Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.343218
For years, 10-year-old Zelly Fried has tried to convince her parents to let her have a dog. After all, practically everyone in Vermont owns a dog, and it sure could go a long way helping Zelly fit in since moving there from Brooklyn. But when her eccentric grandfather Ace hatches a ridiculous plan involving a "practice dog" named OJ, Zelly's not so sure how far she's willing to go to win a dog of her own. Is Ace's plan so crazy it just might work . . . or is it just plain crazy?

Erica S. Perl weaves an affectionate and hilarious tale that captures the enduring bond between grandparents and grandchildren. Even when they're driving each other nuts.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on June 14, 2011 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375859241
ISBN-13: 9780375859243
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hovydofibe
    hovydofibeThursday, November 2, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
    I loved this book !!!!!!! it was so good !!! Zelly and OJ are my favorite characters !
    • tasagukawo
      tasagukawoWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 7:52 am55 stars
      I just finished when life gives you O.J. It was amazing! It was sad, funny, and crazy. I hope you read it and enjoy it as much as I did.
      • znayaWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 12:19 pm
        got that book;3#########$$$$$$$*****elly Fried wants a dog but her grandpa and parents say she cant have one. Her grandpa gave her oj. He was a practice dog. Yup he was and he was and orange juice jug. Will Zelly get a dog?
        • wifafotaki
          wifafotakiWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:14 am55 stars
          zelly fried wants a dog but her parents say no her grandpa gives her a practice dog as a orange jucie jug
          • wifafotakiWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:11 am
            zelly fried want a dog and her grandpa gives her a practice dog which was a orange juice jug
            • hovydofibe
              hovydofibeWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:03 am55 stars
              Olivia I loved this book !!!!!!! it was so good !!! Zelly and OJ are my favorite characters !
              • mckenzi3
                mckenzi3Saturday, May 9, 2015 at 6:47 am
                Zelly Fried wants a dog but her grandpa and parents say she cant have one. Her grandpa gave her oj. He was a practice dog. Yup he was and he was and orange juice jug. Will Zelly get a dog?
                • cheermagic
                  cheermagicFriday, September 26, 2014 at 6:12 pm
                  what is the easiest way to get a book
                  • 146354
                    Mrs. EdmisonFriday, September 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm55 stars
                    it is a great way to teach a lessons i did this with my class to see if they are ready for a class pet turn out they are read the book to learn and share the lessons
                    • ikyra_marie
                      ikyra_marieSaturday, March 15, 2014 at 5:17 pm
                      lol the title is cute.