Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.360218
A New York Times Bestseller
A National Book Award Finalist
An IndieBound Bestseller

This breathtaking, full-color illustrated fantasy is inspired by Chinese folklore, and is a companion to the Newbery Honor winner Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

Pinmei's gentle, loving grandmother always has the most exciting tales for her granddaughter and the other villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller.

Everyone knows that the Emperor wants something called the Luminous Stone That Lights the Night. Determined to have her grandmother returned, Pinmei embarks on a journey to find the Luminous Stone alongside her friend Yishan, a mysterious boy who seems to have his own secrets to hide. Together, the two must face obstacles usually found only in legends to find the Luminous Stone and save Pinmei's grandmother--before it's too late.

A fast-paced adventure that is extraordinarily written and beautifully illustrated, When the Sea Turned to Silver is a masterpiece companion novel to Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Starry River of the Sky.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on October 4, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 031612592X
ISBN-13: 9780316125925
12 Book Reviews
  • reapu
    reapuThursday, December 31, 2020 at 12:37 am44 stars
    “When the Sea Turned to Silver” is an amazing book that takes us into a story with Pinmei, her grandmother called the Storyteller, and a young boy called Yishan. Pinmei is a silent girl that can’t really talk in front of strangers, and only shows her personality to her grandmother (whom she called Amah). But one day, the Emperor takes Pinmei’s Amah away! Pinmei is confused and devastated. After Yishan saves her from her burning hut, the two embark on a perilous journey to save Amah and in search of the Luminous Stone That Lights The Night. They meet a beautiful woman named Lady Meng, ride a LongMa (a dragon horse), meet the Sea King, and find out so much stuff about old stories in China. And if you want to know the end of the story, Pinmei was reunited with her Amah, and Yishan actually was the Old Man of the Moon! Anyways, Grace Lin is an amazing author and I have to give this book 4 stars. Thanks for reading. - reapu
    • diamond897
      diamond897Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 7:02 pm55 stars
      This is very good book. I recommend reading it. Like other books similar to this one it is very adventerous. I recommend reading this book.
      • raindrop07
        raindrop07Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:42 am55 stars
        When the Sea Turned to Silver is a book about a girl named Pinmei and her adventures while trying to get her grandmother back from the evil Tiger Emperor. She journeys under the sea, meets many people, kind, wise, young and old, and shows courage on her journey. This is a amazing book and I loved reading it. Grace Lin is a exceptional writer and she captures the culture, landscape and time period perfectly in her writing.
        • amazingdounuts
          amazingdounutsThursday, February 6, 2020 at 6:05 am55 stars
          I really enjoyed this book and I think that ages 6-9 would like this book!
          • epic gamerSaturday, February 1, 2020 at 10:37 am
            this book is AMAZING! Honestly everyone should read this book to me it is a 20 out of 10 and you should definetly read it
            • awex
              awexThursday, January 30, 2020 at 5:46 pm11 star
              I think this book is one of the best books I have ever read. This book is about an emperor that is trying to become immortal and in doing that kidnaps Pinmei's grandmother, Amah, so Pinmei and her friend Yishan go to save her. Along the way, they meet new friends, make enemies, and test their friendship. My favorite thing about this book is the way it is written. Throughout the book, there are stories to tell about the past and how that is connected to what is happening in the present. I would totally recommend this book to anyone that likes adventure and an amazing plot.
              • king4fun
                king4funThursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:06 am11 star
                100 out of 10 books. I love that the climax because it has a lot of suspense and excitement. The ending is nice and not a cliff hanger. Plus the storyline actually makes sense. It is about an emperor that wants to take over everything, luckily there are 2 kids that want to save their grandmother, read the book to know more! Also, read the sequels.
                • bobittybob
                  bobittybobThursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:05 am
                  This is a very exciting book, and it is filled with detailed stories. Two children, Pinmei and Yishan, journey far away to a kingdom ruled by a madman emperor. They set out to save Pinmei's grandmother and save china from the immortality obsessed emperor. This book was nice because it had many things at the beginning of the story that seemed to be loose ends. But, in the end, everything in the book made sense. One of the reasons I didn't like this book was because one of the characters had a storyline that didn't complete. I didn't get a clear picture of what happened to her, just little pieces. Overall, this book was really good, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is interested in Chinese mythology, or thrilling stories.
                  • shenhao
                    shenhaoThursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:00 am55 stars
                    This is such a great book! The climax is so exciting and I just love the author of this book, her other books are also really good like "Where the Mountain Meets the Moon" and "Starry River of the Sky". You should absolutely 100% read this book! This book is full of Chinese Folklore and Mythology and I just can't put it down! I like how it uses mythology to shape this book into a masterpiece, Its plot is very interesting and I recommend it to everyone!
                    • king4fun
                      king4funThursday, January 30, 2020 at 6:54 am11 star
                      11 out of 10 book. A great climax is exciting and not boring. I love how the storyline actually makes sense. It will let you connect to Chinese culture, and spread out. I think you should read the other books like, "The stary river" and "Where the mountain meets the moon.