Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 8O5.520245
The quirky Clarice Bean tries on the unlikely role of super sleuth in her first utterly suspenseful, utterly hilarious full-length adventure.

It’s not easy to concentrate at school when mysterious things are happening all around you. In fact, Clarice Bean is starting to feel just like her favorite heroine: Ruby Redfort, schoolgirl detective. Clarice and her utterly best friend, Betty Moody, are planning to ace their book project about Ruby and win the class prize, until Betty disappears into thin air, and horrible teacher Mrs. Wilberton teams Clarice up with the naughtiest boy in school. Will her new partner ruin everything? Will Betty ever come back? And what on earth happened to the silver trophy everyone’s hoping to win? Lauren Child brings her trademark wacky wit and eccentric visual energy to a full-length, fast-paced Clarice Bean episode that will charm even the most capricious reader. The book’s contemporary design comes complete with an eye-catching ribbon bookmark.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on August 11, 2003 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763621862
ISBN-13: 9780763621865
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kittycat4569Friday, June 21, 2019 at 8:12 am
    I remember when I was in elementary school, actually I'm in 6th grade! I loved reading this book and this author has a AMAZING style of creative writing. This book takes my memory back to elementary, you should read it. I LOVED it! -kitty
    • Lib.mFriday, June 21, 2019 at 4:46 am
      I love her books 😍
      • callie_b
        callie_bTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 3:18 pm44 starsFeatured
        I've always loved Clarice Bean, and when I reread this favorite elementary school book, I was filled with happy memories of simpler times. I loved reliving the funny and quirky story of Clarice and her friends and her love of Ruby Redfort. I feel like I've told this to everyone I've talked to about this book, but the author of this book is Lauren Child, also well known for her Charlie and Lola picture books. In the Clarice Bean series, Clarice and her best friend Betty are obsessed with a series called Ruby Redfort about an eleven-year-old undercover detective and spy, and that's when I became obsessed with the idea of the series. Then I learned when I was about 10 years old that so many fans of Clarice Bean actually wrote to Lauren Child asking her to write a real Ruby Redfort series. And she did, and those books are also amazing so I encourage you to check those out too!! Clarice is faced with many mysteries that seem to be up to her to solve. This book was a blast from the past for me, and I totally loved reading it again after all these years!
        • happyFriday, April 5, 2019 at 4:48 pm
          This book is TOTALLY great!
          • skating4
            skating4Friday, June 19, 2015 at 7:59 am55 stars
            I love this book. It is really awesome because it switches from her to her reading the book, so you are reading a book in a book. :D
            • 20toleary
              20tolearyTuesday, October 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm
              This book is very good!!!! It is about her, a missing best friend, a missing cup and a book presentation!
              • 20toleary
                20tolearyTuesday, October 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm
                This book is very good!!!!! It is about her, a missing friend, a missing cup and a book presentation! Thanks for reading my book review!!!!
                • 20toleary
                  20tolearyTuesday, October 16, 2012 at 1:21 pm
                  This book is very good!!!!! It is about her, a missing friend, a missing cup and a book presentation!
                  • 20toleary
                    20tolearyTuesday, October 16, 2012 at 1:18 pm
                    This book is very good!!!!! It is about her, a missing friend, a missing cup and a book presentation!
                    • 20toleary
                      20tolearyTuesday, October 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm
                      This book is very good!!!!! It is about her, a missing friend, a missing cup and a book presentation!