Tally lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: an operation which erases your flaws, transforming you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. She is on the eve of this important event, and cannot wait for her life to change. But then she meets Shay, and her whole outlook is different.

Paperback, 432 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Simon Pulse
ISBN-10: 1442419814
ISBN-13: 9781442419810
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • candycake
    candycakeTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am55 stars
    Well.................................. I got it from this lady Tammy shes my moms friend shes really nice she was giving some of her daughters cloths and stuff and I found it and its really good ......................................................and im just at the .........................BEGINING. YAH 42 WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • rhayworth
      rhayworthTuesday, July 18, 2017 at 11:28 am33 stars
      Good
      • melodyf
        melodyfMonday, January 4, 2016 at 1:08 amFeatured
        "A world where everyone's ugly. And then they're not" Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Once she's sixteen, the operation will turn her world and herself beauteous. The operation will turn her from a depressing ugly to a stunningly attractive pretty. She will soon fit in a perfect body, live in a perfect world, and get to meet, her best friend/crush, the already pretty Peris who is 3 months older than her. During the three months of waiting, Tally met her new friend, Shay who isn't sure to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, she left hints and notes for Tally. Following these clues, Tally soon learn about a whole new "not so pretty" world, the other side of her society where everyone's ugly and then they're not. The Special authorities group from the pretty world offers Tally a choice: find Shay and turn her in, or never turn pretty again. Tally's decision will change everyone's world forever. In my opinion, this book may be a connection to the future of the world we are living in. People's classes are defined by their physical appearance. My favorite character in this book is, of course, Tally. She is not only intelligent, she also demonstrated her courage in many ways. I learned from this book that your appearance can not define who you are, but your actions can. I would recommend this book to any young adults because I think that this is an important lesson that they are able to understand.
        • dilpickle4
          dilpickle4Saturday, October 17, 2015 at 6:46 am
          My friend sugusted this book to me and it looks amazing
          • sapphhira
            sapphhiraThursday, September 24, 2015 at 11:34 am55 stars
            It shows a lot of adventure and action. Very futuristic.
            • deajonea12
              deajonea12Sunday, August 2, 2015 at 6:50 am
              Tally couldn't wait for her birthday, she really wanted to turn pretty! But it all changed when shay ( her friend ) came around! I think girls would really like this book ! So girls read this book , its so good!
              • kjoyaflores
                kjoyafloresFriday, April 10, 2015 at 12:01 pm
                I liked this book.At some parts it was very boring then out of no where it has you gripping your seat wanting to read more.I recommend it to Sci Fi lovers.
                • vbecerra
                  vbecerraFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:41 am55 stars
                  This book is very good. If you like Sci Fi you will love this book
                  • cmull
                    cmullFriday, April 10, 2015 at 11:40 am55 stars
                    I loved this book. I recomend it to people who like fun adventures.
                    • jtesar
                      jtesarThursday, April 9, 2015 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                      THERE IS A SPOILER IN THIS WRITING!!I loved this book. It is about a girl named Tally that lives in a world where at age 16 you have to have surgery to make you supermodel gorgeous. But is it as fun as it seems? She meets a friend named Shay that wants to run away and not become pretty. She doesn't believe in that. So Shay and Tally become real good friends until Shay decides to leave. Tally is concerned about her friend. She wants to be her friend and become pretty. But at that moment it isn't possible. One day she gets called into Special Circumstances. Special Circumstances is the place where you become pretty. She has already made a promise to 2 friends. Peris and Shay. She said she would become and not become pretty. Who's promise will she break. Shay's or Peris's. She still wants to become pretty but is fretting about the decision. When she is called in she discovers it's not to become pretty, but to betray Shay and give away the place Shay has ran off to. The smoke. Shay has given Tally directions in case she decided to travel to the Smoke. Will she betray Shay? She decides to go into the Smoke, but as a spy. She is given a heart pendant and has to activate it when she gets to the Smoke. She overcame a LONG dangerous journey and arrives at the Smoke. She meets David Shay's boyfriend, and falls in love with him. She kissed him and Shay is real mad at her. She decides not to get the surgery because she believes in True beauty on the inside not on the outside. She then discovers what happens to you when you become a pretty. You get lesions that mess up your brain. She decides to destroy the pendant. The thing is the pendant sends out a signal when damaged. She accidentally gives away the Smoke's location. Now Shay is madder than ever. Her friends get taken away and only David and Tally escape. They rescue their friends but discover Shay became pretty when they got caught. She was forced to. David's dad dies and she wants to turn Shay back. Heal her. She acts differently. Real different. Shay can take pills and be cured but she has a new mind which makes her decide to stay pretty. They will not force her into taking the pills however can only do so if they have a WILLING PRETTY. Tally decides if nobody is going to she will give herself up become a pretty and be the willing subject. David gives a HUGE fight to keep her at the smoke because he loves her. That doesn't change her mind and she tells David she was a spy. He doesn't believe her and runs away. She gives herself up and becomes a pretty. Read the NEXT BOOK to find out more. It is called the Pretties. I really recommend this book. Bye.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      D.R wrote:

                      I think that Tales of a Fourth G...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      LR wrote:

                      It was pretty interesting becaus...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      J.B wrote:

                      The reason I say it was a excell...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      c.k.w wrote:

                      This was just an OK book because...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...