"When Did You See Her Last?" (All the Wrong Questions)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 6 - 8V5.2n/a
Before the Baudelaires became orphans, before he encountered A Series of Unfortunate Events, even before the invention of Netflix, Lemony Snicket was a boy discovering the mysteries of the world.

I should have asked the question "How could someone who was missing be in two places at once?" Instead, I asked the wrong question -- four wrong questions, more or less. This is the account of the second.

In the fading town of Stain'd-by-the-Sea, young apprentice Lemony Snicket has a new case to solve when he and his chaperone are hired to find a missing girl. Is the girl a runaway? Or was she kidnapped? Was she seen last at the grocery store? Or could she have stopped at the diner? Is it really any of your business? These are All The Wrong Questions.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 15, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316123056
ISBN-13: 9780316123051
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 5 starsTuesday, March 6, 2018 at 9:35 am
    it's cool
    • KmendezMonday, December 4, 2017 at 5:48 pm
      I think the book is great and that all kids should read it is one of the best books you will ever read. And my brother chase just started reading it and he loves the mistery.
      • pinevowivupeda
        pinevowivupedaFriday, December 1, 2017 at 2:03 pm
        A lesson that the main character learned was to make sure that you know all of the information before you start trying to solve the mystery. For example, Lemony Snicket was trying to solve a mystery about a young girl named Cleo Knight. Ellington Feint was pretending to be the girl. Snicket should have about if there were people disguised as Cleo Knight. If he did, Snicket would've solved the mystery way sooner. Additionally, Lemony used a recourse, Jake Hix to help him find the young woman. What lemony Snicket didn't know, was that Lake Hix knew where Cleo Knight was the whole time. If Snicket interrogated Jake Hix, he would know exactly where Cleo Knight was and he wouldn't have to go through all this trouble to find Cleo. In conclusion, if Lemony Snicket thought about everything he would need to know before solving the mystery, he would have been done with it in a jiffy. I would rate this book a, "9 out of 10" and the illustrations a, "6 out of 10" I would definatly recommend this book because the story-line makes it ok to read any of the volumes in the series, first. Also, the action and tedious parts are timed perfectly. One unanswered question I would like to ask the main
        • olopolobear125
          olopolobear125Friday, April 28, 2017 at 2:31 pm55 stars
          This is a very good book about wherre lemony snicket is hired to to find Cleo Knight and stop hangfire from kidnapping every child in staind by the sea.
          • alexhunts209
            alexhunts209Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 12:24 pm55 stars
            It had a great cliff-hanger ending and perfect suspense. I highly reccomend this book to anybody who is looking for something to read!
            • eyp
              eypMonday, October 3, 2016 at 7:38 am44 stars
              With many mysteries twists and turns.
              • memoiloveit
                memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 11:37 am
                Like all of the books in the all the wrong questions series, this book has a hooking mystery and definitely the sequel. I liked this specific mystery compared to the other ones
                • dem_lulz
                  dem_lulzTuesday, May 12, 2015 at 11:45 am
                  Ok so I didn't really read this but I want to because in the first book it left everyone at a cliff hanger at the end where the girl goes to this abandoned ink factory.
                  • poopnuggetSunday, November 30, 2014 at 5:56 pm
                    good book
                    • penguin313
                      penguin313Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 4:31 pm55 stars
                      A great book. It was a good mystery and a good sequel to the first book. I had been waiting to read this book but never got to until now, and I'm glad I did.