Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.475314

The first book of a thrilling prequel arc in Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series! In the action-packed Dawn of the Clans arc, discover how the warrior Clans came to be. Long before Firestar left his kittypet home to join ThunderClan, a band of cats from the mountains set off on a dangerous journey in search of a new home. . . .

Dawn of the Clans #1: The Sun Trail delivers all the epic adventure and thrilling fantasy that Warriors fans have come to expect. This prequel arc is the perfect introduction for new Warriors readers—and a long-awaited tale of the origins of the Clans that will thrill dedicated Erin Hunter fans!

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on March 15, 2016 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062410008
ISBN-13: 9780062410009
41 Book Reviews
  • JayfeatherTuesday, August 11, 2020 at 12:20 pm
    Love love love love love love love dis book!!!!!!! I love Warriors. This is THE DAWN OF THE CLANS! ITS DIFFERENT! Different but awesome. I've read all of dawn of the Clans
    • magicalmythical
      magicalmythicalWednesday, August 5, 2020 at 5:16 pm11 star
      I really don't like this book and neither the series because it doesn't seem interesting, so I'm sorry but I have to give this book a 1 star.
      • thistle912
        thistle912Thursday, July 9, 2020 at 9:02 am55 stars
        An amazing story...engaging, enthralling, and nicely written, this book brings life to the animal world. Terrific! Gray Wing is faced with an impossible decision; friendship or kin? He is one cat in a group of many...but this one choice will change him, his life, and everything he’s ever known. When the leader of his group decides that they will move to a new place, Gray Wing’s mother and his sister, Fluttering Bird, decide that they want to stay behind. Stay or leave? Leave or stay? It preys on his thoughts every day. When he decides to leave, he learns that the cats may not be prepared for the dangers. Hazards lurk on every path...and as some cats are injured or killed, Gray Wing wonders if he made the right choice after all. Can he make the journey, when so many others didn’t? Read this book to find out!
        • warriorsgirl11
          warriorsgirl11Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 3:57 pm55 stars
          This book is the start of the prequel of how the Clans came to be. I never know the ansesters came from mountains. I'm dying to know when the actual battle starts!
          • ccswishingstar
            ccswishingstarTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:38 pm55 stars
            I love this series!!!! This book is about some cats that live in the wild and some of them leave their mountain home to find a place with more prey (their food, birds, squirrels, voles). They follow the sunrise to the place the Stoneteller( the cats' leader) dreamed of.
            • marinaFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:02 am
              lol
              • marinaFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:02 am
                i am abousultely loving it
                • MarinaWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:54 am
                  Loved the book was so amazing and by that way I'm in with grade
                  • ravenclaw35
                    ravenclaw35Monday, February 12, 2018 at 4:50 am
                    Everyone in my class is reading the series! I hate the books.
                    • Spottedleaf Sunday, February 11, 2018 at 10:01 am
                      This book is awesome! It brings you into the Tribe, and the beginning of the Clans. It also expands on the cats at that time, like Gray Wing. You can also learn about all the learning, and in my opinion it’s a little more interesting because you can know what happened in the past. Anyways you can know a lot of the StarClan members! 😂😂😂 Knowing how the names of the clans was great too, learning about Moth Wing was also helpful about the background of the clans. These cats were beasiccly completely new to what the Clans do today, so you get to learn along with them. The battles kits warriors, and everything else just seem even more interesting than regular. It tells you history if SkyClan, and everything. The details, the action. That’s what makes it an amazing book. This one made me cry.