A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
82 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • naya1718
    naya1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 3:46 pm
    My friend told me about this book and he said it was a very good book so i might have to read some day.
    • jadelade
      jadeladeMonday, September 25, 2017 at 5:43 pm
      I like it it is very interesting the girl gets in a lot of trouble i don't know much because Im on page 15 or something like that but so far I like it I would recomend it.
      • xamubihano
        xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:55 am55 stars
        I like Ally. She is different!
        • xamubihano
          xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:08 am55 stars
          The characters were engaging!
          • arielmosho
            arielmoshoWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 10:18 am55 stars
            i am reading this book for a report for over the summer
            • rah-rah
              rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:15 pm
              I loved how at the end the girl wanted to help her brother. It was really sweet of her to think of him.
              • lovetolearn
                lovetolearnWednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:55 am44 stars
                People tease Ally for being different. She has Dyslexia and can't read. Ally is ashamed of the this and lets herself get pushed around. Eventually, with the help of her new friends Ally is able to find the strength to stand up for herself. A great book!
                • kitties4realz
                  kitties4realzWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 1:43 pm44 stars
                  This book was really good. It showed that no matter what someone is like, don't judge them by anything. Ally was a girl with Dyslexia, and she gets teased by mean girl Shay. Shay charges $3 for a FRIENDSHIP bracelet. You don't sell those, you give them to friends to say you care. Follow Ally on her adventure to learn to stand up for herself.
                  • bossfighter2475
                    bossfighter2475Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 4:48 am33 stars
                    I think it's pretty cool
                    • Ready2Read Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 1:07 pm
                      This book is so good. I read it and I told my friends to read it and they thought it was good too. Soon everyone in my class was reading this book. I like it because she has to find a way to fit in and teaches that people are all alike and that just because people like Ally have things like Dyslexia or or other diseases are still NORMAL people.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .