Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 7n/a5.780026

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story perfect for fans of We Were Liars and I Was Here, about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.

When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on March 10, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062224107
ISBN-13: 9780062224101
2 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 3:01 am33 stars
    Nick and Dara, Dara and Nick--since their childhood, these two sisters have done everything together, from playing to school to birthday parties. But everything changes when the girls grow up and Dara falls in love with Nick's best friend Parker. What happens next is that Nick finds herself unable to trust either her sister or Parker, as they seemingly forget all about her as they ride a roller-coaster relationship, and when Nick finally starts to think she would be crushed by the massive weight of their endless breakups and get-back-togethers, Dara disappears on the morning of her birthday. That's not all--Madeline Snow, a girl in the same city, has also gone lost. Nick is determined to find out what is going on--and also, tries to save her sisterhood and friendship. Quirky and told from many different points of view and times, Vanishing Girls is filled with thrills and touching moments. But here(sorry optimists), let me share some parts of this book that made me have to take back two stars: 1. the very confusing and twisted plot that will make you rub your eyes 2. the annoying, ever-changing settings that mess up the whole story 3. unnecessary boring parts that make you yawn I'm sorry, but as a critic at heart, I have to say this: This book was one of the worst I ever read.
    • llehlers
      llehlersTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 1:13 pm55 starsFeatured
      "Vanishing Girls" was amazing! The descriptions of both characters and the places and things they saw were so realistic, I could honestly see real people living the lives Nick and Dara did, messing up the same rooms, volunteering at the same rundown amusement parks, driving in the same average-looking cars, feeling the same ways about the same things. Everything felt so relatable. I can honestly say I've seen places similar to what author Lauren Oliver described. But then, the sisters' lives upended and became a whole lot crazier then anyone's I know. The mini twists were shocking and the final one was nothing I ever saw coming. Even that single jaw-dropper is worth the read! Loved this book!