Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U4.637100

Twelve-year-old Molly and her ten-year-old brother, Michael, have never liked their seven-year-old stepsister, Heather. Ever since their parents got married, she's made Molly and Michael's life miserable. Now their parents have moved them all to the country to live in a house that used to be a church, with a cemetery in the backyard. If that's not bad enough, Heather starts talking to a ghost named Helen and warning Molly and Michael that Helen is coming for them. Molly feels certain Heather is in some kind of danger, but every time she tries to help, Heather twists things around to get her into trouble. It seems as if things can't get any worse.

But they do -- when Helen comes.

Paperback
Published on April 21, 2008 by Sandpiper
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Saturday, August 4, 2018 at 5:44 pm55 starsFeatured
    Wait Till Helen Comes brings me a delightful shiver every time I read it! I really like the author Mary Downing Hahn because she writes kid's ghost stories. Molly and Michael live with their terrible new stepsister, Heather. When their parents move out into the woods, things turn from bad to worse. Molly is sure something supernatural is up: how couldn't there be, they live next to a graveyard! Then Molly has the most horrifying experience in her life: she watches Heather become best friends with a ghost. She tries to help Heather, but the master of the mouth always makes it look like Molly is hurting her! One night things go too far: the house is in ruins, and then Heather turns up missing! Where did she go? The only way to know: to read the book! --BKS
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:38 pm55 stars
      This is a bone-chilling goodie, too. Everything I love in a ghost story: creepy little girls, hidden graves, faces in windows, crumbling ruins in the woods, even a dark and murky pond. Brrrrr!! A bit dated, but none-the-less, a gem of a read right before Halloween
      • Sally .s.Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 11:34 am
        It is really spectacular beacause it is really scary and I love scary books😀
        • peaches21
          peaches21Thursday, April 13, 2017 at 9:03 am
          i read the other ones and they r good
          • emojis_rule_202
            emojis_rule_202Friday, March 17, 2017 at 11:27 am
            I really want to read this book, but I haven't.
            • ElephantLover1Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:04 am
              This book is suspenseful it makes you wait to see what happens so you just want to keep reading it! I loved this book! It is the best book I've ever read. The author Mary Downing Haun is my favorite author. She writes the best books! I read Wait till helen comes 8 times cause the first couple times i read the book it was really good, but when i read it after that i realized i missed a lot of details!
              • princessdope
                princessdopeSunday, November 6, 2016 at 4:49 am
                This author is awesome! This book seems great ! I want to read it so bad!
                • soccergirl43
                  soccergirl43Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 3:50 pm
                  O M G ! This book is so good I read it with my fourth grade teacher . Mary downing Hahn is a great author and has written more great books
                  • princessdope
                    princessdopeSunday, November 6, 2016 at 4:50 am
                    I agree! Have you read her new book " Took" ?
                  • soccerlover1511
                    soccerlover1511Friday, September 16, 2016 at 12:56 pm
                    This book is amazing love the author too
                    • tarynw
                      tarynwThursday, June 16, 2016 at 1:30 pm
                      I'm in the middle of this it is so scary. Not the type of bedtime story I like. Good book, though.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      SPACE MaN wrote:

                      when i get there they are gone.
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      t.u wrote:

                      This book is very funny! I laugh...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      Peter100 wrote:

                      I love it
                      Wonder

                      name wrote:

                      this book was gucci
                      Hatchet

                      Our Apps and Plugins