Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.127788
We weren't planning to mess up the fairy tales. The first two times we did it by accident. But when our magic mirror pulls us into the story of the Little Mermaid, we have no choice but to try and rewrite it. Let's just say the original story does NOT end happily!

Now we need to:
- Convince our mermaid to keep her tail
- Plan a royal wedding
- Avoid getting eaten by sharks

We've got to find a happy ending for the Little Mermaid . . . before she's fish food and we're lost at sea forever!
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on March 25, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545415705
ISBN-13: 9780545415705
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccswishingstar
    ccswishingstarWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 5:53 pm33 stars
    This time, the magic mirror pulls them into the fairy tale of the Little Mermaid! But, the original story doesn't end happily, so Abby and Jonah decide to try to mess up the story to rewrite it! Now they need to 1) Convince the little mermaid to not give up her tail for legs. 2) Plan a royal wedding. 3) Avoid getting eaten by sharks. 4) Convince the sea witch to reverse the spells on the little mermaid.
    • rina123aaa
      rina123aaaSunday, July 14, 2019 at 9:36 am55 stars
      Vacation? Not really. Mission? Not really! What is this? An adventure, duh! So fun. I loved it! I think it is cool! The little mermaid mixed with some ordinary kids, I could not stop reading it!
      • natcat12
        natcat12Saturday, June 8, 2019 at 10:27 am55 stars
        Wow, Sarah Mlynowski this is an amazing book. In this book the story is the little mermaid. When Abby and Jonah ruin the story what will happen?
        • marrigold137
          marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:24 pm44 stars
          I thought that this book was a good cross between Disney's "The Little Mermaid " and the original Grimm ( both literally and figurally ) version . The friendship between the two girls was heart-warming. I really liked this book and will continue to read the series.
          • maireMonday, May 20, 2019 at 3:36 pm
            I love this book as much as candy! I like what abby likes.
            • chloe luceroWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm
              i love this book so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so much
              • butterfly13
                butterfly13Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 7:12 am
                i have one thing to say about this book.... 😁
                • komal10
                  komal10Friday, November 11, 2016 at 4:38 pm
                  it is a really good book and is a fractured tale but not a fairy tale because it is a chapter book
                  • waterxicew0lf
                    waterxicew0lfMonday, October 24, 2016 at 9:03 pm33 stars
                    I liked this book because this story talks about Abby and Jonah travel to the story of The Little Mermaid. This is a very interesting story and is one of the most popular fairy tales. I wish to read more!
                    • sophiazhang123
                      sophiazhang123Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                      I read this book "upside down" and I also read the other books in this series. I LOVE IT!! IT is SOOOO Fun. I totally recommend this series to those who don't know what to read. It is basically about Abby and her brother getting slurped up by the mirror and end up into different fairy tales. Such as Ariel, Cinderalla and much more