Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0425287777
ISBN-13: 9780425287774
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Yana Grade 4Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at 5:25 pm
    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS BOOK ( ͡~ ͜ʖ ͡°)
    • MaggieWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 8:38 am
      This book is awesome
      • galaxycat333
        galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:02 pm55 stars
        Awesome emotional happy and amazing book that tells about a kid who gets bullied and thinks that hes ugly and he goes on this amazing adventure through life lessons.
        • galaxycat333
          galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:58 am55 stars
          i agree with Luna and i will definetly recomend this book for you
          • LunaThursday, April 26, 2018 at 7:03 am
            ''Ugly'' is about how a little boy that is now an adult talks about his entire life and how he got over the bullying and I think he did that very well. I love the story and I would recommend it for kids that are going over a hard time in life and I truly loved 'Ugly''.
            • MateoThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:43 am
              "Ugly" is a book that tells a wonderful story about a kid that had many problems in his life. The problems caused him to be bullied because of his looks. I like this book because it tells funny jokes and it made me laugh. It also tells a wonderful and sad story about a kid that is so strong and is a nice person and I would encourage you to read this good book.
              • KaitlynThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:40 am
                The book ''UGLY'' is a about a boy named Robert Hoge that had a hard but successful life. He experienced a handful of different things... bulling, hard operations and a bunch of different things. What I liked about this book is that it is inspiring, marvelous, beautiful book. It also made me realize that not everyone is going to be perfect in life, there will be a lot of twists and turns.
                • CristhiamThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:26 am
                  The book "Ugly" is about a boy known as a ugly person. It is a beautiful, true story about courage, empathy, and one very ugly kid. I loved the story because it would probably encourage other kids with disabilities. I also liked it because it was awesome, I will recommend it for any person that is into novels. The book inspired me.
                  • KaylaThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:24 am
                    ''Ugly'' is about a boy that is deformed and how he experiences his life being ugly. He has disability's that has caused bullying. I think that you should read the book because it teaches you that its okay to be who you are. Also, that its so beautiful how he experiences his life in many different ways.
                    • AlyssaThursday, April 26, 2018 at 6:20 am
                      The book "Ugly" is about a boy that has a disability, but it never stopped him from doing things he liked. He is a very strong boy who went through lots of problems. I liked this book because it shows me that I can be different and enjoy myself I recommend it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins