Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.287274

Tally lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: an operation which erases your flaws, transforming you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. She is on the eve of this important event, and cannot wait for her life to change. But then she meets Shay, and her whole outlook is different.

Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1442419814
ISBN-13: 9781442419810
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • flute1drum1
    flute1drum1Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 11:07 pm55 stars
    The reason I like this book because it is about a girl who wants to be Pretty but then her operational is delayed
    • kj78911
      kj78911Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 8:47 pm55 stars
      Uglies is a book with suspense, mystery, romance, action, and friendship. It teaches you that you are beautiful no matter what people say. When you read this book you will want to read the second so bad!
      • christine_horse
        christine_horseMonday, November 11, 2019 at 7:00 am55 stars
        This book is very well-written, with shocking plot twists and a roller coaster of events. It features a young girl about to turn sixteen.... and who's life is about to change. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. I'll admit, I was a tiny bit disappointed at David's reaction at the end (don't worry, I won't spoil anything). But I loved it, nontheless!
        • aliceinwonder3
          aliceinwonder3Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 5:58 pm55 stars
          It is the best book i have read for a long time I can’t ever put it down once I pick it up. I recommend it to anyone 12+
          • kgautam
            kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:15 am22 stars
            decent. was a little uninteresting at times. not the best story, the characters were pretty basic and shallow. i didnt like it, but i might be willing to reread it.
            • kgautam
              kgautamTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:20 pm22 stars
              decent. was a little uninteresting at times.
              • kgautam
                kgautamTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:20 pm22 stars
                decent. was a little uninteresting at times.
                • gogeta
                  gogetaTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 9:02 am33 stars
                  i didn´t like the book but i think the second book will actualy be better
                  • forgottenalice
                    forgottenaliceTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 8:59 am44 stars
                    I quite liked this book, it really brought in the adventure and the exciting look. I can see what the author had in mind when writing it. It definitely made me want to read more.
                    • Samantha StoneWednesday, January 9, 2019 at 2:54 pm
                      Friendship!