Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.249981
The next person who compares Chloe Cho with famous violinist Abigail Yang is going to HEAR it. Chloe has just about had it with people not knowing the difference between someone who's Chinese, Japanese, or Korean. She's had it with people thinking that everything she does well -- getting good grades, winning first chair in the orchestra, et CETera -- are because she's ASIAN.
Of course, her own parents don't want to have anything to DO with their Korean background. Any time Chloe asks them a question they change the subject. They seem perfectly happy to be the only Asian family in town. It's only when Chloe's with her best friend, Shelly, that she doesn't feel like a total alien.
Then a new teacher comes to town: Ms. Lee. She's Korean American, and for the first time Chloe has a person to talk to who seems to understand completely. For Ms. Lee's class, Chloe finally gets to explore her family history. But what she unearths is light-years away from what she expected.

Hardcover, 265 pages
Published on April 26, 2016 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545782260
ISBN-13: 9780545782265
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mocha_dog
    mocha_dogTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 4:39 am44 stars
    This was an enjoyable book with lots of humor. Chloe always thought she was Korean, but her parents never want to talk about their background. When Chloe starts school a new teacher is there. She is also Korean, and encourages Chloe to learn about her background. While Chloe is exploring her past she learns something she does not expect. I enjoyed this book and hope you do too.
    • mad1221588
      mad1221588Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 3:03 pm
      The back make me want to read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • casgirl
        casgirlSunday, September 25, 2016 at 8:42 am22 stars
        not was I thought it was going to be about at all , really . it was about aliens . I'm not kidding , Aliens !
        • coreycole
          coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:27 am33 stars
          my new uncle is actually chinese and british he suggested i read this book. i think i get it now just because you look similar to alot of people your not all the same. thats ignorant and rude to make assumptions. but my uncle matt really is super smart but hes a person and isnt good at alot of things too
          • jb_penguin12
            jb_penguin12Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 5:27 am44 stars
            Chloe was told that her parents lived in Korea when they were younger. No one else in the town understands what it is to be Korean and she is often made fun of. But one day when she gets an F from submitting a story that her dad said was about her great-uncle, she realized maybe she wasn't Korean.
            • readingbr
              readingbrSunday, August 28, 2016 at 2:21 pm11 star
              I did not like this book. My sister read it and told me to read it too. I did not know what it was about before I read it. It was interesting to see how it ends and how things are not always the way people think they are.
              • coloringbu
                coloringbuSunday, August 28, 2016 at 2:18 pm33 stars
                I really enjoyed reading this book. It is a good story about a Korean American girl who doesn't know about her family history. It is interesting how things aren't always the way you think they are.
                • penguin313
                  penguin313Wednesday, August 17, 2016 at 7:24 pm55 stars
                  Chloe as always been the only Korean girl in town. Excellent at piano and studious, she and her best friend follow k-pop. A new teacher named Ms. Lee, whose Korean, convinces Chloe to ask her parents about Korea, and what she finds out is an unexpected secret.
                  • kjtennis
                    kjtennisTuesday, August 16, 2016 at 5:36 am33 stars
                    Chinese, Japanese, Korean? Which is it? This question frustrates Chloe Cho, the only Korean at her school. Or better yet, in her lonely town. Her parents won't tell her anything about their past, and her classmates think she's some sort of alien. When her parents finally tell her their family's secret, it shocks Chloe and makes her wonder, "What IS normal around here?"
                    • 400bella
                      400bellaMonday, August 15, 2016 at 1:03 pm
                      Unidantified was a realy good book. This book is one of my favorite books because it is just so good. This book teaches you that being differnt is good