National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0008124094
ISBN-13: 9780008124090
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • catvolocities
    catvolocitiesTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 9:36 pm55 stars
    I read the blurb of this book and lemme say this it is a beautiful book!
    • Do u no da waeTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 9:20 pm
      Very good book
      • tofu22
        tofu22Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:08 pm55 stars
        This book it a true masterpeice, there are so many sad parts and happy parts and parts when you just want to hide in a corner. I really reccomend this book! I also think that there should be a movie on it! If you like EXTREAMLY emotinal books, then this is for you! Have a good day! ;-)
        • suchomimus
          suchomimusFriday, February 2, 2018 at 1:03 am55 stars
          Pax and Peter ant to be together forever, but when war strikes, they are separated. Peter sets out on a three-hundred mile journey to find Pax. Meanwhile, Pax discovers his own adventure...
          • smartguy123
            smartguy123Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:04 pm33 stars
            I prefer this book because it tells a story between the perspectives from a boy and a fox named, Pax.
            • ccThursday, November 16, 2017 at 11:55 am
              I love heartwarming stories
              • katrwils08
                katrwils08Friday, November 10, 2017 at 12:10 pm
                cool that book is so cool
                • hannabanana242
                  hannabanana242Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm55 stars
                  Pax is one of my favorite books I've read so far. It was very touching, and I loved it! The book was very heartwarming from the beginning to the end. I recommend this book to people who love animals, touching stories, and heartwarming books.
                  • pretzel101
                    pretzel101Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 7:31 am
                    Is this a chapter book?
                  • hannabanana242
                    hannabanana242Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:16 pm55 stars
                    Pax is one of my favorite books I've read so far. It was touching, and I loved it! The book was heartwarming from the beginning to the end. I recommend this book to people who love animals, touching stories, and heartwarming books.
                    • thecatreads
                      thecatreadsThursday, August 31, 2017 at 7:40 am
                      I cried reading this its so sad poor pax
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .