A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • readersnerd
    readersnerdMonday, February 19, 2018 at 6:41 pm55 stars
    poor Ally she cant even read and people are not helping her by calling her dump and all those mean words they say to her and she keeps calling herself dump when she is just unique
    • batiduwyvawiwa
      batiduwyvawiwaTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 10:34 am55 stars
      I loved Fish in a tree! It was a very good. It makes your think, will Ally ever be able to read? It is realistic fiction! If you like realistic fiction then this is the book for you.
      • llammazzzzzz
        llammazzzzzzWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 4:28 pm
        LOVE THE BOOK. I have to read it for school and i was thinking it wouldnt be a fun book to read. Turns out I Love the book i love the chapters i love the the Charecters Just Amazing Book!
        • bluezebra
          bluezebraTuesday, November 21, 2017 at 2:44 pm44 stars
          This book is super entertaining. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a story of growth and friendship.
          • cinihizuxy
            cinihizuxyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:14 am33 stars
            This book was so awesome because it showed great emotion and Allie was a great character. I definitely recommend reading this book. Allie has dyslexia. She can't really read or write, so she loved to draw.
            • naya1718
              naya1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 3:46 pm
              My friend told me about this book and he said it was a very good book so i might have to read some day.
              • jadelade
                jadeladeMonday, September 25, 2017 at 5:43 pm
                I like it it is very interesting the girl gets in a lot of trouble i don't know much because Im on page 15 or something like that but so far I like it I would recomend it.
                • xamubihano
                  xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:55 am55 stars
                  I like Ally. She is different!
                  • xamubihano
                    xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:08 am55 stars
                    The characters were engaging!
                    • arielmosho
                      arielmoshoWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 10:18 am55 stars
                      i am reading this book for a report for over the summer
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .