National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become a classic, beloved for generations to come.

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter's dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather's house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn't where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own. . . .

Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0008124094
ISBN-13: 9780008124090
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • hannabanana242
    hannabanana242Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm55 stars
    Pax is one of my favorite books I've read so far. It was very touching, and I loved it! The book was very heartwarming from the beginning to the end. I recommend this book to people who love animals, touching stories, and heartwarming books.
    • pretzel101
      pretzel101Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 7:31 am
      Is this a chapter book?
    • hannabanana242
      hannabanana242Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:16 pm55 stars
      Pax is one of my favorite books I've read so far. It was touching, and I loved it! The book was heartwarming from the beginning to the end. I recommend this book to people who love animals, touching stories, and heartwarming books.
      • thecatreads
        thecatreadsThursday, August 31, 2017 at 7:40 am
        I cried reading this its so sad poor pax
        • thecatreads
          thecatreadsThursday, August 31, 2017 at 7:37 am
          I will die for this book !!!!!!!!
          • lemonade11
            lemonade11Wednesday, August 30, 2017 at 8:24 am
            This was the most heartwarming book I have read in a while. This book is about a boy and a fox who love aach other. The characters in this story are extremely well thought out. This author did an amazing job writing this powerful novel. The only part I wasn't a big fan about. The fact that the peter lets his Pax stay with the other two foxes breaks my heart. Don't get me wrong, I understand why he let Pax stay. I just wish it had ended a little bid differently. But this book is extremely good!
            • LexiSunday, August 27, 2017 at 5:18 am
              i haven't read this book yet but reading your posts i think i might consider it. thanks :]
              • mybooksandi
                mybooksandiSaturday, March 25, 2017 at 9:31 am33 stars
                *Tear* Oookay... let's start Pax was an emotional book that I cried four times reading it. But still.... love it. The characters are so cute and sad, they love each other unconditionally, and that's what I thought was adorable. There is something there that made me knock off 2 stars, the way a boy obsesses over a fox. When I picked up this book I thought it would be a story about a boy and his loving pet dog. But no, change of plans, it's a fox. Don't get me wrong, I love pets and their love to their owners but a fox? A FOX? A FOX? Anyway 3 stars is not bad, surely it (kinda) disappointed me, but this novel is in someone else's turf.
                • callie_b
                  callie_bSunday, March 26, 2017 at 3:27 pm
                  Haha! Really?
                • brobro6Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 7:33 am
                  I love this book so great and a lot of emotions!!
                  • kaybird
                    kaybirdTuesday, December 13, 2016 at 2:36 pm22 stars
                    This book, Pax, was very good in the beginning of the book. I wanted to keep reading it. It got a little boring and long towards the end. The ending of this book however, I did not like at all. It was a complete disappointment because after all the main character Peter did, it was for nothing.
                    • darkswan
                      darkswanMonday, December 5, 2016 at 3:57 am
                      This story touching,it almost made me cry.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .