A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2015 by Nancy Paulsen Books
ISBN-10: 0399162593
ISBN-13: 9780399162596
84 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bluezebra
    bluezebraTuesday, November 21, 2017 at 2:44 pm44 stars
    This book is super entertaining. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a story of growth and friendship.
    • cinihizuxy
      cinihizuxyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:14 am33 stars
      This book was so awesome because it showed great emotion and Allie was a great character. I definitely recommend reading this book. Allie has dyslexia. She can't really read or write, so she loved to draw.
      • naya1718
        naya1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 3:46 pm
        My friend told me about this book and he said it was a very good book so i might have to read some day.
        • jadelade
          jadeladeMonday, September 25, 2017 at 5:43 pm
          I like it it is very interesting the girl gets in a lot of trouble i don't know much because Im on page 15 or something like that but so far I like it I would recomend it.
          • xamubihano
            xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:55 am55 stars
            I like Ally. She is different!
            • xamubihano
              xamubihanoSaturday, September 16, 2017 at 7:08 am55 stars
              The characters were engaging!
              • arielmosho
                arielmoshoWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 10:18 am55 stars
                i am reading this book for a report for over the summer
                • rah-rah
                  rah-rahTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 3:15 pm
                  I loved how at the end the girl wanted to help her brother. It was really sweet of her to think of him.
                  • lovetolearn
                    lovetolearnWednesday, July 19, 2017 at 10:55 am44 stars
                    People tease Ally for being different. She has Dyslexia and can't read. Ally is ashamed of the this and lets herself get pushed around. Eventually, with the help of her new friends Ally is able to find the strength to stand up for herself. A great book!
                    • kitties4realz
                      kitties4realzWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 1:43 pm44 stars
                      This book was really good. It showed that no matter what someone is like, don't judge them by anything. Ally was a girl with Dyslexia, and she gets teased by mean girl Shay. Shay charges $3 for a FRIENDSHIP bracelet. You don't sell those, you give them to friends to say you care. Follow Ally on her adventure to learn to stand up for herself.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .