Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.155415
It's been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future-and each other.

Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

Watch a Video

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 5, 2011 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525422943
ISBN-13: 9780525422945
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • victory
    victoryWednesday, March 21, 2018 at 2:40 pm55 stars
    This book is the best it made me cry, laugh, and die 30000000 times it was so awsome but Adam was not what I expected him to be
    • duhitzme33
      duhitzme33Monday, November 14, 2016 at 9:09 am11 star
      I didn't like this book that much. I thought it was too slow.
      • lifeexpert43
        lifeexpert43Monday, October 17, 2016 at 9:19 am11 star
        I thought it was really slow and boring. :(
        • borntoswim
          borntoswimMonday, August 15, 2016 at 9:03 pm55 stars
          Possibly one of my favorite books of all time. In my opinion, it was much better than the prior book, If I Stay, but you need to read that in order to understand this amazing novel. Told in Adam's point of view, as oppose to Mia's, it follows their tragic love story, three years later. At this time, both of their careers have skyrocketed and while they're both gaining popularity and very busy, the memory of the terrible incident they suffered through still remains very much alive. The reason I enjoyed this book so much, is because although it is a love story, it also explores, in depth, the dark side of the music industry and what fame can really do to a person, underneath the glamorous lifestyle. A must read!
          • alicew
            alicewThursday, January 28, 2016 at 5:09 am55 starsFeatured
            Where she went is the sequel to the book If I stay. This is one of my favorite duology that I've ever read. i really likt the author's way of writing these books. The characters emotions are so raw and you can feel like you are going through what the characters are going through. Tears and giggles will all happen while you read. The basic summury of this book is that after Mia's whole family died, she went on and started performing in New York. She broke up with Adam three years ago and started a new life. But on that special day, where they both happen to be in the exact same place, the two former lovers meet again. This book really gave a closure to the story of Mia and Adam. I like how the author is describing Adam's emotion because it's so real. You can actually feel the things that he is going through. The best thing about this book is that all of the events that happend in the book happened in one single day. I am so impressed by how she could write something so touching and relatable yet in just one scene. The whole book doesn't have a stopping point, it's a continuous story that you would never want to put down. I definetly recommend this book to teens, tweens or even adults, because at some point later in your life, you would experience what the characters have. I would suggest that you read the first book If I Stay first before reading this one.
            • vickyh
              vickyhTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 5:16 am55 starsFeatured
              This is the sequel to the book, If I Stay, which is one of my favorite books, and I have been looking forward to reading Where She Went ever since I finished reading the first one and it was just as incredible. If I Stay was written from Mia’s point of view and it was mostly about Mia struggling to make the decisions between staying alive or passing away, leaving the world behind, while Where She Went was written from Adam’s point of view, and it took place three years after the crash and Mia’s recovery and three years since Mia broke up with Adam. In this book, we get to experience Adam’s journey along the way, and somehow I can sympathize with him and understand his pain, despair and sadness. I love how he expressed his emotion, it was very relatable, because we all long for someone out of reach sometimes and I love how the story developed and how it ended and we finally had closure for Adam and Mia. Where She Went was a mixture of heart-breaking, anger, and excitement all at the same time. This story is recommended for teens that was in love with music, pure love at first sight. Gayle Forman is a fantastic author, I will continue reading her book, and collect all her series.
              • annmarie10
                annmarie10Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 1:18 pm55 stars
                one of my faveret books
                • maugustine
                  maugustineThursday, November 6, 2014 at 7:16 am
                  I watched the movie and i want to read the first book.
                  • zorba
                    zorbaFriday, August 29, 2014 at 10:38 am
                    I read If I Stay and I really want to know what happens, so I can't wait to read it! I hale it is as great as the last one!!!!!
                    • milg
                      milgFriday, August 1, 2014 at 10:11 am55 stars
                      The first one is write by the point of view of Mia and this is from the point of view of Adam, it's been three years since everything that happend in If i Stay; both have a succesful life, but in one night their destinys are conected again and they got a second chance, Will they take it?