Playing is serious business.
Welcome to Toy Academy: where toys learn to play. This is where action figures train to battle, stuffed animals study the art of the hug, and collectibles practice standing very, very still.
Though Grumbolt isn't really any of those things, he's determined to fit in. But when the Evil Toy Academy threatens to bring down his school, it's up to Grumbolt to go where no good toy has gone before and prove he's truly a great toy after all.
This laugh-out-loud chapter book by Brian Lynch, the writer of Minions and a writer of The Secret Life of Pets, is a classic in the making.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 1338148451
ISBN-13: 9781338148459
63 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hanpink800
    hanpink800Friday, July 13, 2018 at 8:57 pm55 stars
    This book is about a stuffed animal named Grumbolt. His a cute lovable bear! Although he got messed up and throughout he still went out and faced the world! He had many adventures and faced many problems but became an awesome hero at the end. This book deserves 5 stars.
    • howlergirl
      howlergirlWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 2:25 pm44 stars
      Just like Pug Pals, I would recommend this book for younger readers as I finished it very quickly. It's about this stuffed animal named Grumbolt. He was a plushie that went wrong in the making so he was thrown out. He really wants a kid to play with, but he's not allowed to until he properly learns how to play. If your a toy, you can properly learn how to play at Toy Academy. While he stays at Toy Academy to be properly educated, Grumbolt tries to figure out what he is and during the process is accused of stealing. Once again, just like Pug Pals, a very odd story that I would rate 4 out of 5 stars.
      • nybook2018
        nybook2018Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 4:23 pm
        Toy Academy: Some Assembly Required (Toy Academy #1) is a bout these toys that have a meeting and there is a doll bunny that a kid complanes about and this doll does not have and weakness.
        • jaden07
          jaden07Saturday, July 7, 2018 at 6:52 pm
          I think this is a great book about toys. i felt sorry for Grumbolt because he does not know what he is. I thought it was brave for Gizmo to come out of her bag and save all of good and evil school from the evil plumber hedgepaw who stole the good headmaster hedgepaw arm which controls the castle.
          • jso6
            jso6Monday, July 2, 2018 at 9:50 am55 stars
            Grumbolt starts off in a trash can, because the person who made him messed him up and threw him away. He found a letter to the "U CAN SEW" company, that said his name was Grumbolt and was complaining that he was messed up and his pattern was terrible. He found a transforming bus that took him to a toy academy. This book is really good and i recommend it for grades 2nd through 7th.
            • belle252
              belle252Saturday, June 30, 2018 at 11:49 am33 stars
              i feel like this book is targeted towards younger audiences but i am really happy i atleast tried to read it because it was amazing i also told my younger brother to read it and i am sure he loves it.
              • camdengirl789
                camdengirl789Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 12:08 pm55 stars
                I think this book is so so cool I recommend this book the book is about a toy named Grumbolt and he had a owner but then got thorn into a trashcan buy them then and now on his way toy academy on his way he met another toy named micro and they got to toy academy they had different classes but were still good friends and they also meet boot leg and later commander heghogs arms go missing and Grumbot thinks that it is evil toy academy but in the end it is not evil toy academy it was boot leg who did it so they were fighting but Grumbolt won and they all lived happily ever after
                • auntieb
                  auntiebTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 8:36 am22 stars
                  Toy Academy: Some Assembly Required is a good book I really like pepper and salt I thought that was very fun idea. Also I think this book would be good for younger children.
                  • lefty908809
                    lefty908809Monday, June 25, 2018 at 10:42 am55 stars
                    I loved it! It was an awesome book. When I saw it at my local library I got it even though I forgot it was on my list. It's really good because you never learn what Grumbolt really is.
                    • bunny_ball
                      bunny_ballWednesday, June 20, 2018 at 7:18 am55 stars
                      This book was awesome! I recommend it. It's about a toy named Grumbolt. He doesn't know what he is and he goes to Toy Academy so he can have his own kid. He has a hard time at Toy Academy but he makes some friends and helps solve a mystery. I liked all the different kinds of toys at Toy Academy and I was excited to see what would happen at the end. Now I want to read the rest of the series.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      uma21ruby
                      uma21ruby wrote:

                      If you love mystery and magic, t...
                      The Silver Bowl

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      No, this is not my kind of book....
                      The Apprentice Witch

                      ginnymweasley

                      Although Carter and Sadie Kane a...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...

                      dolphin8
                      dolphin8 wrote:

                      This book is about animals like ...
                      National Geographic Kids Almanac...