Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on February 7, 2017 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0425287777
ISBN-13: 9780425287774
77 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bacon_bitzz
    bacon_bitzzThursday, May 2, 2019 at 3:15 am55 stars
    This book seems similar to Wonder...
    • Rowan.PoirierWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:07 pm
      Good : l
      • gameboy333
        gameboy333Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:07 pm
        looks like a knock off wonder
        • Hello Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 1:10 pm
          Sad really sad 😢
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolSunday, April 28, 2019 at 9:57 am44 starsFeatured
            “Ugly” is a true-story about a boy named Robert. Born with a large tumor in the middle of his face, he was different than other kids. With his first operation before the age of 1, he struggled to blend in with the crowd. As a young kid, many of his peers did not notice his differences. As he got older and attending a different school when he transitioned from fourth to fifth grade, people made fun of him and called him names. He went through an operation making medical history, and the hardship of not being able to play the sports he wanted to play. At first, his mom had not wanted to take him home, not because of what she thought of him, but because of what she was afraid others would think. After a month, Robert was taken home. Although he may have not had any legs, he had secret talents such as handwalking, Overall, I think this book was good however Robert’s life story went by fast and I do think the author could have added more details in between. The transitions between ages were well written, however. In conclusion, I recommend this book to grades 3-7. I rate it 4/5 and recommend it to people who are interested in reading books such as “Wonder” and “Out of My Mind”.
            • bacon_bitzz
              bacon_bitzzThursday, May 2, 2019 at 3:14 am55 stars
              Woah! Good review!
            • unicorn loverWednesday, April 3, 2019 at 9:40 am
              this book is inspirational and moving I love it
              • Peanut RDHMonday, April 1, 2019 at 5:42 pm
                i Love this
                • Start oceansMonday, April 1, 2019 at 4:18 pm
                  This book is so great defiantly read it
                  • Danny T.Monday, April 1, 2019 at 3:04 pm
                    I enjoyed the book and I have to do a report about this book for spring break
                    • angelThursday, March 14, 2019 at 11:46 am
                      i am doing this book for a report