Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V5.027848
The Tuck family is confronted with an agonizing situation when they discover that a ten-year-old girl and a malicious stranger now share their secret about a spring whose water prevents one from ever growing any older.
Paperback, 152 pages
Published on September 1, 1993 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374480117
ISBN-13: 9780374480110
10 Book Reviews
  • acalzoa
    acalzoaFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:13 am33 stars
    I have to this book at 3 because it was hard for me to understand all the things Winnie went through she was getting followed by this man in the yellow suit because he was after her money so she ran away from home because her life was control by her parents so she saw this man drink from the spring water and she wanted to drink it but she couldn't cause he told her not to drink it so she went to the tucks house, the tucks house was very oppressive the man in the yellow suit followed her and may tuck kill him and then she went to the jailhouse and the replace Winnie as may tuck 20 years later they saw her gravestone
    • nick21dogdo
      nick21dogdoWednesday, January 8, 2020 at 11:22 am55 stars
      . This is about a 10-11 year old girl named Winnie, who wants to run away. So, she wanders off into the family's wood, where she ends up to a place where she sees a teenage boy, drinking water. His name is Jesse. He says she shouldn't drink the water, and manages to pull her away. We later find out that the water is like a youth fountain, but in this case makes you live forever. Jesse drank it because he already drank it before with his family. Tuck regrets drinking it, and Jesse is delighted. Winnie gets kidnapped by them in a friendly way, and then his mom, Mae, and his brother, Miles, come with a horse and take her back to their small cottage. Before all of this, a strange man who is called, "The Man in the Yellow Suit", is very suspicious around them, and of course that is where all the trouble occurs. The man follows them home, and steals their horse. The Man in The Yellow Suit takes Winnie. Then Mae does something to save her. This is a really good book. I would probably rate it 4.5 stars out of 5. Read it,and recommend it to any one who wants to read stories with a plot twist.
      • awesome323
        awesome323Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:04 am
        This is a great book! It's about a family who drinks water from a spring and they never aged! It's cool!
        • ravermccare23
          ravermccare23Saturday, December 13, 2014 at 4:32 pm
          such a good book. This is about a 10-11 year old girl named Winnie, who wants to run away. So, she wanders off into the family's wood, where she ends up to a place where she sees a teenage boy, drinking water. His name is Jesse. He says she shouldn't drink the water, and manages to pull her away. We later find out that the water is like a youth fountain, but in this case makes you live forever. Jesse drank it because he already drank it before with his family. (Tuck, Mae, and his brother Miles.) Tuck regrets drinking it, and Jesse is delighted. Winnie gets kidnapped by them in a friendly way, and then his mom, Mae, and his brother, Miles, come with a horse and take her back to their small cottage. Before all of this, a strange man who is called, "The Man in the Yellow Suit", is very suspicious around them, and of course that is where all the trouble occurs. The man follows them home, and steals their horse. Some other crazy things happen, but I won't spoil the whole book, even though I spoiled already like half of it. Really good book. I would probably rate it 4.5 stars out of 5. Read it.(No, I don't speak Spanish)
          • caitlinmott
            caitlinmottTuesday, November 27, 2012 at 7:09 am55 stars
            This book is about a family that drank water from a spring. That family never aged and never died. It is an amazing book and I'm not going to give any more away.
            • lexyheartSaturday, July 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm
              sorry I look like this
              • lexyheartSaturday, July 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm
                you are so right. This book is amazing. Follow me. I'm lexyheart. I have re curly hair on my avatar pic.
                • lexyheart
                  lexyheartSaturday, July 28, 2012 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book. It is sort of a mystery, and it is so cool, I forgot I was reading while reading it.
                  • alyssahorse
                    alyssahorseTuesday, December 20, 2011 at 2:34 pm
                    i loved this book and the message is amazing. i read this book a little while ago and i still remember every second of it, it is great. in this book a young girl is kidnapped by a strange group of people. she discovered there secret and they couldnt let another soul find out. soon the little girl comes to love her kidnappers and she will do ANYTHING for them
                    • ravermccare23
                      ravermccare23Saturday, December 13, 2014 at 4:32 pm
                      totally!!!!!