Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0425287777
ISBN-13: 9780425287774
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • UglythebookloveTuesday, March 6, 2018 at 5:40 pm
    This book is the best book you can ever read it makes you cry sometimes but also laugh and sometimes you are serious the best book ever to be found on Earth.
    • booklover24Wednesday, February 21, 2018 at 6:25 pm
      i love IT SO MUCH best book i have read in my life
      • ShiraTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 6:54 pm
        This is the best book I’ve ever read it’s sad but interesting ♥️
        • Skyetree28Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 12:48 pm
          I loved this book so much! You should definitely read it. I like that it is a true story, and it has the real pictures in the back.
          • joeplayzsoccer
            joeplayzsoccerFriday, December 15, 2017 at 8:42 am55 starsFeatured
            I think this book is so meaningful and shows how to be kind to others. I could not put this book down. Robert was born with two different sized legs, his eyes were on the side of his head, and he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball on his nose. He is kept at home until he is 5, and then starts going to school. No one makes fun of him. But in later years kids start calling him names, like toe nose, because doctors who worked on him had to use part of his toe in his nose. He has some friends, but always has wanted to play sports. One day he plays a game called lawn bowls, and falls in love with it. He makes friends with his elderly teammate, Frank and they win lots of games together. One day, he goes to a different school to help little kids. When they are done, he is called back into the office. He is told by the principal that they should have been warned about how ugly he was. That is when Robert finds out that not only kids can be mean, adults can too.If you were as different as Robert, how would you feel? If you were a kid that went to Robert´s school, would you be friends with him, or call him names like all of the other students. The moral of the story... if you look different, accept it, and be confident in who you are, because there is always someone looking for a friend.
            • joeplayzsoccer
              joeplayzsoccerFriday, December 15, 2017 at 8:31 am55 stars
              This one one of the best books I have ever read, and I felt so bad for robert in some parts.
              • xowuropyba
                xowuropybaFriday, December 15, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                I'm in fourth grade. I read this book ugly. I think it is a really good book. It was a really good book because it tells about the author's life story and what he went through while growing up. He had meany surgeries growing up but then he wanted to stop getting them because he loved him self no matter what.
                • lolWednesday, December 6, 2017 at 1:47 pm
                  this is an awesome book
                  • kro
                    kroWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 4:46 pm55 stars
                    I could not put this book down. Wanted it to go on forever.
                    • uniconn45Sunday, August 13, 2017 at 12:36 pm

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      GSR wrote:

                      This was my favorite book when I...
                      Dealing with Dragons: The Enchan...

                      Ghur wrote:

                      Good book but I cried at the end
                      Stone Fox

                      <unknown> wrote:

                      i luv it
                      Dog Man Unleashed (Dog Man #2): ...

                      amazing anj wrote:

                      ........i literaly love her book...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...