Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.249680

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 21, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006174266X
ISBN-13: 9780061742668
75 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • awesomejas10
    awesomejas10Friday, October 13, 2017 at 2:21 pm44 stars
    Its good. Its about a robot that has impulse control. Its when you do and don't think. He gets in a lot of trouble
    • bluehorse3
      bluehorse3Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 3:22 pm
      We read this as a literature lunch book. Since it's by Gordon Korman it's funny and cute. Clever and satisfying.
      • explore55
        explore55Tuesday, February 16, 2016 at 4:05 am55 stars
        the word gifted has never been aplie to a kid like donovan cuttis.it it's usally more liike don't try tis at home. so when the troublemaker pulls a major parank at his school.then he thanks it gone to far.
        • booklover1969
          booklover1969Saturday, January 23, 2016 at 10:57 am44 stars
          This book was entertaining and funny. A good, quick read for grades 4 and up. I laughed out loud at a few parts!
          • srox
            sroxWednesday, January 20, 2016 at 7:56 am44 stars
            This book is a great story about a boy who is a person who does bad things and 'accidentally' gets into the gifted program. He really isn't supposed to be there cause he really isn't gifted and the end is not for me to tell...
            • schultheis_16
              schultheis_16Thursday, January 14, 2016 at 7:47 am
              It wasn't very good
              • anisha343
                anisha343Thursday, December 10, 2015 at 1:48 pm44 stars
                I was looking through the library and I found this book and it looked interesting so i got it. In the beginning it wasn't so interesting so I didn't want to read it but I thought to myself that some book are better in the end, so I kept reading. In the end it did get better and it's one book that I recommend and so do my friends. So trust me read this book you'll like it or maybe even love it.
                • awesomeness34
                  awesomeness34Wednesday, December 9, 2015 at 8:10 am
                  How a boy is ungifted but accidentally gets into a gifted school. This will be his hideout from Dr. Schultz to not get into any trouble. He gets very attached to the school, but one day will have to leave...
                  • jaybelit-1
                    jaybelit-1Monday, November 23, 2015 at 5:26 am33 stars
                    I am liking this book so far but this is kinda making you think that there will be no more problems and every thing will be alright. Other that that I really like it so far. ;)
                    • 19allisonb
                      19allisonbFriday, October 9, 2015 at 8:51 am
                      Saw it in the book order and can't wait to read it. The author wrote some of the books in one of my favorite series so I hope it's good