Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.287274

Tally lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: an operation which erases your flaws, transforming you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. She is on the eve of this important event, and cannot wait for her life to change. But then she meets Shay, and her whole outlook is different.

Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1442419814
ISBN-13: 9781442419810
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Monday, November 5, 2018 at 7:29 pm44 stars
    So people now live in a world where you are considered an "ugly" until the age of 16, when you get a surgery that turns you into a "pretty" crazy right? Tally has been waiting and waiting for her 16th birthday so she can become a pretty and live in amazing life. Tally means another girl (shay) whom is also about to turn 16. But shay doesn't want to become a pretty so she tells tally about people who grow old and they don't stay pretty and stuff like that, a place called "the smoke" shay runs away and tally is torn. She wants to be a pretty but with shay. Will tally become a pretty or will she fun away with tally? Read the book! Super great book full of twist & turns & secrets! Thanks for reading - Ajg15's Reviews
    • coolcat6790
      coolcat6790Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 5:14 am55 stars
      This Seris I recommed to people that are older than 11 years old are between the ages of 13-16
      • ice cubeTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 7:00 am
        just by reading the sumary i can tell that it is going to be a great book
        • coolcat6780
          coolcat6780Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:45 am55 stars
          it is good so far
          • brielle2005
            brielle2005Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 9:50 am55 stars
            THIS IS A REALLY GOOD BOOK MY TEACHER READ THIS TO OUR CLASS IN 5TH GRADE!!!
            • candycake
              candycakeTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am55 stars
              Well.................................. I got it from this lady Tammy shes my moms friend shes really nice she was giving some of her daughters cloths and stuff and I found it and its really good ......................................................and im just at the .........................BEGINING. YAH 42 WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • rhayworth
                rhayworthTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am33 stars
                Good
                • melodyf
                  melodyfMonday, January 4, 2016 at 1:08 amFeatured
                  "A world where everyone's ugly. And then they're not" Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Once she's sixteen, the operation will turn her world and herself beauteous. The operation will turn her from a depressing ugly to a stunningly attractive pretty. She will soon fit in a perfect body, live in a perfect world, and get to meet, her best friend/crush, the already pretty Peris who is 3 months older than her. During the three months of waiting, Tally met her new friend, Shay who isn't sure to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, she left hints and notes for Tally. Following these clues, Tally soon learn about a whole new "not so pretty" world, the other side of her society where everyone's ugly and then they're not. The Special authorities group from the pretty world offers Tally a choice: find Shay and turn her in, or never turn pretty again. Tally's decision will change everyone's world forever. In my opinion, this book may be a connection to the future of the world we are living in. People's classes are defined by their physical appearance. My favorite character in this book is, of course, Tally. She is not only intelligent, she also demonstrated her courage in many ways. I learned from this book that your appearance can not define who you are, but your actions can. I would recommend this book to any young adults because I think that this is an important lesson that they are able to understand.
                  • dilpickle4
                    dilpickle4Saturday, October 17, 2015 at 6:46 am
                    My friend sugusted this book to me and it looks amazing
                    • sapphhira
                      sapphhiraThursday, September 24, 2015 at 11:34 am55 stars
                      It shows a lot of adventure and action. Very futuristic.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sportlover wrote:

                      i got all my questions right the...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      bookstory13

                      Even though I haven't read it, I...
                      The Fault in Our Stars

                      Derrick Lu wrote:

                      I loved this book and I kept on ...
                      Clementine, Friend of the Week (...

                      Brayden wrote:

                      I love this book but the Last Ol...
                      The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson...

                      Our Apps and Plugins