what happens and why this book is emotional.
                    • eligra1920
                      eligra1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 6:07 am44 stars
                      Great review! Thank you for not adding spoilers, I think you can talk a little more about the dogs since the book revolves around them, bot other than that, amazing review!
                    • becca7500
                      becca7500Friday, January 10, 2020 at 10:36 am44 stars
                      it is sad but really good with a good theme.