Tornado Terror (I Survived True Stories #3): True Tornado Survival Stories and Amazing Facts from History and Today

Email
The Tri-State Tornado of 1925 was the deadliest tornado strike in American history, tearing through three states and killing 700 people. The Joplin Tornado of 2011 was a mile-wide monster that destroyed heart of a vibrant city. The true stories of these two events plus fascinating facts, profiles of tornado scientists and storm chasers create a unique and thrilling nonfiction read, by the author of the New York Times bestselling I Survived series.

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on February 28, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545919436
ISBN-13: 9780545919432
33 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyp18
    maddyp18Sunday, April 2, 2017 at 8:18 pm33 starsFeatured
    This book is different then the usual style of the "I Survived" books. Unlike the other books, this one tells about the TRUE stories of how two young boys survived two horrifying tornadoes, so all the facts are true. Usually the "I Survived" books tell about a true event and a not true family/story. The first story is about a boy named Adrian, who survives the Tri-State Tornado in 1925. Adrian was planning to participate in a marbles tournament the afternoon of the tornado, but then the tornado struck. The tornado had traveled through a few states, and had gained more power throughout its journey. Adrian and his family were lucky to be alive, and together, even though their house and all their possessions were ruined. The second story in this book is about a boy named Bennett, who survives the Joplin Tornado in 2011. The tornado happened on Bennett's birthday, which is pretty upsetting. Before the tornado arrived in Joplin, storm chasers Jeff and Kathryn Piotrowski were tracking it, and thankfully when the tornado finally hit they were okay. Bennett's whole family was also all okay, thanks to the Piotrowski's, who warned the police to get everyone to safety. I liked this book, but I only rated it 3 out of 5 stars because I like fantasy stories more then true stories. But if you prefer nonfiction, like this book, I definitely recommend it to you! Enjoy!
    • Joy Friday, March 31, 2017 at 1:18 pm
      I think this book is weirdly interesting, but at the same time super incredible!
      • geolie123
        geolie123Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 11:12 am
        i love this so much
        • charlie2
          charlie2Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 8:11 am
          this book is legendary epicness of god!!!
          • jeffdaboss
            jeffdabossSunday, March 19, 2017 at 3:45 pm44 starsFeatured
            Tornado Terror is a really good nonfictional book. I'm not exactly into nonfiction, but I really liked Lauren Tarshis's new book on famous tornadoes. The book covers two major tornadoes: The Tri-State Tornado of 1925 and the Joplin Tornado of 2011. Both stories switch from focusing on a person's testimony to the tornadoes progress to the person. In the Tri-State Tornado of 1925, Tarshis follows Adrian Dillon of Parrish, Illinois, and how his plans for a special marbles tournament would be ruined. She highlights what life and science was like in the 1920's, while progressing the through the day. Once the tornado hit and Adrian's true story is done, she gives facts about the tornado, like how many people were killed, the aftermath, and the improvement of the scientific field of weather. Next, she talks about the Joplin Tornado, and how it came on Bennett Satterlee's birthday. She alternates from the Satterlee's point of view to renowned storm chasers Jeff and Kathryn Piotrowski's point of view. The focus lands on the aftermath once the tornado hit, and what the town did to support each other. Once both tornado stories are finished, Tarshis informs the reader about general tornado knowledge, like vocabulary, "Mr. Tornado", among other things. Tornado Terror was a really good book, and one you should get.
            • colto101
              colto101Friday, March 17, 2017 at 3:48 pm55 stars
              I really like this book. It tells about tornadoes from history. The facts and pictures of real people doing things make you feel like you know about the people before you read about the tornado that struck them. It's not too scary but is detailed enough to be interesting. Some of the words are challenging, but we recommend for second graders and up.
              • dictionary
                dictionaryWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 5:15 pm55 starsFeatured
                Bestselling author of the I SURVIVED series, Lauran Tarshis has made a new book- I SURVIVED Tornado Terror, true stories. I thought this would be one of those other boring fact books about tornados. Well, I was wrong. This book is made into 2 exciting stories, giving facts, too! The Joplin Tornado of 2011 is the second part, and the Tri-State Tornado of 1925 is the first part. Both were very deadly, in U.S history. I rate this 5/5. I recommend it to people studying tornados, and I also recommend the I SURVIVED series!
                • amburWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 3:15 pm
                  This is an amazing series!
                  • neatpeople
                    neatpeopleWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 2:33 pm
                    This book is awesome_cool_and great!!!
                    • CR7Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 7:37 am
                      this book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mayyeda wrote:

                      I like this book
                      Dogs

                      maddyp18
                      maddyp18 wrote:

                      This is one of my new all-time f...
                      The Uncommoners #1: The Crooked ...

                      gosinandhghg cu wrote:

                      i am a butterfly
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...

                      hamiltonlover56

                      Great book! Roald Dahl is a grea...
                      The BFG