Tally lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: an operation which erases your flaws, transforming you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. She is on the eve of this important event, and cannot wait for her life to change. But then she meets Shay, and her whole outlook is different.

Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1442419814
ISBN-13: 9781442419810
56 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • brielle2005
    brielle2005Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 9:50 am55 stars
    THIS IS A REALLY GOOD BOOK MY TEACHER READ THIS TO OUR CLASS IN 5TH GRADE!!!
    • candycake
      candycakeTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am55 stars
      Well.................................. I got it from this lady Tammy shes my moms friend shes really nice she was giving some of her daughters cloths and stuff and I found it and its really good ......................................................and im just at the .........................BEGINING. YAH 42 WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • rhayworth
        rhayworthTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am33 stars
        Good
        • melodyf
          melodyfMonday, January 4, 2016 at 1:08 amFeatured
          "A world where everyone's ugly. And then they're not" Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Once she's sixteen, the operation will turn her world and herself beauteous. The operation will turn her from a depressing ugly to a stunningly attractive pretty. She will soon fit in a perfect body, live in a perfect world, and get to meet, her best friend/crush, the already pretty Peris who is 3 months older than her. During the three months of waiting, Tally met her new friend, Shay who isn't sure to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, she left hints and notes for Tally. Following these clues, Tally soon learn about a whole new "not so pretty" world, the other side of her society where everyone's ugly and then they're not. The Special authorities group from the pretty world offers Tally a choice: find Shay and turn her in, or never turn pretty again. Tally's decision will change everyone's world forever. In my opinion, this book may be a connection to the future of the world we are living in. People's classes are defined by their physical appearance. My favorite character in this book is, of course, Tally. She is not only intelligent, she also demonstrated her courage in many ways. I learned from this book that your appearance can not define who you are, but your actions can. I would recommend this book to any young adults because I think that this is an important lesson that they are able to understand.
          • dilpickle4
            dilpickle4Saturday, October 17, 2015 at 6:46 am
            My friend sugusted this book to me and it looks amazing
            • sapphhira
              sapphhiraThursday, September 24, 2015 at 11:34 am55 stars
              It shows a lot of adventure and action. Very futuristic.
              • deajonea12
                deajonea12Sunday, August 2, 2015 at 6:50 am
                Tally couldn't wait for her birthday, she really wanted to turn pretty! But it all changed when shay ( her friend ) came around! I think girls would really like this book ! So girls read this book , its so good!
                • kjoyaflores
                  kjoyafloresFriday, April 10, 2015 at 12:01 pm
                  I liked this book.At some parts it was very boring then out of no where it has you gripping your seat wanting to read more.I recommend it to Sci Fi lovers.
                  • vbecerra
                    vbecerraFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:41 am55 stars
                    This book is very good. If you like Sci Fi you will love this book
                    • cmull
                      cmullFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:40 am55 stars
                      I loved this book. I recomend it to people who like fun adventures.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...