Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5U4.941101
Twelve-year-old Mackenzie "Mac" Lowell's dreams have come true. Thanks to her mom scoring the coolest job EVER, Mac is going from boy band fanatic to official tour member of her favorite group, Perfect Storm. Good thing she's brought along her journal so she can record every moment, every breath, and every one of lead singer Zander Welling's killer smiles in written detail and daydreamy doodles.

But between a zillion tour stops and pranks gone wrong, Zander and his fellow band members, Heath Holland and Kyle Beyer, become more like brothers to Mac. When the boys' differences start to drive them apart, can Perfect Storm's biggest fan remind them why they'reperfect together? It'll be up to Mac--and her comic-book alter ego, Mac Attack--to keep the band together and on the road to stardom

Chronicling her experiences on tour, Mac's journal springs to life with black-and-white illustrations and comic-book panels throughout its pages.
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on December 1, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316259721
ISBN-13: 9780316259729
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • PostingThursday, April 13, 2017 at 7:50 pm
    I like this book because I always wanted to be with a famous person.
    • ak47_lilant
      ak47_lilantMonday, February 27, 2017 at 11:15 am
      i love this story because i like band and i will love to be in one
      • moneypay
        moneypayMonday, February 27, 2017 at 11:14 am
        i love this book because it is a chapter book
        • wasup21
          wasup21Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 4:37 pm55 stars
          I loved this book so much my fav character was kyle he is so sweet and sensitive he is my dream guy and sncie i got to listen to the audible book Kyles acsent is to die for
          • foodie11
            foodie11Monday, October 10, 2016 at 1:16 pm55 stars
            Mackenzie (Mac) Lowell DREAMS of meeting her favorite band EVER, Perfect Storm. Zander, Heath and Kyle have captured her and her friend's hearts since the beginning. She is sure Zander will love her on first glance. So, when her mom gets to be their tour manager, and invites Mac to go on the road with her, she is THRILLED! But with newfound enemies and the band's fighting, is this really a tour that was meant to be?
            • puppylover246
              puppylover246Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at 2:51 pm
              I was think the same thing
            • cerulian
              cerulianThursday, September 8, 2016 at 5:42 pm55 stars
              My little sister and I read this book. She checked it out from her school library. This book was so fun and dreamlike because what girl actually gets to go on tour with a boy band?! That was really cool about the story. When things start to go bad between the boy band, Perfect Storm, Mackenzie, the main character, brings them back together.
              • memoiloveit
                memoiloveitTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 7:28 am22 stars
                At first I didn't think I was going to like this book at all, but it was actually okay. I like how the author made this book written as a journal instead of a regular book, the black and white illustrations, and comic-book panels which makes it more lively.
                • strawberry1234
                  strawberry1234Wednesday, July 27, 2016 at 11:25 am11 star
                  I did not enjoy this book it wasn't a type of book i would like to read to myself are anyone i know i just found this book boring
                  • cutepenguins12
                    cutepenguins12Saturday, July 23, 2016 at 5:59 pm55 stars
                    Before Mac was born her mom brought bands on tour and managed it. But when Mac was born her mom decided to stay with Mac and raise her. Then when her mom was offered to go on tour with Mac's favorite band Perfect Storm she accepted and now Mac and her are on tour.
                    • jb_penguin12
                      jb_penguin12Thursday, July 21, 2016 at 4:24 pm55 stars
                      Mac's mom works with bands and manages singers. When she gets to go on tour with her favorite band because of her mom's job Mac finds out that the band isn't the same way that they are in their Youtube videos. She also decided that maybe she didn't like her favorite boy as much as she thought.