Tornado Terror (I Survived True Stories #3): True Tornado Survival Stories and Amazing Facts from History and Today

Email
The Tri-State Tornado of 1925 was the deadliest tornado strike in American history, tearing through three states and killing 700 people. The Joplin Tornado of 2011 was a mile-wide monster that destroyed heart of a vibrant city. The true stories of these two events plus fascinating facts, profiles of tornado scientists and storm chasers create a unique and thrilling nonfiction read, by the author of the New York Times bestselling I Survived series.
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545919436
ISBN-13: 9780545919432
29 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jeffdaboss
    jeffdabossSunday, March 19, 2017 at 3:45 pm44 starsFeatured
    Tornado Terror is a really good nonfictional book. I'm not exactly into nonfiction, but I really liked Lauren Tarshis's new book on famous tornadoes. The book covers two major tornadoes: The Tri-State Tornado of 1925 and the Joplin Tornado of 2011. Both stories switch from focusing on a person's testimony to the tornadoes progress to the person. In the Tri-State Tornado of 1925, Tarshis follows Adrian Dillon of Parrish, Illinois, and how his plans for a special marbles tournament would be ruined. She highlights what life and science was like in the 1920's, while progressing the through the day. Once the tornado hit and Adrian's true story is done, she gives facts about the tornado, like how many people were killed, the aftermath, and the improvement of the scientific field of weather. Next, she talks about the Joplin Tornado, and how it came on Bennett Satterlee's birthday. She alternates from the Satterlee's point of view to renowned storm chasers Jeff and Kathryn Piotrowski's point of view. The focus lands on the aftermath once the tornado hit, and what the town did to support each other. Once both tornado stories are finished, Tarshis informs the reader about general tornado knowledge, like vocabulary, "Mr. Tornado", among other things. Tornado Terror was a really good book, and one you should get.
    • colto101
      colto101Friday, March 17, 2017 at 3:48 pm55 stars
      I really like this book. It tells about tornadoes from history. The facts and pictures of real people doing things make you feel like you know about the people before you read about the tornado that struck them. It's not too scary but is detailed enough to be interesting. Some of the words are challenging, but we recommend for second graders and up.
      • dictionary
        dictionaryWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 5:15 pm55 starsFeatured
        Bestselling author of the I SURVIVED series, Lauran Tarshis has made a new book- I SURVIVED Tornado Terror, true stories. I thought this would be one of those other boring fact books about tornados. Well, I was wrong. This book is made into 2 exciting stories, giving facts, too! The Joplin Tornado of 2011 is the second part, and the Tri-State Tornado of 1925 is the first part. Both were very deadly, in U.S history. I rate this 5/5. I recommend it to people studying tornados, and I also recommend the I SURVIVED series!
        • amburWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 3:15 pm
          This is an amazing series!
          • neatpeople
            neatpeopleWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 2:33 pm
            This book is awesome_cool_and great!!!
            • CR7Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 7:37 am
              this book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
              • beastmode1000
                beastmode1000Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 4:15 pm
                I liked the book
                • happyboy
                  happyboyMonday, March 13, 2017 at 8:06 am
                  this book is awesome
                  • charlie2Monday, March 13, 2017 at 8:04 am
                    this is epic
                    • llskunk
                      llskunkSunday, March 12, 2017 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                      I survived tornado terror was a awesome book full of amazement at what actually happened.I love to learn about true stories and tornadoes !! If you love tornado stories and true ones !!! It's exciting to know about tornadoes .Definately read this book !! Quick read .

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...