Warriors #2: Fire and Ice (Warriors: The Prophecies Begin)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.471216

Deep in the heart of the forest, four clans of warrior cats coexist in uneasy harmony -- but uncertain times are upon them, and dangers threaten the precarious balance of the forest.

Fireheart is a ThunderClan warrior cat now, but his troubles are far from over. As the chill of winter sets in, the cats of rival RiverClan grow restless, while WindClan is weak and facing threats from all sides.

As tensions build to an explosive climax, Fireheart faces not only imminent battle, but betrayal from within his own Clan.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on May 27, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060000031
ISBN-13: 9780060000035
122 Book Reviews
  • mnbffyyh
    mnbffyyhTuesday, March 2, 2021 at 10:10 am
    It’s really adventurous and really exciting and when it’s done you just can’t wait until what happens next.
    • emmynya
      emmynyaMonday, January 4, 2021 at 11:47 am55 stars
      As Fireheart tries to warn Bluestar about Tigerclaw, the cats of ThunderClan must rescue WindClan and bring them back to their own camp. This book is really good because it has mystery and magic.
      • reader56
        reader56Friday, August 7, 2020 at 8:34 am55 stars
        It is a good fiction book and I recommend it because it is the second book of a new great series
        • thistle912
          thistle912Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 10:24 am55 stars
          There have always been four warrior Clans, just like there are four trees at the clearing where they gather. But now, the cats don’t know if this is true. One of the Clans has become more power-hungry than ever, and the forest is on the brink of destruction. Every cat from the Clans must fight—or die. In the midst of all this pandemonium, a young warrior named Fireheart is keeping a terrible secret; Tigerclaw, a cat from his Clan, has killed the former second-in-command—or deputy—taking the role for himself. And to make matters worse, he also tried to kill his own apprentice, Ravenpaw! But Fireheart and his friend Graystripe helped Ravenpaw escape to a place where he would be safe. Then, a new disaster strikes the Clans; a deadly cough is spreading through them...but how will they prevent it? Fireheart struggles to survive in a Clan that is ravaged by illness, especially when he knows he must help out with the sick cats. That loyalty will never go away—no matter what. Meanwhile, Graystripe has been seeing a she-cat from another Clan, which is forbidden, but Fireheart doesn’t want to get his friend in trouble. Should he really tell his leader, like a loyal warrior would do? Or should he do what he thinks is right? The decision is almost impossible. Which one will he choose? Read this book to find out!
          • cr4td4l
            cr4td4lWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 9:38 pm55 stars
            This book is great!
            • warriorsgirl11
              warriorsgirl11Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 3:38 pm
              I was dying to know what happened next- and here it is! Fireheart tries to unveal the trechery of Tigerclaw, while his friend Graystripe is going out to see Silverstream, a RiverClan warrior! I wonder how their love will turn out. Will one cat join another Clan? Will they run away? I think the end is going to be in book 3. Secrets like that are hard to keep.
              • Raven pawWednesday, June 26, 2019 at 3:29 pm
                This is my favourite book in the 1 series tbh Idk why I like it I guess there’s battle frist book where fire heart was a warrior full time yeah I like it a lot of action Graystripe falls in life be with Silverstream it is very AWSOME book probably will be my favourite warrior book also it’s the frist time in the books that windclan was there totally recommend
                • moonkitti
                  moonkittiThursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:47 am55 stars
                  Twolegs. Up-walkers. No furs. Who knew that we get called so many names by cats+dogs *survivers*
                  • ccswishingstar
                    ccswishingstarWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:00 pm55 stars
                    I love this series, as I have said many times before, and I really recommend this book. (DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE FIRST BOOK IN THIS SERIES: INTO THE WILD.) In Fire and Ice, Firepaw recieves what he wanted when he had left his kittypet life. Firepaw and his friend, Graypaw, become warriors and took on their warrior names, Fireheart and Graystripe.
                    • zzayumi
                      zzayumiSunday, May 19, 2019 at 4:18 pm55 stars
                      Just like the first book, I loved the second book! Like the first book, the lesson was friendship. It is a really good book, and I am always really admired of Erin Hunter's books.