Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.356025

Will the attack of the Spirit Bear destroy Cole's life or save his soul?

Cole Matthews has been fighting, stealing, and raising hell for years. So his punishment for beating Peter Driscal senseless is harsh. Given a choice between prison and Native American Circle Justice, Cole chooses Circle Justice: He'll spend one year in complete isolation on a remote Alaskan island. In the first days of his banishment, Cole is mauled by a mysterious white bear and nearly dies. Now there's no one left to save Cole, but Cole himself.

Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307257657
ISBN-13: 9780307257659
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ilikebunnies
    ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:04 pm
    this is a goodbook and it shows you that even the most untrustworthy person can change and be totally different. I was very suprised that Garvey and Edwin decided to send cole back to the place that had hurt him
    • codmaster23
      codmaster23Wednesday, March 20, 2019 at 6:39 am55 stars
      THIS BOOK IS ONE OF THE BEST! I was reading this it is really i can't weight to read the next book
      • Cora WindenbergFriday, February 22, 2019 at 11:50 am
        This book is awful. My ela teacher made us read it. It is very gory at times and has scarred me. I don't suggest reading it
        • lilliannaMonday, December 12, 2016 at 7:15 am
          i have nor heard of it
          • darkswan
            darkswanSunday, December 11, 2016 at 11:17 pm
            I am not very far in this book but so far is is really good
            • goddes
              goddesThursday, October 1, 2015 at 7:38 pm
              I love this bk havnt finished on capter 13
              • amelia12
                amelia12Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 6:52 am55 stars
                My book is entitled Touching Spirit Bear. The author of my book is Ben Mikaelsen. This book is telling a story about a boy named Cole Matthews. Cole is a troublemaker, he steals things, breaks things, hurts people and much more. His most recent crime was very serious and resulted in extreme consequences. He would have to choose between living in jail for one year, or joining a group called Circle Justice and living in isolation for one year. He chooses circle Justice but his experience turns out to be life threatening. I really liked this book because it taught a really strong life lesson about caring about people and things, that's someone Cole learned in his experience. It was overall a very interesting book and I couldn't take my eyes off. Although it was a little disturbing at parts I really did enjoy this book. Today, we are seeing much more crime being committed and I can imagine something like this happening. The entire story plot is definitely possible. I think misbehaving boys and or girls should read this book because they can notice the consequences that are held for serious actions like this. Anyone in general however, could read this book and I'm sure they will enjoy it. What I like about the book is that the whole book is pretty much an internal conflict. Cole is dealing with his own problems and figuring out how to make his life on the abandoned island comfortable. He is dealing with his own emotions and anger by himself. However, there is also a lot of external conflict in this book, for example man vs nature is a big one. At a point in time Cole is mauled by a bear and can barely move, when a strong powerful storm begins and he can't get up. He is figuring out how to make food with items around him, how to find shelter and keep warm, and most of all he is viewing all the animals and real life creatures around him and opening up his eyes to see how harmful he has been. Cole is finally realizing what he has done.
                • luvscience
                  luvscienceFriday, May 1, 2015 at 6:00 am33 stars
                  It was an okay book. It has a good moral and you learned a lesson at the end. has some gross things in it.
                  • gc23
                    gc23Friday, January 23, 2015 at 7:24 am
                    I want toooooooooooo read this book :)
                    • s61688
                      s61688Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 7:06 am
                      this book is so amaz