Trash Can Days: A Middle School Saga (A Trash Can Days)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a


Jake Schwartz is not looking forward to middle school. Puberty feels light years away, he's not keen on the cool clothes or lingo, and he has the added pressure of preparing for his bar mitzvah. The only saving grace is that Danny Uribe, his lifelong best friend, will be by his side....

Or will he? Since Danny's summer growth spurt, there's been a growing distance between him and Jake. Danny is excited to explore all that junior high has to offer--especially the girls (and most notably Hannah, Jake's older sister). But gang life has its allure, and he soon finds himself in over his head.

Meanwhile, Hannah is dealing with her own problems; being Queen Bee is not easy. The other girls are out for blood, and boys are so...exhausting. Danny surprises her with his maturity, but can her reputation survive if she's linked to a sevvy? And what would Jake think about his sister hooking up with his best friend?

Dorothy Wu could not care less about junior high drama. She is content staying in her bedroom and writing epic stories of her adventures as a warrior mermaid maiden. But that changes when she discovers the school's writing club. There, she meets a young lad with heroic potential and decides that life outside of her fantasy world just might have some appeal.

In the course of one year at San Paulo Junior High, these four lives will intersect in unique and hilarious ways. Friendships will grow and change. Reputations will transform. And someone will become a man.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on June 17, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423166604
ISBN-13: 9781423166603
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AlaaSunday, May 28, 2017 at 2:27 pm
    I'm not the reading type and when I started reading third book i couldnt stop after reading this book I've fell in love with reading now I give this book a 5/5
    • xxunknownxx
      xxunknownxxThursday, May 8, 2014 at 10:07 am
      kool. i <3 this book
      • ifeelbookish
        ifeelbookishMonday, May 5, 2014 at 9:15 pm55 starsFeatured
        Okay, so first and foremost, this is one of the most truest books that I have ever read on Earth. This book is so honest and thoughtful and it's just so unforgettable. I think this is one of the best books that I have ever read, like seriously and I don't say that often. And anyway, I need to start with a somewhat short summary; let's see how it turns out. Oh, and thank you so much to Dogo Books who provided me with this book when I won a giveaway on the site. I am eternally indebted to Dogo for this book, this book is just soooo good. So Jake is now entering middle school. He's kind of nervous, but at least he has his best friend, Danny by his side right? Not really. Jake is noticing that Danny has become more distant, and they haven't been hanging out anymore. Hannah, Jake's sister, has known Danny since he was 8 and she thinks he's okay. Hannah starts developing feelings for Danny, but I won't give a way too much so I'll stop there. In their middle school, it is socially unacceptable to be dating a "sevvy" (seventh grader) if you are in eight grade. So, that's definitely a problem. And Dorothy Wu, a social outcast loves writing and all she wants is a friend. How are these distinctly different middle-schoolers connected? Find out in Trash Can Days (which is such a good book, if I haven't already said that lol). Anyway, on to the review. First off, I really really appreciated how middle school was SO SO accurately portrayed in the book. Like, everything in the book has happened in my middle school. And yes, some people (okay, a lot) of people at my school say curse words so you should definitely ask your parents if you can read this book because there is a lot or cursing, drama, dating, and like some not-so-appropriate scenes. I loved how the Hannah and Jake had a sibling rivalry, like my siblings. It made it seem realistic, like everyone and everything in the book.There were definitely lots of funny parts, and some really serious parts because Danny was in a gang that was very violent. The story switches between the four character's point-of-views, which was kind of hard to read at first but you'll get used to it. I feel like I didn't enjoy Dorothy's chapters that much and I think it was because I didn't really relate to her (besides our adoration for writing and books), I would recommend this to the 12-14 age group (again, ask a parent before reading this because this IS a YA or a Young Adult novel). I really liked how everyone in the book was so realistic; they developed really strong relationships. I seriously CANNOT wait for the second book, Trash Can Nights which is coming out very soon. See you later, -ifeelbookish P.S. I'm currently reading Girl Parts by John M. Cusick and I'm almost finished with it. I'll be reviewing it soon.
        • ian21tang
          ian21tangThursday, November 28, 2013 at 12:33 pm33 stars
          i rated this nook only 3 stars cuz there is some inappropriate stuff younger kids about 6-10 yrs. old should not read about. it also has some swear words so i would advise 11-18 yrs. old people reading it. besides, why would 7 & 8 graders do that? even in public school. i thought that stuff happened in high school or college.
          • niyahlutz
            niyahlutzTuesday, October 8, 2013 at 6:46 pm
            ive seen this book everywhere but i want to read it. they dont have it at my school. maybe i should try the libary.
            • merliahsummers2
              merliahsummers2Friday, October 4, 2013 at 11:34 pm
              i love it so much
              • chloeThursday, September 26, 2013 at 1:57 pm
                This book is amazing!!!!!!!!! I love it!
                • yusuf120
                  yusuf120Wednesday, September 25, 2013 at 11:12 am55 stars
                  this book is amazing can't wait to read it
                  • melodie
                    melodieMonday, September 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm
                    love this book
                    • darryan
                      darryanMonday, September 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm
                      love this book