Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.539253

This Newbery Medal winner that has a fantastic puzzle at its heart has been called “smart and mesmerizing,” (The New York Times), “superb” (The Wall Street Journal), and “incandescent” (The Washington Post).

When Miranda starts receiving mysterious notes, she doesn’t know what to do.

The notes tell her that she must write a letter, a true story, and that she can’t share her mission with anyone—not even her best friend, Sal.

It would be easy to ignore the strange messages, except that whoever is leaving them has an uncanny ability to predict the future. If that’s the case, then Miranda has an even bigger problem—because the notes tell her that someone is going to die, and she might be too late to stop it.

“Lovely and almost impossibly clever.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

Winner of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award for Fiction
A New York Times Bestseller and Notable Book

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on December 28, 2010 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375850864
ISBN-13: 9780375850868
161 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • diamond897
    diamond897Monday, May 25, 2020 at 1:54 pm55 stars
    This book was very good. It was about a girl who found notes in her pockets. She had no idea where they came from. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested.
    • spykitten
      spykittenSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 4:38 am55 stars
      In my opinion, this was a very clever book. Right when you think something will happen, the other thing happens. It messes with you head. I recommend this book.
      • applemango
        applemangoSaturday, May 16, 2020 at 4:02 pm55 stars
        Miranda and Sal have been friends, almost always, it seems. Miranda feels like she is a part of Sal and Sal a part of her. One day when they are walking to school they see a strange boy, that Miranda later knows is Marcus, and he suddenly, with a swift motion punches Sal. He doubles over, bruised and bleeding. From that they they drifted apart. Sal always playing basketball in the driveway and Miranda finding new friends, Annemarie and Colin. However, the most important character in this book is the laughing man. Someone is leaving Miranda mysterious notes predicting the future. He says ‘I am coming to save your friend’s life and my own.’ When Sal is going to get hit by a truck, the man(Marcus) saves him but kills himself. How the laughing man is Marcus? It doesn’t sense, yet what Marcus says brings a different perspective out. “Einstein says common sense is just habit of thought. It’s how we’re used to thinking things, but a lot of the time it just gets in the way.” So, does that mean time travel is possible? The old version and the young version of the same person can exist in the same time period? That gets me to wonder, is the future “me” living in the same time period as me?
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Monday, May 4, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
          I have read this one at least 4 times, and it is one of my favorites because it is a quick read, but also because it really makes your brain work. I was so confused about the whole time travel thing the first time, but now that I have read it more, it makes more sense. I still can't fully understand, but I love the story, and the characters too. Rebecca Stead is one of my favorite authors, and I recommend this and all of Rebecca Steads other books too!!
          • acalzoa
            acalzoaThursday, February 20, 2020 at 6:34 am55 stars
            I've to give this book a 5 star it's one of the best book I ever read there something about it's so good I love it I don't want to give it away.
            • gaychimpanzeWednesday, January 29, 2020 at 10:07 am
              awesome book
              • bnhalover1
                bnhalover1Friday, January 10, 2020 at 9:54 am55 stars
                best book I have read
                • applemango
                  applemangoSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:06 pm55 stars
                  This is a book about Miranda. Suddenly her best friend Sal gets punched by a boy named Marcus. Then they aren't friends anymore. Strange notes are arriving and Miranda trys to find who is sending them. Only, the crazy guy on the corner is going to save Sal's life because somehow, time travel is possible. Only the man's second goal to save his own life fails and he is dead. However, you know that he is a hero. Deep down there because he saved Sal from getting hit by that truck. Also the reason he keeps swinging his foot is he is always practicing to save Sal.
                  • inmemoryofcpr
                    inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 3:36 pm44 stars
                    This book was nicely written but it was also sorta confusing because even after I finished the book I still didn't get what happened with Miranda's best friend. But other than that it was very good and I would recommend it.
                    • Jacob SkibinskyWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 10:21 am
                      I Love This Book