Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10X5.471695
Mike Lupica sinks a three-pointer with this #1 New York Times bestselling basketball novel for any kid who has been told he's not good enough.

Twelve-year-old Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court--but don't tell him that. Because no one plays with more heart or court sense. But none of that matters when he is cut from his local travel team, the very same team his father led to national prominence as a boy. Danny's father, still smarting from his own troubles, knows Danny isn't the only kid who was cut for the wrong reason, and together, this washed-up former player and a bunch of never-say-die kids prove that the heart simply cannot be measured.

Travel Team is an inspirational tale in the tradition of The Bad News Bears and Hoosiers. It will leave readers of all ages cheering.

“In a story every bit as exciting and tear-jerking as any novel or movie in its genre – Hoosiers, Mighty Ducks, The Bad News Bears – Danny gets his chance at glory. Lupica . . . has the knowledge of the game and the lean prose to make this a taut, realistic story not just about the game but about heart, character, and family. A winner.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Lupica . . . sets the scene for on-court action, and delivers play-by-play descriptions . . . that will thrill basketball buffs. Genuinely affecting.” –Publishers Weekly
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 7, 2004 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399241507
ISBN-13: 9780399241505
5 Book Reviews
  • jalen30214
    jalen30214over 1 year55 stars
    I give this book a five star. The book is about a twelve year old boy named Danny, who wanted to play basketball as best as he can. First he gets on a travel team for basketball. Next he practices as hard as he can. Finally he gets cut from the team. This is a great book and you should definitely read it.
    • willhuffman667
      willhuffman667almost 2 years55 stars
      Travel Team is about a 12 year old boy named Danny. Danny was cut from his travel team. So, after he was cut his NBA star father created his own travel team for all the players who were also cut from the team. This is a fun book for kids who like sports and drama.
      • maliktheawesome
        maliktheawesomealmost 8 years
        jaylin please why are u always sad this book is goood cortinea
        • damien1205
          damien1205almost 8 years
          Travel Team is about 12 year Danny Walker, an amazing basketball player. He has always been the smallest on the court but at the same time he was one of the best. So when Danny gets cut from his 7th grade travel team, the same team his NBA star father, Richie Walker lead to victory, Danny is devastated. Richie soon comes to visit but finds out he will be staying, to create his own team. The team may run into rivalry's but they are also giving the underdogs a chance for once. I would recommend this book to anyone who can relate to being the underdog or who plays basketball their selves.
          • jonezyboy
            jonezyboyover 8 years
            I gotta say I think mike lupica is the best author out there