Playing is serious business.
Welcome to Toy Academy: where toys learn to play. This is where action figures train to battle, stuffed animals study the art of the hug, and collectibles practice standing very, very still.
Though Grumbolt isn't really any of those things, he's determined to fit in. But when the Evil Toy Academy threatens to bring down his school, it's up to Grumbolt to go where no good toy has gone before and prove he's truly a great toy after all.
This laugh-out-loud chapter book by Brian Lynch, the writer of Minions and a writer of The Secret Life of Pets, is a classic in the making.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338148451
ISBN-13: 9781338148459
70 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • elizacanread
    elizacanreadTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 5:26 pm33 stars
    In this book, a stuffed toy wants to go to toy academy and gets in. Some troubles are on the way for this weirdly shaped 'fela. A reason I didn't like it because too many parts are to messed up for me. It seems a little kiddish.
    • unicornbrain
      unicornbrainFriday, August 24, 2018 at 9:57 am22 starsFeatured
      I thought I would like the book because Brian Lynch is also a writer for the Minions and The Secret Life of Pets. I've seen the movies and thought a book by him would be as funny. While Grumbolt, a not so ordinary toy, has a rough start being tossed away and ends of going on an adventure where it meets some other toss away toys who are on their way to Toy Academy to find a kid to own it and love it, the book is full of laughs, but very predictable. It is a chapter book, but the chapters are short and have some good cliff hangers at the end to keep you reading. I read it in one day and decided not to add it to my library. Younger kids might like it.
      • snicker9
        snicker9Monday, August 20, 2018 at 8:54 am33 stars
        Grumbolt is a mismatched stuffed animal who wants to find a child, so he decides to enter the Toy Academy, where toys learn to play. The problem is, no one knows what exactly he is, and he comes to find that becoming an amazing toy is not as easy as it sounds, and there are many challenges in his way - including the threat of the Evil Toy Academy. This book was a fun little story that would be great for elementary aged kids. I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.
        • jwarne
          jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:43 am55 stars
          This book was really cute. I like that it was the writer of Minions, because I really like Minions. I could relate to Grumbolt because I don't always fit in, but neither one of us lets that ruin our lives. We are determined to be ourselves. This story was good.
          • artsy10
            artsy10Friday, July 20, 2018 at 12:39 pm
            Toys go to school to learn things and they found a letter that says you can sew This book is so good
            • hanpink800
              hanpink800Friday, July 20, 2018 at 9:12 am55 stars
              This book is about a stuffed animal named Grumbolt. His a cute lovable bear! Although he got messed up and throughout he still went out and faced the world! He had many adventures and faced many problems but became an awesome hero at the end. This book deserves 5 stars.
              • JeanineThursday, July 19, 2018 at 6:31 pm
                I tike it's so geat
                • s_mcmasters
                  s_mcmastersWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 5:18 pm44 stars
                  I enjoyed reading this story and following Grumbolt's journey. I would recommend this book. I feel like this book is suited for a younger audience.
                  • s_mcmasters
                    s_mcmastersWednesday, July 18, 2018 at 5:17 pm44 stars
                    I really enjoyed reading this book. I really enjoyed following Grumbolt's journey.
                    • midnightluna
                      midnightlunaMonday, July 16, 2018 at 1:04 pm33 stars
                      Toy Academy: Some Assembly Required is a book about toys going to a school to learn how to do the things they're supported to do. This was quite enjoyable to read.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      This is such a good book!
                      Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...

                      Grade6 wrote:

                      Awesome book, I gave 4 stars. I ...
                      National Geographic Kids Why Not...

                      DJ CJ Books wrote:

                      This is my favourite Harry Potte...
                      Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...

                      Our Apps and Plugins