Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.976560
Wendy Mass tells the story of Beauty and the Beast, as never heard before!

When you're stuck with the name Beauty, people expect a lot from you - like beauty and grace and courage and a sense of style. But what if you have none of these things? What if all you like to do is read books and search for odd objects that other people drop? Oh, and you have a perfect older sister who really should have had your name instead of you.

And when you're a prince, you're supposed to be athletic and commanding and brave and tall. But what if you are none of those things? What if all you like to do is play the bagpipes (badly), study the stars, and try to figure out how to make worms live forever? Oh, and you also have a perfect older brother who is a lot more princely than you'll ever be.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on June 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545310180
ISBN-13: 9780545310185
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • nzcoolkid
    nzcoolkidThursday, September 1, 2016 at 12:51 am44 stars
    I loved the hilarity and talent of this author! The book is a funny retelling of the classic tale, and what a job well done it is! Definitely recommend it.
    • memoiloveit
      memoiloveitSunday, June 5, 2016 at 12:04 pm55 stars
      This book shows a very creative and different version of Beauty and the Beast, because the protagonists are nothing like I thought they would be and they don't act the way they're expected to by most people. This is a really good fantasy-themed book, describing two people who are a lot like normal people, not like a prince or someone named Beauty, and how they meet and their relationship.
      • happyface221
        happyface221Monday, June 16, 2014 at 4:03 pm
        Really cool and funny like all the other books!!!!!!!!:)
        • tweety25
          tweety25Friday, January 17, 2014 at 8:06 pm55 stars
          Oh it was so good!
          • amb243
            amb243Wednesday, November 6, 2013 at 5:46 pm44 stars
            This book (so far) is pretty good! A girl & a boy are unhappy with their lives. They think their older siblings are greater than them. I don't know what else happened because I haven't gotten far. I'll update when I finsh
            • kg0101
              kg0101Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 4:09 pm
              I loved this book. It took very quick for them to realize they were perfect for each other. For some reason I expected Handsome and Beauty to end up getting married. WENDY MASS YOU ROCK!!!! Can't wait for more books!!!
              • horsegirl123
                horsegirl123Saturday, October 27, 2012 at 10:08 am55 stars
                i want to read this book because all of my friends are reading it and they say it is very good
                • kg0101
                  kg0101Wednesday, February 27, 2013 at 4:10 pm
                  It is a very good book. You should read it.

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                Tess wrote:

                You should read Ellies story
                Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                atrama
                atrama wrote:

                just read and is just as awesome...
                The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                This book is so good. I picked i...
                The School for Good and Evil

                #BOOKWORM wrote:

                This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                Keeper of the Lost Cities

                Our Apps and Plugins