Gracie has never felt like this before. One day, she suddenly can’t breathe, can’t walk, can’t anything—and the reason is standing right there in front of her, all tall and weirdly good-looking: A.J.

But it turns out A.J. likes not Gracie but Gracie’s beautiful best friend, Sienna. Obviously Gracie is happy for Sienna. Super happy! She helps Sienna compose the best texts, responding to A.J.’s surprisingly funny and appealing texts, just as if she were Sienna. Because Gracie is fine. Always! She’s had lots of practice being the sidekick, second-best.

It’s all good. Well, almost all. She’s trying.

Funny and tender, Well, That Was Awkward goes deep into the heart of middle school, and finds that even with all the heartbreak, there can be explosions of hope and moments of perfect happiness.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0670013080
ISBN-13: 9780670013081
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookqueen1o13
    bookqueen1o13Tuesday, May 9, 2017 at 3:18 pm55 stars
    i got this book when i entered the contest for see you in the cosmos but the editor run out of copies so i got this instead it was sad that i did not get see you in the cosmos but once i opened the book i knew it was going to be one of the best books i had ever read the the people in the book Gracie: the one thats always happy but is secretly insecure of her being. crushes on Aj for most the book sienna: loving kind shy sporty Gracies best friend Aj; sporty funny cute (everyone has a crush on him) Emmett: everybody's friend nice sweet funny crushes on Gracie lightning: gracies pet tortoise that gets lost at the park and the search for her brings all of gracies friends back together fast Riley: ugh spoiled self obsessed no one like her she thinks everyone loves her tho fluffy: emmets pet rabbit that races with lightning (lightning wins) bret: gracies sister who die when she was seven
    • generalchris101
      generalchris101Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 4:55 pm
      I LOVE LOVE LOVED this book. I re-read it, and LOVED it again. I would think my favorite character is Emmet. Ill leave yours up to u. 0.0 <>
      • lrohne24
        lrohne24Monday, January 9, 2017 at 6:55 pm44 starsFeatured
        Gracie is an eighth grader who is an only child; her sister had died before she was born. She is best friends with Sienna, and is friends with AJ and Emmett as well. On a field trip one day, Gracie starts having a crush on AJ; she has trouble walking and breathing normal when this crush first develops. Unfortunately for Gracie, AJ turns out to like Sienna instead. Of course, Gracie is disappointed, but decides to help Sienna, just like a true friend would. Gracie helps Sienna respond to texts from AJ, and ends up doing most of the texts for Sienna. One of Gracie's birthday presents is a necklace from Emmett. She wonders if Emmett possibly has a crush on her, but she has always thought of Emmett as just a friend, and thought Emmett had thought the same. In this novel, Gracie learns more about family, friendship, and love. I feel Rachel Vail did a great job drawing the reader into the he emotion of the characters. I recommend this book to ages 10+.
        • penguin313
          penguin313Wednesday, December 28, 2016 at 8:37 pm55 stars
          Gracie is an eighth grade girl who is a bundle of joy to her family. She appears to be happy-go-lucky, and is best friends with her classmate. In the book, she develops a crush on her friend A.J., who in turn has a crush on Sienna. Gracie writes texts for Sienna to A.J., and A.J.'s responses sound like they came from their witty friend and Gracie's neighbor Emmet. Gracie also feels the pressures of mean girl Riley, the death of her sister Brooke years before she was born, and helps chatterbox Dorin by becoming friends with her. With tortoises, field trips and operas, this book was very interesting and was a good modernization of Cyrano de Bergerac.
          • happypug12
            happypug12Tuesday, December 27, 2016 at 6:07 pm55 starsFeatured
            Well, That Was Awkward is one of the best books I've read in awhile. I received it as part of the Advanced Reading program, and this review is based on uncorrected text. Well, That Was Awkward stars Gracie, a thirteen-but-almost-fourteen year old girl whose sister Bret died before she was born. She desperately wants a tortoise, loves bagels, and most importantly, her best friend, Sienna, who totally deserves it, is liked by Gracie's secret crush, AJ. Not that Gracie isn't happy for Sienna. She totally is. Sienna's sporty and awesome and lovable, she and AJ are perfect for each other. Right? And what about Emmet, Gracie's long-time guy best friend. He can't possibly like-like her. Never. Gonna. Happen. Right? I loved this book; and I love Gracie because I feel like I am Gracie. The best thing about her is how relatable I feel to her, as if I'm in her shoes and I've gone through every awkward struggle. When Gracie's in trouble I feel guilty. When she cries I want to cry with her. I couldn't put this book down until the last page, and I desperately need a sequel. Rachel has masterfully created one of my new favorite books, and I recommend this to all ages or anyone who has ever felt awkward, ever.
            • maddyp18
              maddyp18Monday, December 26, 2016 at 7:49 pm55 starsFeatured
              Gracie Grant is fourteen years old and best friends with Sienna Reyes. At school, Gracie hangs out with Sienna, AJ Rojanasopondist, and Emmett Barnaby. In this book, Gracie starts to have a crush on AJ, but when it turns out that AJ actually likes Sienna, not Gracie, Gracie decides to be the #1 best friend. Gracie helps Sienna come up with smart things to text to AJ, and she gets over her crush. Or does she? But there is also Emmett, and Gracie has to decide who she actually likes: AJ, or Emmett? You will love this clever, funny, captivating story that you won't be able to stop reading! Gracie is confident, funny, bright, caring, and she doesn't care what people think of her. My favorite part is when Gracie loses her pet turtle, lightning, and she gets Emmett to help her find him. Emmett is really helpful, and calls over all of their friends to help. With the help, they eventually find Lightning. I recommend this book to middle schoolers. I hope you love this book as much as I did!
              • snicker9
                snicker9Sunday, December 25, 2016 at 6:42 pmFeatured
                This was an interesting day for Gracie. She was just on a field trip with her friends, and everything was going the same as ever. Then something happens. Her friend, AJ, laughs at one of her jokes and her stomach...flurries? She’s never felt like this before. It takes all her concentration to remember to breathe, to walk, to act natural. But before she even has the time to evaluate her feelings, she finds out AJ likes Sienna, one of the most beautiful girls in school-who also happens to be Gracie’s best friend. Of course, Gracie is ecstatic for Sienna. At least she tries to act like it. Inside she doesn’t know what she’s feeling. Soon she is helping dictating response texts, and helping Sienna in different ways. Of course, this is middle school and the always changing loyalties and drama soon is in full swing! I felt like this was a very realistic book, dealing with friendships, and boy/girl relationships, but also focusing partly on family relationships. Gracie's older sister died several years before Gracie was born, and so a lot of times Gracie feels like she has to be "perfect" for her parents. This book also touches areas of grief, and dealing with death. An interesting part was the format of this book. Some chapters were written as text between characters, which I fell helped move along the story and character interactions. I recommend this book to realistic fiction lovers, probably around middle school age, as that is the age range in the book. Some high-schoolers would probably enjoy it as well. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                thenoobquax

                How do you actually like Firesta...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                thenoobquax

                Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                livlovesdogs

                People are not gonna like me but...
                Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                livlovesdogs

                It was really good especially si...
                Illuminate: A Gilded Wings Novel...