Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.748814
A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
94 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • devenitycrystal
    devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:11 pm55 stars
    This book is amazing and it's definitely inspirational to kids who struggle in school, especially with dyslexia
    • pupcat46
      pupcat46Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:36 am55 stars
      its a good book
      • ben1012
        ben1012Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:36 am44 stars
        it a good book
        • 26america
          26americaTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
          This book teaches you to be yourself. and i love the authors message. I hope that everyone in this world reads it.
          • 128213
            128213Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:45 pm55 stars
            This book was amazing! It teaches a great lesson to. Everyone should read it!
            • crazy7701
              crazy7701Monday, March 5, 2018 at 7:58 am44 stars
              So good BTW did you know that patricia polacco had dyslexia too.
              • 26america
                26americaTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 6:44 am55 stars
                never knew about that... good thinking
              • readersnerd
                readersnerdMonday, February 19, 2018 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                poor Ally she cant even read and people are not helping her by calling her dump and all those mean words they say to her and she keeps calling herself dump when she is just unique
                • batiduwyvawiwa
                  batiduwyvawiwaTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:34 am55 stars
                  I loved Fish in a tree! It was a very good. It makes your think, will Ally ever be able to read? It is realistic fiction! If you like realistic fiction then this is the book for you.
                  • llammazzzzzz
                    llammazzzzzzWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 4:28 pm
                    LOVE THE BOOK. I have to read it for school and i was thinking it wouldnt be a fun book to read. Turns out I Love the book i love the chapters i love the the Charecters Just Amazing Book!
                    • bluezebra
                      bluezebraTuesday, November 21, 2017 at 2:44 pm44 stars
                      This book is super entertaining. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a story of growth and friendship.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .