Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.062090
Jonah and Katherine embark on a chilling journey to discover the Northwest Passage in this new installment of the New York Times bestselling series that brings history to life.

Teenager John Hudson vanished from history in 1611: While searching for the Northwest Passage, mutineers cast him and his explorer father adrift in the icy waters of James Bay. When Jonah and Katherine meet John in the past, moments before the mutiny is to occur, they think it will be easy to rescue him from history. But the unexpected appearance of a man who claims to know a secret route to the Northwest Passage complicates matters. He seems serious about leading the ship further west, but Jonah and Katherine grow more and more suspicious—and more and more frustrated that they can’t quite remember the actual history or Canadian geography. And when their former enemies, Gary and Hodge, show up, apparently having escaped from time prison, Jonah and Katherine understand that a lot more is at stake than just one boy’s life….
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0545386446
ISBN-13: 9780545386449
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bob1018Friday, April 11, 2014 at 9:55 am
    i cant stop reading
    • choco1234
      choco1234Friday, May 24, 2019 at 1:54 pm33 stars
      i love reading to
    • xxpish
      xxpishTuesday, March 19, 2013 at 5:08 pm33 stars
      The fourth book in The Missing; Jonah and Katherine are sent to 1611 to fix (and save) the year 1600. Jonah is supposed to act like John Hudson, Henry Hudson’s son on his ship The Discovery. With a futuristic exact John Hudson costume being worn by Jonah, he is the perfect John Hudson and Katherine is invisible. With a planned mutiny of Henry Hudson onboard, Jonah and Katherine need to figure out how to save history. Henry Hudson surrenders to the mutineers and agrees to go on a shallop with a few other shipmates to find the Northwest Passage. After they narrowly escape an iceberg, they see the ship coming back for them from the south when it was headed North. Then they spot the Northwest Passage. Second is at the helm and changing history up. So, after Jonah is put in the stocks and they find out one of the men is Second, they go back in time to where they were in the shallop trying to make things right and not be forced by Second’s hand. Will history fall apart, or will they succeed in making things right? What I thought about it Margaret Peterson Haddix is a wonderful author. She writes books in a way that you can see what’s happening clearly with your imagination. I discovered her from Into The Gauntlet, the tenth 39 Clues book. Then I read Found and Sent and loved those so I said, “Why not continue the series?” So I did with Sabotaged and Torn. It took me a long time to read both of them and I was actually anxious to finish and get on with another book. Sabotaged in my opinion was pretty confusing in some parts; I liked it, but there are so many things happening, that at one point it just confuses you. I had similar feelings with Torn, but it was slow-paced and didn’t have enough action. I have started reading the next one and I hope it will be better. I was sort of disappointed that Haddix made me want to finish to read something else. I hope she redeems herself with some other good books in the series.
      • queendrey
        queendreyWednesday, April 4, 2012 at 3:32 pm33 stars
        i didn't really enjoy it much till the end... I really liked the series but not so much to give it 5 stars!
        • dogj
          dogjTuesday, April 3, 2012 at 5:27 pm55 stars
          OMG i read the whole series its awsome read it and teell me wats it about follow me smiley face
          • lilypad
            lilypadTuesday, April 3, 2012 at 9:36 am55 stars
            I think this book is great for other people because there is a lot of action and mystery in this book. This book made me want to read the whole series and much more and exciting books.I love the whole book and the series, but it took me about a whole week to finish the whole book but at least it was fun and entertaining! I would recomend this book to everyone out there who loves mystery books and action books. When i was younger like about 8, i did not like to read at all when my mom told my to read i would always get a little bot mad because i did NOT like to read but ever since i started to read these books i have never been mad about a book again! I love this book.
            • southernbelle
              southernbelleSunday, January 8, 2012 at 2:04 pm
              LOVE THE SERIES!! eh, the 3rd book couldve been better....but they totally made up for it with the 4th book.
              • choco1234
                choco1234Friday, May 24, 2019 at 1:55 pm33 stars
                same im with you at saying that thing
              • pinkgiraffe
                pinkgiraffeThursday, December 8, 2011 at 6:21 pm
                Its very exciting . There are 3 bookis in the collection. By margre peterson haddix. About time travel