Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.775053
Armani Curtis can think about only one thing: her tenth birthday. All her friends are coming to her party, her mama is making a big cake, and she has a good feeling about a certain wrapped box. Turning ten is a big deal to Armani. It means she's older, wiser, more responsible. But when Hurricane Katrina hits the Lower Nines of New Orleans, Armani realizes that being ten means being brave, watching loved ones die, and mustering all her strength to help her family weather the storm. A powerful story of courage and survival, Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere celebrates the miraculous power of hope and love in the face of the unthinkable.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 8, 2014 by Chronicle Books
ISBN-10: 1452124566
ISBN-13: 9781452124568
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cditty22
    cditty22Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 2:10 pm
    It is about a tragic event. Hurricane Katrina
    • karen1234
      karen1234Tuesday, January 12, 2016 at 9:52 am55 stars
      I thought this book was great. It was sad at some points but I would highly recommend this book to others. This book was about how hurricane Katrina destroyed many things in new Orleans and separated many family's from being together.
      • 13ao
        13aoThursday, September 17, 2015 at 9:42 am
        i really liked this book because i liked how she was strong and brave i also liked learning about hurricane katrina
        • volleygal
          volleygalThursday, February 19, 2015 at 7:37 pm
          I recently read this book! It is really good. It pulls at your heartstrings, though! If you don not like sad stories, DON'T read this book. It is good though. I am not a person who cries easily, and even this book made me teary-eyed. I loved Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere!
          • tennisThursday, February 19, 2015 at 6:35 pm
            this book is the best.
            • s36670
              s36670Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 12:28 pm55 stars
              This book is truly amazing! It is about Hurricane Katrina and how a young girl helps her family and also loses loved ones. If you like to learn about different events in life then you should read Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere.
              • girlmeetscamera
                girlmeetscameraThursday, October 30, 2014 at 4:33 am55 stars
                This book is so good! It made me cry a few different times. It's told in first person point of view. I always end up relating to those more! A great read for 10-13 year olds.