Vacation Under the Volcano (Magic Tree House)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 4M3.35833
The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system!

Who wants to vacation next to a volcano? Jack and Annie are about to find out when the Magic Tree House whisks them back to the days of the Roman Empire. They arrive in Pompeii and soon discover that it is the very day the city will be destroyed. Now Jack and Annie must race against time to find an ancient library before it is buried in ash!

Did you know that there’s a Magic Tree House book for every kid?

Magic Tree House: Adventures with Jack and Annie, perfect for readers who are just beginning chapter books
Merlin Missions: More challenging adventures for the experienced reader
Super Edition: A longer and more dangerous adventure
Fact Trackers: Nonfiction companions to your favorite Magic Tree House adventures

Have more fun with Jack and Annie at MagicTreeHouse.com!

Paperback, 96 pages
Published on March 13, 1987 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 059070639X
ISBN-13: 9780590706391
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pat2012
    pat2012Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:11 am55 stars
    I love this book! It's one of my favorite magic tree house books. My favorite part of your books are the mystery! Thanks for making this great book!
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Monday, May 27, 2019 at 1:13 pm44 stars
      Jack and Annie go to a place with a lot of mountain and stuff .but before they go Annie says she had a bad dream where a place was getting covered in lava but Jack says they will be fine.it's turns out they are on the island where it is a volcano and Jack and Annie (btw when they got to the place they where wearing dress things and sandals ) was ashes flying everywhere and they decided to but pillows on there years to not get hurt by things flying everywhere .I'm not going to tell u the rest because you should go read the book!I recommend it to anyone who is interested .I rate 4/5 stars 😁
      • DanielFriday, June 15, 2018 at 4:37 pm
        This book is very good. It has many fac
        • coloringbu
          coloringbuSaturday, July 18, 2015 at 7:08 am55 stars
          Jack and Annie were packing to go on vacation but they wanted to go to their tree house for a minute. Morgan was waiting for them in the tree house. She gave Jack and Annie a scroll and a book. She wanted them to go to the Roman Empire. Jack loved it there. They had to find the lost book in the Roman library or it would be destroyed. There was a lady that was saying "The end is near! The end is near!" Read the book to find out what happens to Jack and Annie. This is a very good book.
          • bilingual
            bilingualWednesday, May 28, 2014 at 7:44 am
            Good book to read for integration between history and landforms. Good use of figurative language.
            • bashdash
              bashdashMonday, March 24, 2014 at 5:56 pm
              Hey u 2 i read this book to it was fun i read lots of these books at school it's feel like ur in the book with jack and Annie
              • bashdash
                bashdashMonday, March 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm
                Hi I'm bashdash and I am a scholar it means ur good at reading and writing. When I read this book I feel like going on the adventures with Jack and Annie. I traveled around all over the world with jack and Annie we have so much fun together and we help free teddy from a spell. Hey if ur reading this Mary Pope Osborne thank you for creating this book it's been so much fun with jack and Annie :D
                • kn123
                  kn123Sunday, July 14, 2013 at 10:01 am55 stars
                  Vacation under the Volcano was about Jack and Annie going on a mission to find a lost story in a lost library during a volcano. It was a good thing that Annie held the story up to the sky and said''sky help us.
                  • tomatepodrido
                    tomatepodridoFriday, November 30, 2012 at 9:57 pm33 stars
                    this adventure is fun with interesting things,but did they survive under the volcano????? you need to read this awesome book.