Warriors: Omen of the Stars #1: The Fourth Apprentice

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.471638

After the sharp-eyed jay and the roaring lion, peace will come. . . .

Four warrior Clans have shared the land around the lake as equals for many moons. But a prophecy foretells that three ThunderClan cats will hold the power of the stars in their paws. Jayfeather and Lionblaze know that they are two of the cats in the prophecy. Now the brothers must wait for a sign from StarClan to discover the identity of the third cat.

Meanwhile, Dovekit and Ivykit—kin of the great leader Firestar—are poised to become ThunderClan apprentices. Soon one sister will have an ominous dream—and will begin to realize that she possesses mystical skills unmatched by any other cat.

In the midst of a cruel season that threatens the lives of all four warrior Clans, bonds will be forged, promises made, and three young cats will start to unravel the secrets that bind them together.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on November 24, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061555096
ISBN-13: 9780061555091
22 Book Reviews
  • LeafsongMonday, March 1, 2021 at 9:59 pm
    An amazing book but I sorta don't like Dovepaw, I feel like she gets too much credit :p
    • WarriorcatloverTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 2:39 pm
      I love this book . Really sad about firestar but yeah awsome book!!!
      • warriorcatskid
        warriorcatskidTuesday, January 26, 2021 at 1:15 pm55 stars
        An amazing book!
        • Joan CrawfordMonday, December 28, 2020 at 2:18 pm
          My favorite book, ever. Sad, depressing, and heartwarming. You can never put it down, even at 2 in the morning.
          • thistle912
            thistle912Saturday, June 27, 2020 at 5:03 pm55 stars
            A compelling story of friendship and adventure...thrilling, impossible to put down, and a great book! An ancient prophecy has foretold that three chosen cats will defeat a terrible force of evil, and save the warrior Clans who have lived for generations beside a lake. The third cat is yet to be discovered...and must go on a quest before proving herself to be the one who will complete the prophecy. Dovepaw is an apprentice with a special power she doesn’t understand. Lionblaze and Jayfeather, the other two prophesied cats, want to help prepare her for a great destiny. But when one of the other Clans is on the brink of starvation, they must use their special powers...and go on an unimaginable journey through unknown territory—creating everlasting bonds that can never be broken. Dovepaw’s loyalty and dedication is put to the test as her destiny takes shape. Can she survive the quest? Read this book to find out!
            • JayfeatherSunday, May 3, 2020 at 8:49 am
              This book is amazing. (To me very warriors book is amazing. I've got an adicton. Read 42 books.
              • chathena
                chathenaSaturday, January 27, 2018 at 8:32 pm55 stars
                I've finished yesterday and I loved it!!
                • justbob007
                  justbob007Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
                  I think this book is ONE OF THE BEST WARRIORS BOOKS EVER!!!!!! Its full of adventure. I Would recommend this book to anyone. I have read all of the Warriors books before, and most of them aren't as good as this one, so I give this book 5 stars!!! :) :) :)
                  • baydenSunday, October 15, 2017 at 4:00 pm
                    you should toadaly read the warriors books 🐱‍👤🐱‍💻😜
                    • sat3Thursday, August 4, 2016 at 12:28 am
                      I. Hate. Dovepaw. Even if I sympathize with her for having such a huge destiny, she came off as quite whiny, and not a likeable character ( This is only my opinion. If you life Dovepaw, that's okay. Everyone has different opinions, and I am just sharing mine ) . Jayfeather was great, Lionblaze was meh, even though Ivypaw was a bit annoying, I sympathize with her, I liked Whitetail, Sedgewhisker, Petalfur, and Rippletail, I didn't care about Toadfoot, and Tigerheart just annoyed me. He acts like a kit. I am not a huge fan of books where all cats do is travel. Those three kittypets and Woody came off as quite oblivious and annoying. But Jayfeather's parts were cool, the beaver fight was invigorating, it ended on a cliff hanger, and it is home to one off the best quotes in Warrior Cat history. " Who are you, and what have you done with Blackstar?" 😂 3.5/5.