A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.


★ An NPR Best Book of the Year
★ A Booklist Best Book of the Year
★ An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of the Year
★ A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
★ A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
★ A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
★ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of the Year
★ An ALA Notable Children's Book

“This exquisite debut confronts injustice and doesn’t flinch.” —People

“[A] powerful debut . . . beautifully written.” —The Wall Street Journal

Wrenching and true. . . . comparisons to Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird will abound. But Wolk gives us her own story—one full of grace and stark, brutal beauty.” —The New York Times Book Review

“When reviewers draw a parallel between Mockingbird and Lauren Wolk's Wolf Hollow, they are being neither hyperbolic, nor lazy. They are merely doing justice to Wolk's beautiful story.” — NPR, Best Books of 2016

Growing up in the shadows cast by two world wars, Annabelle has lived a mostly quiet, steady life in her small Pennsylvania town. Until the day new student Betty Glengarry walks into her class. Betty quickly reveals herself to be cruel and manipulative, and while her bullying seems isolated at first, things quickly escalate, and reclusive World War I veteran Toby becomes a target of her attacks. While others have always seen Toby’s strangeness, Annabelle knows only kindness. She will soon need to find the courage to stand as a lone voice of justice as tensions mount.

Brilliantly crafted, Wolf Hollow is a haunting tale of America at a crossroads and a time when one girl’s resilience, strength, and compassion help to illuminate the darkest corners of our history.

“The honesty of Wolf Hollow will just about shred your heart, but Annabelle’s courage and compassion will restore it to you, fuller than before. This book matters.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

“An evocative setting, memorable characters, a searing story: Wolf Hollow has stayed with me long after I closed the book. It has the feel of an instant classic." —Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1101994827
ISBN-13: 9781101994825
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • forenna
    forennaWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 9:31 pm55 stars
    this is the most awesomeness book in the world. I meant awesome. Still, I really loved the way the story goes. I have so many emotions!
    • rah-rah
      rah-rahFriday, August 4, 2017 at 4:54 am
      I LOVE this book. I was very happy when I finished reading it.
      • nascarlover
        nascarloverThursday, May 25, 2017 at 4:53 am44 stars
        Betty is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo mean. right?:)
        • faith016
          faith016Saturday, March 11, 2017 at 1:06 pm
          An amazing book full of lies Wonder and blame. The written text only brings out the sweet inocence of a child and certainly one who is picked on! It is extremely fun to read and It is a classic. The only bad thing about it is the sudden ending and tragedy. Spoilers: Annabelle is picked on by a city girl named Betty, she is defended by Toby (a local soldier from war), one day Betty is lost and the blame all goes on to Toby. Will he be safe? You find out!
          • dictionary
            dictionarySunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:32 pm55 stars
            ''The year I turned twelve, I learned how to lie. The year I turned twelve, I learned that what I said and what I did mattered''- Everything was fine for Annabelle until Betty Glengarry comes to Wolf Hollow. Everyone is afraid of Betty. Nobody will stand up to her. And Annabelle is target. Until she threatens Annabelle, Toby pops out. Toby is a very strange man who fought in the war. He carries three very heavy guns everyday. Nobody knows much about Toby. Since Toby told Betty that if he touches Annabelle again, she'll be sorry. Now Toby is a target of her attacks. But when Ruth, Annabelle's bestfriend and a very skinny short girl, gets hit in the eye, everyone is now blaming Toby. Ruth also got blinded in one eye by this, so her parents are moving back to where they came from because of the accident. Even though Annabelle likes Toby and doesn't think he's behind this, she suspects Betty. Of course, why would it be so easy to blame Toby? Why is it so easy for everyone to accuse a German of an attack? Well, not long ago there was a a war with Germany. Now everyone is blaming the Germans for everything because of that war. But Annabelle's mother always says ''Never judge a book by it's cover.'' Later, Annabelle's brother, Henrey, gets struck in the forehead by a wire. Betty was near. Now Annabelle is sure that Betty is behind all this. So, Annabelle decides to tell her parents about Betty's threats. Once she does, her mother and father told her to promise not to lie, so she promises. But soon she would have to break the promise. Very strange, Betty goes missing the day they all go in court. Toby goes missing, too. The police thinks that Toby kidnapped her. Annabelle finds Toby, and he says he did not know that Betty was missing. He also told Annabelle he did not throw a rock at Ruth or set up the trap. He said he was trying to take a picture of Betty doing all this. Annabelle was right. Betty was behind all this. Soon Annabelle finds Betty stuck in a hole. The next morning, Betty died. The infection spread all over here. Now Annabelle had to convince Andrew, Betty's close friend, to admit Betty was behind all this. They were going to kill Toby. When Annabelle called Andrew, he said that it was no use to blame Betty now that she was dead. He wanted them to kill Toby. Later they found out the bloodhounds had found and killed Toby. Everything was weird but good without Betty. ''You're not God, and it would be arrogant to think so,'' Annabelle's mom always said.--THIS BOOK WAS INCREDIBLE! 5/5
            • addisonaddie
              addisonaddieTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 1:54 pm55 stars
              Omg! I've heard of this book! I really want to read this book and also I want to win this book for free!
              • moonwatcher0721Thursday, December 15, 2016 at 6:46 pm
                iv overlooked it in a book store... i was this 9( ) close to buying it.
                • cattyluver
                  cattyluverMonday, November 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm
                  I hope other people will be interested in this book.
                  • cattyluver
                    cattyluverMonday, November 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm
                    I will ask my parents for it on my birthday.
                    • cattyluver
                      cattyluverMonday, November 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm
                      I haven't read this book, but it looks very interesting.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .